Baltiysk

Baltiysk (Pillau before 1946) is the westernmost town in Russia, situated in the northern part of the Vistula Spit on the Pillau Peninsula, on the shore of the Strait of Baltiysk, separating the Vistula Lagoon from the Gdansk Bay. It is 50 kilometres from Kaliningrad to Baltiysk. It takes approximately 1 hour 10 minutes to drive there, taking Route А193. The alternatives are bus #107 or electric commuter train. 

Evgeny Morozov/Welcome2018.com

Ploshchad Baltiyskoi Slavy, or Baltic Glory Square, was created in 1975, replacing a neighbourhood that had been largely destroyed in the battle of Baltiysk during the Great Patriotic War. The entry to the square is lined by the statues of a soldier and a sailor. There are two B-132 ship’s cannons a little further on, and a torpedo boat, which is now a monument.  

The first documented mention of a populated community in the area of the modern Baltiysk dates back to 1258. An epic storm in 1510 changed the fortunes of this place, forming a navigable strait, separating the Vistula Spit from the Sa.m.land Peninsula. From then on, Pillau would develop as a major shipping port.   

The Prince-Elector of Brandenburg, Friedrich Wilhelm I, visited Pillau twice in the mid-17th century. The Russian Tsar Peter the Great visited the town on three occasions, in 1697, 1711 and 1716. Peter studied the art of bombardment and fortification here. Pillau received its urban credentials and a coat of arms in 1725. The town got its local newspapers and telegraph in the 1850. The Pillau-Koenigsberg railway opened in 1856.

Pillau saw several wars in the course of its centuries-old history. During the Polish-Swedish war of 1626, in which Prussia was involved, Swedish forces captured Pillau and founded a pentagonal fortress, the Pillau Citadel, which was completed after 1635 by order of Elector Georg Wilhelm. Russian forces occupied Pillau from 1758 to 1762 during the Seven Years’ War. The town was also occupied by the French army for six months in 1812. Battles raged here during the First and Second World Wars. Pillau was captured by the Soviet Army on April 25-26, 1945, following an intense battle.

Pillau was renamed Baltiysk at the end of 1946. Russia’s largest naval base on the Baltic Sea was inaugurated here in 1952. On account of this, Baltiysk remained a restricted-access town until the early 2000s.  
Evgeny Morozov/Welcome2018.com

The architectural centrepiece of Baltiysk is this fortress, founded by the Swedish army in the 17th century. The fortress is a pentagon, each side being 80 metres long. Each bastion has a name: Albrecht, Prussia, Koenig, Koenigen, Kronprinz. They are surrounded by a moat. The outer defence perimeter consists of five ravelins: Ludwig, Storchnes, Valwinkel, Kronwerk, Schinken-Schanz.  

The Swedes built the citadel with an eye on using it as Europe’s most secure bank vault. Its cellars, where stable air temperature and humidity was sustained, would be ideal for the storage of cash. However, defence remained the primary intent of the citadel.

When the Soviet Army stormed Pillau in 1945, the Nazi garrison was able to escape via the labyrinthine tunnels underneath the citadel, mining the tunnels as they retreated. After capturing the town, the Soviet command decided to keep the fortress intact, but most of the underground tunnels were conserved.

The citadel became an affiliate of the Baltic Fleet Museum in 1999. It is open to the public, but you have to sign up for a tour.

Evgeny Morozov/Welcome2018.com

The westernmost lighthouse in Russia, built in 1813, stands on the scenic Morskoi Boulevard embankment, guiding the ships making their way in the harbour of Baltiysk. The lighthouse is 33.2 metres tall. Its light can be seen from 16 nautical miles away.   

Historians seem unable to agree on whether the Pillau Lighthouse was designed by the architect Karl Schinkel, or hydraulic engineer Schulz. The stone lighthouse, which replaced the wooden tower with a torchlight at the top, used oil in the beginning, then started using kerosene in 1874, and used gaslights later on. It was eventually switched to electricity in 1913.  

The lighthouse sustained only minor damage during the storm of Pillau in 1945, but the Nazis had put it out of order before retreating. The lighthouse had to be fixed promptly as the plan was for Baltiysk to became a major naval base of the Baltic Fleet.

The Pillau Lighthouse was placed under government protection as a cultural heritage site in 2011.

Evgeny Morozov/Welcome2018.com

It takes about thirty minutes to walk the length of the Baltiysk Esplanade. This esplanade is different from a regular seaside resort esplanade, offering an elegiac yet austere view of the channel and the warships. Swans and seagulls harass tourists for food all year, so you might as well bring some raw cereals or chopped carrots.   

At the end of your promenade, you cannot possibly miss the Empress Elizabeth statue at the base of the Northern Seawall. This monument, sculpted by Georgy Frangulian, was unveiled in 2004. It celebrates Russian war victories during the reign of Elizabeth. The empress is depicted wearing the uniform of a Preobrazhensky Regiment Imperial Guard colonel, mounted on horseback. The monument is 14 metres tall with the pedestal. The statue weighs 12 tonnes. The pedestal is a stylized fortification of huge boulders, arranged in a cruciform shape.  

Evgeny Morozov/Welcome2018.com

The international memorial cemetery north-east of the Northern Seawall was reopened after restoration in 2000. The memorial is a complex of memorial name-plates with three steel crosses, nine by seven metres, in the middle. The total weight of the crosses is two tones.   

History itself picked the site of this memorial. This is where Nazi soldiers and Eastern Prussia civilians killed in the first months of 1945 were buried, as well as POWs from the member nations of the anti-Nazi alliance. According to German archives, over 3,500 bodies have been identified. Their names are immortalized on the name-plates. Another 1300 victims of the war, whose bodies were found in and around Baltiysk, have been interred at the cemetery since 1997.

Evgeny Morozov/Welcome2018.com

The journey to the abandoned Luftwaffe airfield of Neutif begins with a ferry ride to the Vistula Spit, which takes no more than ten minutes.  

The Vistula Spit (or Frische Nerung in German) is a thin strip of land separating the Vistula Lagoon (Kaliningrad Bay) from the main part of the Gdansk Bay. The spit is 65km long. Thirty five kilometres in the north-east are Russian territory. The rest is Polish territory. The spit is 300 to 1800 metres across in the middle and southern parts, and 8 to 9 km in the north. The Vistula Spit is famous for its snow-white sandy beaches, forested dunes and, certainly, its a.m.er. It is easy to find some a.m.er here simply strolling at the water’s edge.

The Nazi airfield of Neutif on the Vistula Spit was built in 1937–1939. The airfield had two heated runways, a hydro-harbour, three ferroconcrete warplane hangars, and two metal hangars for ancillary machinery.  The airfield was a Luftwaffe base for Аг-196, Не-59, Не-60 and Не-114 warplanes.

The Nazis had abandoned their airfield shortly before the Soviet Army stormed Pillau in 1945. They fled in haste and, contrary to their own plans, did not destroy the hardware and facilities. After the war, the airfield was used as a Soviet naval airbase until 1995. 

Evgeny Morozov/Welcome2018.com

The Western Fort, built in 1869–1871, was part of Pillau’s system of fortifications. The fort is an irregular pentagon with a securely enclosed courtyard in the middle. A moat filled with water protected the fort from the rear. Only the moat and parts of external walls have survived. In some areas, you can walk right onto the Baltic Sea shore through some hole in the wall. The building bricks of the fortification bear their producer’s seal: Gr. Steinort. W. Schulz.

The Western Fort was listed as a regional cultural heritage site in 2007.

Балтийск

Балтийск (до 1946 года – Пиллау, нем. Pillau) – самый западный город России. Он расположен в северной части Балтийской косы – на Пиллауском полуострове, на берегу Балтийского пролива, который соединяет Калининградский и Гданьский заливы. Балтийск расположен в 50 км от Калининграда. Добраться до него можно на автомобиле по трассе А193 (примерное время в пути – 1 час 10 минут), а также на рейсовом автобусе № 107 или электричке.

Евгений Морозов/Welcome2018.com
Площадь Балтийской Славы была создана в 1975 году на месте района, разрушенного в ходе боев за город во время Великой Отечественной войны. Главный вход на площадь украшают скульптуры солдата и матроса, неподалеку установлены два корабельных орудия Б-132 и торпедный катер, превращенный в памятник.

Впервые населенный пункт на месте современного Балтийска упоминается в документах 1258 года. В начале XVI века судьба этого места изменилась: в результате сильнейшего шторма 1510 года образовался пролив, который отделил Балтийскую косу от Земландского полуострова и стал судоходным. Это способствовало развитию Пиллау в качестве крупного транспортного узла.

В середине XVII века Пиллау дважды посещал Великий курфюрст Фридрих Вильгельм I Бранденбургский, а в 1697, 1711 и 1716 годах – русский царь Петр I, который изучал здесь бомбардирское искусство и фортификацию. В 1725 году Пиллау получил городские права и герб, в 1850-х появились городские газеты и телеграф, в 1856-м открыта железная дорога Пиллау – Кенигсберг.

За свою многовековую историю этот населенный пункт пережил несколько войн. В 1626 году во время польско-шведской войны, в которую была втянута Пруссия, шведы заняли город и заложили пятиугольную крепость – цитадель "Пиллау", достроенную после 1635 года по указанию курфюрста Георга Вильгельма. В ходе Семилетней войны Пиллау был оккупирован русскими войсками (с 1758 по 1762 год), а в 1812 году город на полгода заняли французы. За эту территорию сражались и в Первую, и во Вторую мировую войну. После кровопролитного штурма 25-26 апреля 1945 года Пиллау был взят советскими войсками.

В конце 1946 года город был переименован в Балтийск. С 1952 года здесь функционирует крупнейшая на Балтийском море база Военно-морского флота России, в связи с чем до начала XXI века он оставался закрытым городом.
Евгений Морозов/Welcome2018.com
Главный архитектурный памятник Балтийска – крепость, заложенная шведами в XVII веке. Она представляет собой пятиугольник со сторонами по 80 м. Каждый из бастионов имеет собственное имя: Альбрехт, Пруссия, Кениг, Кениген, Кронпринц. Их окружает широкий ров, а внешний круг обороны крепости состоит из пяти равелинов: Людвиг, Шторхнес, Фальвинкель, Кронверк, Шинкен-Шанц.

Во время строительства крепости предполагалось, что она станет самым надежным европейским банком: деньги могли храниться в ее подземельях, где поддерживалась постоянная температура и влажность. Однако военная функция крепости оставалась основной.

Во время штурма Пиллау советскими частями в 1945 году сложная сеть подземных коммуникаций позволила немецкому гарнизону покинуть крепость, предварительно заминировав ходы. После взятия Пиллау советское командование решило сохранить крепость, а большинство подземных ходов были законсервировано.

В 1999 году крепость стала филиалом Музея Балтийского флота, теперь ее можно посетить, предварительно записавшись на экскурсию.
Евгений Морозов/Welcome2018.com
Самый западный маяк России, построенный в 1813 году, находится на живописной набережной Морского бульвара и служит ориентиром для судов, следующих в гавани Балтийска. Высота маяка – 33,2 м, свет виден на 16 морских миль.

По одной версии, маяк Пиллау построил архитектор Карл Шинкель, по другой – гидроинженер Шульц. Каменный маяк, заменивший деревянную факельную вышку, сначала работал на масле, с 1874 года – на керосине, затем начали использоваться газовые лампы, и только в 1913 году маяк перешел на электричество.

Во время штурма Пиллау в 1945 году маяк получил незначительные повреждения, однако перед отступлением немцы вывели его из строя. Поскольку завоеванный порт стал местом размещения кораблей Балтийского флота, маяк пришлось немедленно восстанавливать.

В 2011 году маяку Пиллау присвоили статус объекта культурного наследия и взяли под государственную охрану.
Евгений Морозов/Welcome2018.com
Прогулка по набережной Балтийска займет около получаса. Эта набережная отличается от променадов курортных городов: отсюда открывается романтичный и суровый вид на канал и военные суда. Лебеди и чайки круглый год выпрашивают еду у туристов, поэтому можно прихватить с собой какую-нибудь крупу или нарезанную морковку.

В завершение прогулки по променаду вы не пропустите памятник императрице Елизавете Петровне у основания Северного мола. Этот монумент работы скульптора Георгия Франгуляна был открыт в 2004 году в ознаменование побед русского оружия во время правления императрицы. Елизавета Петровна изображена верхом на коне, в платье полковника лейб-гвардии Преображенского полка. Общая высота с постаментом – 14 м, вес статуи – 12 т. В качестве постамента использовано стилизованное фортификационное укрепление из огромных каменных глыб, расположенных в виде креста.
Евгений Морозов/Welcome2018.com
К северо-востоку от Северного мола находится интернациональное мемориальное захоронение, открытое после восстановления в 2000 году. Мемориал представляет собой комплекс памятных плит с именами погибших, в центре – три стальных креста. Их общий вес составляет две тонны.

Выбор места для мемориала определила сама история: именно здесь были захоронены военнослужащие немецкой армии и жители Восточной Пруссии, погибшие в первые месяцы 1945 года, а также военнопленные из стран антигитлеровской коалиции. Согласно немецким архивным данным, установлены личности более 3,5 тыс. погибших, их имена увековечены на плитах. С 1997 года на кладбище были погребены останки еще 1300 жертв войны, обнаруженные на территории Балтийска.
Евгений Морозов/Welcome2018.com
Путешествие к заброшенной базе люфтваффе начинается с паромной переправы на Балтийскую косу (время в пути не более 10 минут).

Балтийская коса (нем. Фрише-Нерунг) – это узкая полоска суши, отделяющая Калининградский залив от основной части Гданьского. Длина косы – 65 км (из которых 35 км на северо-востоке принадлежат России, остальные – Польше), ширина – 300-1800 м в средней и южной частях и 8-9 км в северной. Балтийская коса знаменита своими белоснежными песчаными пляжами, дюнами, засаженным лесом и, конечно, янтарем, который в этих местах легко найти, просто прогуливаясь вдоль моря.

Еще одна достопримечательность Балтийской косы – аэродром Нойтиф, построенный в 1937-1939-х годах. Аэродром имел две взлетно-посадочные полосы с подогревом, гидрогавань, три железобетонных ангара для самолетов и два металлических для вспомогательной техники. На аэродроме базировались подразделения люфтваффе, на вооружении которых стояли самолеты Аг-196, Не-59, Не-60 и Не-114.

В 1945 году, незадолго до штурма советскими войсками города Пиллау, немцы бросили аэродром, не успев уничтожить, как планировали. В послевоенные годы вплоть до 1995 года аэродром эксплуатировался отечественной военно-морской авиацией.
Евгений Морозов/Welcome2018.com
Форт "Западный" был построен в 1869-1871-х годах и входил в комплекс фортификационных сооружений города-крепости Пиллау. Форт представлял собой неправильный пятиугольник, в центре – огороженный со всех сторон дворик. С тыльной части форт был защищен рвом с водой. Сегодня от крепости остались только ров и часть внешних стен – из некоторых помещений через проломы в стенах можно выйти прямо на берег Балтийского моря. На кирпичах, из которых построено укрепление, можно разглядеть клеймо изготовителя – Gr. Steinort. W. Schulz.

В 2007 году форт "Западный" получил статус объекта культурного наследия регионального значения.