Yantarny Town

The Yantarny beach of pristine white sand, gently sloping into the sea, happens to be one of the widest beaches on the Baltic Sea coast. The beach infrastructure is modest, but growing fast. There are some paintball, beach soccer and volleyball courts. The Yantarny beach was the first in Russia to win a Blue Flag certificate of approval from the Foundation for Environmental Education in 2016, which is awarded to those beaches, marinas and boating facilities that meet the high standards of this international body. 

This park, covering an area of 13 hectares on a high terrace by the sea, is locals’ and tourists’ favourite recreation spot. The man behind the park’s name, Moritz Becker, started the firm Stantien and Becker in 1858 in partnership with Wilhelm Stantien. Becker is credited with developing the quarry a.m.er mining method. With this new technology the firm was able to net an annual income of 8 million Gold Mark. A successful industrial entrepreneur, Moritz Becker was no stranger to philanthropy. He spent his personal funds on developing and improving Palmnicken, investing in the construction of a local railway offshoot, water tower, and a new church. On 21 May 1881 he had ground broken for a park to replace the old garden on his estate. He had red-leaved beeches, lindens, oaks, sycamores, white poplars, chestnuts, elms and ash trees planted there. Becker’s son brought back some exotic plants from his travels in Japan and the Americas: katsura trees, silver spruces, Weymouth pines, and the unique North American tulip tree which is now the park’s symbol. The park’s other landmark is a European beech which is over 300 years old.   

Moritz Becker Park was granted a local cultural heritage status in 2007. Work is currently in progress to re-plant some the trees and shrubs lost over the years.  

Walking down the broad staircase from Moritz Becker Park to the sea, visitors find themselves right at the beginning of a new esplanade, of which Yantarny is rightfully proud.  At nearly two kilometres, this is the longest esplanade in the Kaliningrad Oblast. 700 metres of that distance go by a lake that has formed in place of an a.m.er mine. The Yantarny esplanade also happens to be the only boardwalk in the Oblast. This walkway by the sea and the deserted beach blends in well with the surrounding elegiac scenery.  

Built in 1920, the water tower is designated as a 20th-century architectural landmark. It still operates according to its original purpose. The redbrick tower with white decorations is 35 metres tall and 11 metres in diameter. The tower was awarded the status of a local cultural heritage landmark in 2007, when the roof and façade renovation was completed on the tower, and its unicorn weathervane was installed. 

The Amber Castle is a museum and convention centre complex inside the 14th-century Palmnicken Fortress. 

The museum introduces visitors to the history of Palmnicken with exhibits such as antique tableware collections, and 19th through 20th-century artworks and photographs. A part of the exposition is devoted to the discovery of amber deposits, amber mining and processing, leading up to a display of amber jewellery.

The Amber Castle also houses a torture museum, a museum of Eastern Prussia castles, a Russian fairy tale museum, and an art gallery, where modern painters and sculptors exhibit their works.

You can also undergo a procedure billed as “amber therapy” inside a man-size amber pyramid, which, they say, makes your wishes come true. Museum staff will tell you all about the healing properties of amber, which is a semi-precious stone formed of petrified wood tar.
Evgeniy Morozov/Welcome2018.com

The Anna mine at the current entrance to Yantarny has existed since 1872. It originally belonged to Moritz Becker’s firm, but the government bought him out to the tune of 9.7 million Mark in 1899.

The observation deck overlooks the beach and the lakes. The Death March monument nearby commemorates the Nazi concentration ca.m.p prisoners who died here. The numbered arms stretched up to the sky are carved in granite. The seven-metre monument by Frank Meisler and Arie Ovadia harks back to the tragic events of the Second World War, when the Nazis executed thousands of concentration ca.m.p prisoners here. According to one version of the events, the prisoners were pushed into an abandoned amber mine and fell to their death. There is a legend that the Amber Room, which went mysteriously missing during the war, was also buried in the same mine.  

Evgeniy Morozov/Welcome2018.com

As you leave Yantarny in the direction of Sinyavino, you may want to explore another interesting place: Amber Lake and the former German amber mine named Walter, which today is a destination beloved of alternative backpackers. Walter was the first industrial amber mining site developed by the firm of Stantien and Becker.

The mine remained active after the Second World War, but in 1972–1975, when the development of a new mine was initiated, they stopped pumping water out of Walter. The mine eventually filled up with pristine spring water. The artificial lake is as deep as 30 metres in some parts, and is nearly 2.5 square kilometres in size.  

There is a diving centre at Amber Lake. Beginners can go for a test dive three to six metres deep with an instructor. Divers get to see some amazing sights underwater: remnants of industrial machinery, a rail track disappearing deeper down, and a veritable underwater forest, like a submerged world from the past.

Поселок Янтарный

Пляж в Янтарном – один из самых широких на Балтийском побережье, с чистейшим белым песком и пологим заходом в море. Здесь активно развивается курортная инфраструктура: работают площадки для пейнтбола, пляжного футбола и несколько полей для пляжного волейбола. В 2016 году пляжу Янтарного первому в России был присвоен знак качества Blue Flag Международной системы сертификации пляжей, яхтенных марин и пристаней.

Евгений Морозов/Welcome2018.com
Любимое место отдыха жителей и гостей Янтарного – парк площадью 13 гектаров, расположенный на возвышенной террасе у моря. Человек, в честь которого назван парк, прославил свое имя, когда в XIX веке вместе с компаньоном Вильгельмом Штантином создал фирму "Штантин и Беккер" и разработал карьерный способ добычи янтаря. Это обеспечило фирме ежегодный доход в 8 млн золотых марок. Мориц Беккер был не только успешным бизнесменом и промышленником, но и филантропом, тратившим собственные деньги на благоустройство и развитие поселка: он вложил средства в строительство железнодорожной ветки, водонапорной башни и новой кирхи. А 21 мая 1881 года заложил на месте старинного усадебного сада парк, в котором посадили краснолистные буки, липы, дубы, клены-яворы, серебристые тополя, каштаны, вязы и ясени. Сын Беккера привез из Японии и Америк экзотические растения: багряник японский, ситхинскую ель, сосну Веймутова и уникальное североамериканское тюльпанное дерево, ныне являющееся символом парка. Еще один знаменитый экземпляр местной коллекции – бук европейский, возраст которого превышает 300 лет.

В 2007 году парк имени Морица Беккера получил статус объекта культурного наследия местного значения, сейчас здесь восстанавливают посадки утраченных растений.
Евгений Морозов/Welcome2018.com
Спускаясь по широкой лестнице от парка Морица Беккера к морю, путешественники оказываются в начале нового променада, которым гордится Янтарный. Это самый протяженный променад в Калининградской области, его длина составляет почти 2 километра, из них 700 метров проходят над озером, которое образовалось на месте одного из карьеров по добыче янтаря. К тому же это единственный в области деревянный променад – дорожка вдоль моря и пустынного пляжа очень органично вписывается в окружающий ландшафт.
Евгений Морозов/Welcome2018.com
Водонапорная башня – памятник архитектуры XX века – была построена в 1920 году и до сих пор используется по своему прямому назначению. Здание выполнено из красного кирпича с белым декором, его высота составляет 35 метров, диаметр – 11 метров. В 2007 году сооружению был присвоен статус объекта культурного наследия местного значения, тогда же завершились работы по ремонту фасада и крыши, а также установлен флюгер в виде единорога.
Евгений Морозов/Welcome2018.com
Музейно-выставочный комплекс "Янтарный замок" расположен в крепости Пальмникен, построенной в XIV веке.

В музее можно ознакомиться с историей Пальмникена, увидеть коллекции антикварной посуды, художественных произведений и фотографий конца XIX – начала XX века. Здесь же размещены экспозиции, посвященные открытию месторождений янтаря, добыче и обработке этого полудрагоценного камня, и, конечно, можно полюбоваться на готовые изделия из него.

Под крышей "Янтарного замка" работают музей пыток, музей замков Восточной Пруссии, музей русской сказки и арт-галерея, которая проводит выставки современных художников и скульпторов.

Здесь можно пройти "янтарную терапию" с помощью пирамиды из янтаря высотой в человеческий рост, которая, говорят, исполняет желания, и узнать о целебных свойствах этой окаменевшей древесной смолы.
Евгений Морозов/Welcome2018.com
Шахта "Анна" находится при въезде в современный Янтарный и существует с 1872 года. Изначально она принадлежала фирме Морица Беккера, а в 1899 году была выкуплена государством за 9,7 млн марок.

Со смотровой площадки у шахты открывается вид на пляж и озера. Здесь же находится монумент "Марш смерти" в память о погибших узниках концлагеря – воздетые к небу руки с номерами высечены из гранита. Семиметровый памятник скульпторов Франка Майслера и Арье Овадия рассказывает о событиях Второй мировой войны, когда нацисты казнили несколько тысяч евреев, по одной из версий, сбросив их в штольни заброшенной шахты. По легенде в этой же штольне спрятана загадочно пропавшая Янтарная комната.
Евгений Морозов/Welcome2018.com
Неподалеку от Янтарного, в направлении поселка Синявино, есть еще одно интересное место – озеро Янтарное, бывший немецкий карьер "Вальтер", который сегодня привлекает любителей дикого отдыха. Именно "Вальтер" стал первым местом промышленной добычи янтаря, которая была разработана компанией "Штантин и Беккер".

После Второй мировой войны карьер продолжал работать, однако в 1972-1975 годах началась разработка нового, из "Вальтера" перестали откачивать воду, и он наполнился чистой родниковой водой. Глубина искусственного озера достигает 30 метров, а площадь составляет около 2,5 кв. километров.
Сегодня на озере Янтарном работает дайвинг-центр – новички могут заказать пробное погружение с инструктором на глубину от трех до шести метров. Перед ныряльщиками открывается завораживающее зрелище: остатки промышленных конструкций, узкоколейка, пропадающая в глубине, и настоящий подводный лес – словно затопленный мир из прошлого.