Kirches

The Kaliningrad region has many ancient religious buildings still preserved. The very first of these were built as Catholic churches in the 13th century by the knights of the Teutonic Order, who conquered the land of the ancient Prussian pagans. After the proclamation of Prussia as the first Protestant state in Europe in 1525, new churches began to be built in the spirit of Protestantism - they were distinguished by a simple architecture that was bright, yet powerful.

Approaching many cities and towns of the region by car, you will notice from afar the Gothic spires of the old churches. Most of the former East Prussian religious buildings have now been transferred to the Russian Orthodox Church. Many of them are restored and Orthodox services are held there. Some of the kirches suffered badly during the Second World War or in the post-war period and were not restored: their ruins, sometimes very picturesque, can also be witnessed across the area.

 Evgeniy Morozov/Welcome2018.com

Judittenkirche is considered to be the oldest building on the territory of Kaliningrad. Historians argue about the temple’s founding date, the most common version refers back to 1288 - the date of first mention in the written chronicles. The building stands on a hill and partly resembles an ancient fortress because of its powerful walls, loophole windows and the main nave made from untreated boulders. This monument of early Germanic Gothic architecture became a place of religious pilgrimage even before the Reformation. Here was the famous wonderworking sculpture entitle Virgin and Child on the Crescent Moon, which, as the legend says, was always warm. It was credited with numerous miracles. Throughout its history, the church was rebuilt several times, and in 1907, during another restoration, the frescoes of the late 14th century were cleaned of whitewash. Unfortunately, they did not survive to this day.

Judittenkirche was not damaged in the war, but fell into disuse and became desolated during the Soviet era. In 1985, the ruins of the church were given to the Russian Orthodox Church, and in 1986 it was consecrated in honor of Saint Nicholas the Wonderworker. Thus the first Orthodox church appeared on the territory of the Kaliningrad region. In 1999, the first Orthodox monastery appeared here, with church as its basis. Judittenkirche (St. Nicholas Cathedral), although located on the outskirts of Kaliningrad, is one of the symbols of the city: it is depicted on a coin issued by the Central Bank as part of the Architectural Monuments of Russia series.

Ruslan Shamukov/TASS
Just 500 metres (1,640 feet) away from the Fishing Village, visitors come face to face with another wonder of Kaliningrad: Church of the Holy Cross (formerly known as the Lutheran Kreuzkirche). There are several buildings like this one in the Baltic states, in the art-deco style of the 1920s and 1930s. However, the unique amber iconostasis that was dedicated in the early 21st century is definitely worth seeing.

The cathedral is located on the huge Oktyabrsky Island (formerly Lomse), which was once home to numerous wood warehouses and carpentry workshops. In the middle of the 18th century there were even plans to develop silk manufacturing and grow hundreds of mulberry trees on the island, although those plans were not fulfilled.

The route takes us to the city of Guryevsk, located seven kilometers to the north-east of Kaliningrad. Until 1946, it was called Neuhausen. The local church was built in the very end of the 13th century, and then rebuilt in the Gothic style in the 14th century.

On the western side of the church there is a looming tower, the first floor of which is built from boulders. At the end of the 17th century, a new cathedra, altar and confessional were installed in the church. During the Second World War, the church suffered artillery shelling, but was restored and repurposed by the city club. After the fires of 1970-1980 the building became dilapidated and was restored only in 1993, after its transfer to the community of the New Apostolic Church.

Evgeniy Morozov/Welcome2018.com

On the way from Guryevsk to Polessk there is a very small village of Turgenevo, which used to be called Gross Legitten. The Kirche here was built in the 13th century, and after numerous reconstructions only the choirs of 1400 remain intact; All the remaining parts of the building were erected later. Boulders and bricks were used to build the church.

In the 19th century, the Baroness Jenny von Gustedt, the illegitimate daughter of Jerome Bonaparte, Napoleon's niece was buried by the walls of the temple. On the north wall of the church there is a monument to those perished in the First World War, represented by a figure of a German soldier. The Second World War did not affect to the church, but in the postwar years the building fell into disuse. In the 1990s, several people who lived in Gross Legitten back when it was still a German village raised funds for the conservation of the building. Now the church belongs to the Lutheran community of the region and religious services are held here.

Evgeniy Morozov/Welcome2018.com

The village of Zheleznodorozhny is located in the south of the Kaliningrad region. The building of the Church of Gerdauen (former name of the settlement, used until 1946), preserved to this day, was built in the second quarter of the 15th century. The northern part of the church originally performed a defensive function and was part of the city wall, so it did not have windows. At the end of the 17th century an organ appeared in the church. In 1913, a major fire broke out in the tower, and in 1914 the church was damaged during World War I. The restoration of the building dragged on until early 1920s. Unlike many other churches in the region, the Gerdauen church, like the city itself, was not damaged during the Second World War. In the Soviet era, the building was used as a House of Culture. In the 1990s, works on the preservation of the historical structure were carried out. It is located among the old buildings of Zheleznodorozhny, and the area is a landmark in its own right.

Evgeniy Morozov/Welcome2018.com

25 kilometers from Zheleznodorozhny, on the Lava River, is a cozy and green city of Pravdinsk. The local church, founded in 1313, is perfectly preserved to this day. Currently it the Orthodox St. George's Church. 

Originally the church was wooden, then it was repeatedly rebuilt with bricks. After the fire of 1772, the upper part of the tower was rebuilt, an observation deck was added, and now it is possible to climb up there - it offers a stunning view of Pravdinsk and the settlements near it. The height of the tower is 60.6 meters. The kirche was practically untouched by the Second World War, but it was badly damaged in the Soviet years. The former residents of Friedland and the Russian Orthodox Church helped the restoration effort, and the building was transferred to the Church in 1990. Today the church, located on the high bank of the Mill Pond, is a postcard landmark of the city.

Evgeniy Morozov/Welcome2018.com

Approaching Kaliningrad from the east, from the town of Chernyakhovsk, it is worthwhile to visit the village of Ushakovo, where the very beautiful church of St. Nicholas stands preserved. Bear in mind that there are two villages in the Guryev district with the same name of Ushakovo. The one to the south of Kaliningrad, located on the bay, is also very interesting, but the Ushakovo village we need located to the east of the regional center, not far from the main river of the region - Pregolya. Until 1946, this settlement was called Heiligenwald. The church was built here in 1344, and its modern appearance was acquired in the 15th century after the construction of the tower. Boulders were used in the structure of the building, later plastered with lime, along with bricks. In the church there were unique religious sculptures, including the carved figure of Mary, mother of Jesus of 1510. In the 1990s, the restoration of the church began.

Evgeniy Morozov/Welcome2018.com

Right near Kaliningrad, in the village of Rodniki (the German name of the village is Arnau), there is another beautiful church, the spire of which is visible from the nearby federal highway. The church is unique primarily due its medieval frescoes dating back to the 14th century. The temple was built in the 14th century as well. 

Frescos were part of the rich interior of the church. Next to it is the grave of the President of East and West Prussia, Theodor von Schön, a well-known German statesman, reformer and defender of civil liberties. Currently, the building of the kirche is used as an Orthodox church, restoration is underway.

Кирхи

Евгений Морозов/Welcome2018.com
Юдиттен-кирха считается самым старым зданием в Калининграде. Историки спорят о времени постройки храма, самая распространенная версия отсылает к 1288 году – дате упоминания в письменных хрониках. Здание стоит на возвышенности и отчасти напоминает древнюю крепость из-за своих мощных стен, окон-бойниц и главного нефа, сложенного из необработанных валунов. Этот памятник раннегерманской готики стал местом религиозного паломничества еще до Реформации. Здесь находилась знаменитая чудотворная скульптура "Мадонна с младенцем на полумесяце", которая, как гласит предание, была всегда теплой. Ей приписывали многочисленные чудеса. На протяжении своей истории кирху неоднократно перестраивали, а в 1907 году при очередном ремонте очистили от побелки фрески конца XIV века, которые, к сожалению, не сохранились до наших дней.

Юдиттен-кирха не получила повреждений во время войны, но не использовалась и пришла в запустение в советское время. В 1985 году руины храма были переданы Русской православной церкви, а уже в 1986-м он был освящен в честь Николая Чудотворца. Так появился первый православный храм в Калининградской области. В 1999 году на его основе возник и первый православный монастырь. Юдиттен-кирха (Свято-Никольский собор), хоть и расположена на окраине Калининграда, является одним из символов города: именно она изображена на монете, выпущенной Центральным банком в серии "Памятники архитектуры России".
Руслан Шамуков/ТАСС
Позади "Рыбной деревни", примерно в полукилометре, если идти по улице Генерала Карбышева, находится православный Крестовоздвиженский собор, в прошлом лютеранская Кройцкирха. Подобные культовые здания 1920-1930-х годов, построенные в стиле ар-деко, есть во многих Прибалтийских странах, так что главный интерес визита не только в архитектуре – стоит обратить внимание на уникальный янтарный иконостас, освященный в начале XXI века.

Огромный Октябрьский остров, на котором стоит этот собор, в прошлом назывался Ломзе и помимо дровяных складов и столярных мастерских известен был еще и тем, что в середине XVIII века здесь будто бы рос тутовник – кёнигсбергцы собирались наладить выпуск собственного шелка. Но идея развития не получила.
Город Гурьевск расположен в семи километрах к северо-востоку от Калининграда. До 1946 года он назывался Нойхаузен. Местная церковь была построена в конце XIII века, а затем перестроена в готическом стиле в XIV веке.

С западной стороны кирхи расположена мощная башня, первый этаж которой сложен из валунов. В конце XVII века в кирхе установили новую барочную кафедру, алтарь и исповедальню. Во время Второй мировой войны кирха пострадала в результате артиллерийского обстрела, но была восстановлена под нужды городского клуба. После пожаров 1970-1980 годов здание пришло в запустение и было отреставрировано только в 1993 году, после его передачи общине Новоапостольской церкви.
Евгений Морозов/Welcome2018.com
По дороге из Гурьевска в Полесск расположен совсем небольшой поселок Тургенево, который раньше назывался Гросс-Легиттен. Кирху в этом местечке построили еще в XIII веке, после многочисленных реконструкций до нас дошли только хоры 1400 года; все остальные сохранившиеся части здания были возведены позднее. Для постройки кирхи использовали валуны и кирпич.

В XIX веке у стен храма была похоронена баронесса Дженни фон Гуштедт, незаконнорожденная дочь Жерома Бонапарта, племянница Наполеона. На северной стене кирхи установлен памятник погибшим в Первой мировой войне, представляющий собой фигуру немецкого солдата. Вторая мировая война не причинила кирхе вреда, но в послевоенные годы здание пришло в запустение. В 1990-е несколько человек, живших в Гросс-Легиттене, когда он еще был немецким поселком, собрали средства на консервацию здания. Сейчас кирха принадлежит лютеранской общине области и здесь проводятся богослужения.
Евгений Морозов/Welcome2018.com
Поселок Железнодорожный расположен на юге Калининградской области. Здание сохранившейся до наших дней церкви Гердауэна, как называли этот населенный пункт до 1946 года, было построено во второй четверти XV века. Северная часть кирхи первоначально выполняла оборонительные функции и являлась частью городской стены, поэтому не имела окон. В конце XVII века в кирхе появился орган. В 1913 году в башне случился сильный пожар, а в 1914-м кирха была повреждена во время боев Первой мировой войны (восстановление здания затянулось до начала 1920-х годов). В отличие от многих других церквей региона кирха Гердауэна, как, впрочем, и город, не пострадала во время Второй мировой войны. В советское время в здании размещался Дом культуры. В 1990-х были проведены работы по консервации исторического строения. Оно расположено среди старой застройки Железнодорожного, которая сама по себе является достопримечательностью.
Евгений Морозов/Welcome2018.com
В 25 километрах от Железнодорожного, на реке Лаве, расположен уютный и зеленый город Правдинск. Местная кирха, заложенная в 1313 году, отлично сохранилась до наших дней. Сейчас в ее стенах открыт православный Свято-Георгиевский храм.

Первоначально церковь была деревянной, затем неоднократно перестраивалась уже с использованием кирпича. После пожара 1772 года верхняя часть башни была перестроена, появилась смотровая площадка, забраться на которую можно и сейчас, – отсюда открывается потрясающий вид на Правдинск и расположенные вблизи поселки. Высота башни – 60,6 метра. Кирха практически не была повреждена во время Второй мировой войны, но сильно пострадала уже в советские годы. Восстановлению помогли бывшее жители Фридланда и Русская православная церковь, которой здание было передано в 1990 году. Сегодня церковь, расположенная на высоком берегу Мельничного пруда, – визитная карточка города.
Евгений Морозов/Welcome2018.com
Подъезжая к Калининграду с востока, со стороны Черняховска, стоит заехать в поселок Ушаково, в котором сохранилась очень красивая кирха Святого Николая. Только надо иметь в виду, что в Гурьевском районе есть два поселка с одинаковым названием Ушаково. Одноименный населенный пункт к югу от Калининграда, расположенный на заливе, тоже очень интересный, но нужный нам поселок Ушаково находится на востоке от областного центра, недалеко от главной реки региона Преголи. До 1946 года этот населенный пункт назывался Хайлигенвальде. Кирха построена в 1344 году, а свой современный облик обрела в XV веке после строительства башни. При возведении здания были использованы валуны, позже оштукатуренные известью, и кирпич. В кирхе находились уникальные религиозные скульптуры, в том числе резная фигура Богоматери 1510 года. В 1990-е года началось восстановление кирхи.
Евгений Морозов/Welcome2018.com
Практически на самом въезде в Калининград, в поселке Родники (немецкое название – Арнау), находится еще одна красивая кирха, шпиль которой виден с проходящей рядом федеральной трассы. Кирха уникальна прежде всего своими средневековыми фресками, относящимися к XIV веку.

Храм был построен в XIV веке. Фрески были частью богатого интерьера кирхи. Рядом с ней находится могила обер-президента Восточной и Западной Пруссии Теодора фон Шена, известного немецкого государственного деятеля, реформатора и защитника гражданских свобод. В настоящее время здание кирхи используется в качестве православного храма, ведутся реставрационные работы.