The gates of Königsberg

Ancient Königsberg was a fortress city, which could be accessed only through one of the ten city gates. After World War II only seven remained. Now they are heritage sights, offering both tourist attraction and cultural value.

Ruslan Shamukov/TASS

The Neo-Gothic Brandenburg Gate of Königsberg is the only remaining gate you can walk or drive through. A modern street, Ulitsa Bagrationa (Bagrationa Street), goes through the gate. The only function of the gate nowadays is to let traffic through. The gate is not far from the city's main transport hub, Southern Railway Station. Eponymous with the famous Brandenburger Tor in Berlin, the gate was named after the Teutonic Castle of Brandenburg, the ruins of which still exist in Ushakovo, southwest of Kaliningrad.

Ruslan Shamukov/TASS
Leaving the Museum of the World Ocean and going down the river, you will reach the crossroads of Ulitsa Bagramyana (Bagramyana Street) and Ulitsa Butkova (Butkova Street) where you can take the No. 4 minibus-taxi. Cross the river on Dvukhyarusny Bridge to get to the left side of the Pregolya River and follow it up Ulitsa Portovaya (Portovaya Street) to the Friedrichsburg Gate. The Friedrichsburg Fortress was constructed in 1657 to control the bay area of the city. There were a number of bastions with jewel-inspired names – Emerald, Ruby, Diamond and Pearl – which were intended to protect the city with their cannons both to the north and south. In 1657, Peter the Great was staying in the city disguised as a sergeant of the Preobrazhensky Regiment by the name of Pyotr Mikhailov. Colonel Sternfeld awarded Peter with a certificate for displaying excellent shooting skills in Friedrichsburg. It was this fortress that inspired him to built Kronstadt.

The future favourite of Russian Empress Anna Ivanovna, Ernst Johann von Biron (1690-1772) spent a short while in Friedrichsburg as a prisoner. In the mid-19th century the Fortress gained a brick gate, and early in the 20th century the earthen dikes and ditches were removed and a railway laid instead. In the 2000s, restorers had to lay new bricks on the Friedrichsburg Gate. Today you can visit the Ship's Revival Historical and Cultural Centre at the Friedrichsburg Gate.
Ruslan Shamukov/TASS
As we approach Ploschad Marshala Vasilevskogo (Marshala Vasilevskogo Square) we can see the Rossgarten Gate, built along with the other Litovsky Val fortifications in the 1850s. It has a 4-metre (13-foot) wide passage with three casemates on either side of the gate. The main arch is decorated with reliefs of Prussian generals Gerhard von Scharnhorst (1755-1813) and August Neidhardt von Gneisenau. The gate was renovated 40 years ago, and now houses the Solnechny Kamen (Sunstone) Restaurant. It is just a stone's throw from here to the Dohna Tower.
Ruslan Shamukov/TASS

Built in the 19th century, Sackheim Gate soon lost its defence value, and became simply a decoration - a semblance of an Arch of Triumph - for the city. After the Second World War the gate was put to work as a storehouse, and that it would remain until 2006, when the historical landmark was restored. Sackheim Gate currently serves as a venue for various exhibitions under the Kaliningrad Union of Photographers.

Ruslan Shamukov/ТАSS

The King's Gate that houses the Grand Embassy Historical and Cultural Centre was the key symbol of the city's 750th anniversary marked in 2005. By that date, the building had been restored and handed over to the Museum of the World Ocean. Now the museum offers an exposition dedicated to Peter the Great's Grand Embassy. Apart from that, the museum organises exhibitions and other events here. The King's Gate is decorated with restored bas-reliefs of the rulers who played a major role in Königsberg's life: Ottokar II, Duke of Prussia Albrecht and Friedrich I. Do not miss the sculpture of the Prussian Cat, the keeper of the city keys, which is believed to bring good luck.

Ruslan Shamukov/ТАSS
The Friedland Gate is a young museum. It was established in 2002. It is housed in a fortification that used to be part of Königsberg's defence ring. The Friedland Gate was built in 1862 presumably based on the design of German architect Friedrich Stuler. The gate's facade is decorated with two sculptures of Teutonic Order rulers. The museum's collection is dedicated to Königsberg's everyday life, mostly of the pre-war period. The Friedland Gate Museum offers a possibility to make a virtual tour along the streets of the East Prussian capital with the help of animated old photographs.

Ворота Кёнигсберга

Древний Кёнигсберг был городом-крепостью, попасть в который можно было только через одни из десяти городских ворот. После Второй мировой войны из них сохранилось семь – объехав их все, можно посетить несколько выставок, выпить кофе и оценить разные стили немецкой архитектуры.

Руслан Шамуков/ТАСС
Городской музей "Фридландские ворота" появился совсем недавно, в 2002 году. Он находится в одноименном фортификационном сооружении, которое входило в состав оборонительного кольца Кёнигсберга. Фридландские ворота были построены в 1862 году предположительно по проекту немецкого архитектора Фридриха Штюлера. Ворота украшены двумя скульптурами правителей Тевтонского ордена. Коллекция музея посвящена городской жизни, в основном, довоенного Кёнигсберга. Во "Фридландских воротах" можно совершить виртуальную прогулку по улицам столицы Восточной Пруссии с помощью "оживших" архивных фотографий.
Руслан Шамуков/ТАСС

Бранденбургские ворота Кёнигсберга, выполненные в неоготическом стиле, – единственные, через которые до сих пор можно пройти и даже проехать, ведь прямо сквозь них проходит современная улица Багратиона. Именно транспортной функцией сегодняшнее назначение ворот и ограничено. Расположены они недалеко от главного транспортного узла города – Южного вокзала, а название – кстати, такое же, как у знаменитых ворот в Берлине, – получили в честь тевтонского замка Бранденбург, руины которого сейчас можно найти в поселке Ушаково к юго-западу от Калининграда.

Руслан Шамуков/ТАСС
Выйдя из Музея Мирового океана и следуя течению реки, можно дойти до пересечения улиц Маршала Баграмяна и Генерала Буткова и сесть в маршрутное такси № 4, чтобы по Двухъярусному мосту перебраться на левый берег. Выйти надо сразу после моста и уже против течения Преголи по Портовой улице дойти до Фридрихсбургских ворот. Для того чтобы контролировать путь в город из залива, в 1657 году была построена небольшая цитадель Фридрихсбург. Ее бастионы носили "драгоценные" имена: Изумруд, Рубин, Алмаз, Жемчуг, и их огонь мог прикрыть Кёнигсберг и с севера, и с юга. В 1697 году Петр I, бывший здесь как урядник Преображенского полка Петр Михайлов, получил из рук полковника Штернфельда аттестат за отличную стрельбу, показанную в Фридрихсбурге. А крепость стала прообразом кронштадтских фортов.

Во Фридрихсбургской тюрьме недолгое время сидел Эрнст Иоганн Бирон (1690-1772) – будущий фаворит русской императрицы Анны Иоанновны. В середине XIX века крепость Фридрихсбург стала фортом с кирпичными воротами, а в начале XX века поблизости были проложены железнодорожные пути, валы срыты, рвы засыпаны. Реставраторам 2000-х пришлось делать на Фридрихсбургских воротах новую кладку. Сейчас здесь работают историко-культурный центр "Корабельное воскресение".
Руслан Шамуков/ТАСС
У площади Маршала Василевского стоят Росгартенские ворота, построенные, как и все укрепления Литовского вала, в 1850-х годах. В них был широкий, четырехметровый арочный проезд и по три каземата с каждой стороны. В медальонах над главной аркой – портреты прусских генералов Герхарда Шарнхорста (1755-1813) и Августа Вильгельма Гнейзенгау (1760-1831). Сорок лет назад ворота отреставрировали, сейчас здесь работает ресторан "Солнечный камень". От Росгартенских ворот рукой подать до башни Дона.
Руслан Шамуков/ТАСС

Королевские ворота, в которых сейчас расположен Историко-культурный центр "Великое посольство", стали в 2005 году главным символом 750-летнего юбилея города. Специально к этому событию здание было отреставрировано и передано Музею Мирового океана, который разместил здесь постоянную экспозицию, посвященную Великому посольству Петра I, и регулярно проводит различные выставки и мероприятия. Королевские ворота украшены отреставрированными барельефами правителей, сыгравших большую роль в жизни Кёнигсберга, – Оттокара II, герцога Альбрехта и Фридриха I. Не пропустите скульптуру "Прусского кота", хранителя ворот и коренного жителя города, которая, по преданию, приносит счастье и удачу.

Руслан Шамуков/ТАСС
Закхаймские ворота, построенные в XIX веке, быстро утратили свою оборонительную функцию, став для города чем-то вроде триумфальной арки. После Второй мировой войны их назначение снова изменилось – в воротах устроили склад, который действовал до 2006 года. Потом этот памятник истории отреставрировали, и в 2013 году отдали под управление Калининградского союза фотохудожников для проведения различных выставок, лекций и мастер-классов.
× Ворота Кёнигсберга
Открыть карту