The museum of the World Ocean

Sea wonders in Kaliningrad are just a few minute walk away from downtown. A museum dedicated to the ocean is located near the island of Kant, on the embankment of the Pregolya River. There is something to look at here both for adults and kids: among other things, there are several unique sea vessels and aquariums with rare fish.

Ruslan Shamukov/TASS

Launched in 1968, the Soviet Submarine B-413 remained in service until 1999, serving first in the Arctic Fleet, then the Baltic Fleet of the Russian Navy. All its machinery, instruments and weapons are exactly the same as they were when the submarine was relegated to museum status. The B-413 is unique in that it is one of the few pre-nuclear, diesel-powered submarines still extant in the world, and the only one in Russia. The submarine seems too small and congested to accommodate a crew of 80, but it did.

Ruslan Shamukov/TASS

Another outstanding exhibit at the World Ocean Museum, the Cosmonaut Viktor Patsayev is the world's only space communications ship turned into a museum. Moored by Naberezhnaya Petra Velikogo (Petra Velikogo Embankment) in Kaliningrad since 2001, the Cosmonaut Viktor Patsayev is not entirely a museum – not yet. The ship still continues to support communication with the International Space Station. Your tour guide will tell you more about Kaliningrad's mark on the history of space exploration. It turns out that four Soviet cosmonauts, Aleksey Leonov, Viktor Patsayev, Yuri Romanenko and Alexander Viktorenko, were from Kaliningrad.

The Vityaz Vessel has seen some of the world's most unusual places, e.g. it measured the depth of the Mariana Trench, the deepest part of the world oceans, and changed several names and occupations in its long lifetime. The ship, initially christened the Mars, was built in Germany before the World War II, and was originally intended for freight and passenger carriage. It was converted to military freighting when the war began. The ship was transferred to Great Britain in 1945 (renamed Empire Forth), then to the Soviet Union in 1946, where it was soon reequipped for scientific research. This vessel is among children's favourite exhibits at the World Ocean Museum. They let them ring the ship's bell, and there is even a special button on the museum website that you can push to hear the Vityaz' signature siren.

Ruslan Shamukov/TASS

Another one-of-a-kind boat, the only trawler-gone-museum in Russia, the SRT-129 hails from Germany, like the Vityaz, except it was commissioned by the Soviet Union, and built by an East German shipyard after WWII. This is the kind of boat they used to trawl for herring in the Baltic Sea, or sail to the Faroe Islands. The exhibits will let you in on the life of fishermen at sea. You will find out what the difference is between a jib sail and a trysail mast.

Ruslan Shamukov/TASS

The first things to see in the main building of the Museum of the World Ocean are the aquaria. There are 14 of them, both sea and fresh water, about 16,000 litres in total volume, containing over 300 creatures and 133 species from different parts of the world's oceans, including rays, sharks and piranhas. Then there is Russia's biggest sperm-whale skeleton, found on the Vistula Spit in 2004. There is an interactive display for children, Water Lab, where they show various tests and experiments.  

welcome2018.com

These two museum buildings used to be port warehouses in the mid-19th century. The embossed ornament on the Packgaus facade is the restored Genius by famous German sculptor Stanislaus Kauer, who lived in Königsberg. The wrecked Genius was found amid the ruins of Kauer's house after the war. In addition to temporary shows, the exhibits inside include a 19th-century ship unearthed in the Amber Quarry, and an interactive World Oceans Atlas.

Ruslan Shamukov/TASS

The historic cobblestone pavement and quayside wall have been restored on the embankment in front of the buildings of the Museum of the World Ocean. The authentic old town feel is completed by the surviving mid-19th-century railway bridge. In all likelihood, Immanuel Kant went strolling here, following the route that came to be known as the Kant Path. The great philosopher is also commemorated by the granite Kant Bench, built recently. His cocked hat and walking cane are on the bench.

Ruslan Shamukov/TASS
Centuries ago, the Russian Emperor Peter I trained artillery at the gate of the former Fortress Friedrichsburg which drawings became the basis for the Peter and Paul Fortress. Today, the gate is the only element left of the old fortress. It is a branch of the Museum of the World Ocean and its exposition is devoted to the history of shipbuilding. Visiting the Friedrichsburg Gate, one can attend a lesson at the nautical school or drop by Peter the Great’s room. A collection of traditional boats of the people of the world is displayed at the territory.

Ruslan Shamukov/ТАSS

The Koenig Gate is another museum’s branch located in the historic part of Kaliningrad. They became a symbol of the 750th anniversary of the city. The Museum of the World Ocean restored the gate in record time. The expositions located there allow visitors to travel in time and learn the history of the walled city, the remarkable people who visited Koenigsberg, the secrets of Russian diplomacy and long-standing ties between this land and Russia, as well as have some tea at a medieval chemist’s shop at the Koenig Gate.

Ruslan Shamukov/TASS
The Museum of the World Ocean, the only complex maritime museum in Russia, invites you to its unique Historic Fleet Embankment. The following vessels are moored here: the research vessel Vityaz, the ship for space communication Kosmonavt Viktor Parsayev, the lightship Irbenskiy, the fishing trawler SRT-129, the B-413 submarine and the icebreaker Krassin (Saint Petersburg). Moreover, there is a large land museum complex comprising five exhibition halls. Visitors can see the legendary deep-sea submersible MIR-1 that took part in filming James Cameron’s Titanic, the largest museum sperm-whale skeleton, a real gray whale heart and other exhibits. Diverse sea inhabitants are displayed at the aquarium hall.

Музей Мирового океана

За морскими диковинами в Калининграде далеко ходить не надо – музей, посвященный океану, расположен в центре города, рядом с островом Канта, на набережной реки Преголя. Здесь есть что посмотреть и взрослым, и детям: среди прочего – несколько уникальных морских судов и аквариумы с редкими рыбами.

Руслан Шамуков/ТАСС

Спущенная на воду в 1968 году советская подводная лодка Б-413 несла боевую службу до 1999 года – сначала на Северном, а потом и на Балтийском флоте. Все ее механизмы, приборы и оружие до сих пор сохраняются в том же виде, что и до перевода лодки в музейный статус. Уникальность объекта в том, что это единственная сохранившаяся в стране и одна из немногих в мире подводных лодок, работающая еще не на атомной, а на дизельной энергии. В этой лодке, которая кажется такой маленькой и тесной, помещался экипаж из 80 человек.

Руслан Шамуков/ТАСС

Еще один уникальный объект Музея Мирового океана – единственное во всем мире судно космической связи, превращенное в музей. На набережной Петра Великого в Калининграде "Космонавт Виктор Пацаев" пришвартован с 2001 года, но музейными его функции не ограничиваются. Корабль и сейчас продолжает обеспечивать связь с Международной космической станцией. От экскурсовода также можно узнать, что история освоения космоса, оказывается, связана и с Калининградом: здесь жили советские космонавты Алексей Леонов, Виктор Пацаев, Юрий Романенко и Александр Викторенко.

welcome2018.com

За свою долгую жизнь "Витязь" не только повидал самые удивительные места мира (например, именно с его борта измерили глубину Марианской впадины), но и сменил несколько имен и профессий. Построенное перед Второй мировой войной в Германии судно называлось "Марс" и предназначалось сначала для грузопассажирских, а потом и военных перевозок. В 1945 году корабль стал британским (с названием "Вперед, империя"), а в 1946 году перешел к СССР, где вскоре и был переоборудован для научных исследований. В Музее Мирового океана это один из объектов, которые очень любят посещать дети: на его борту им разрешают позвонить в судовой колокол, а для знаменитого гудка "Витязя" даже пришлось завести специальную кнопку на сайте.


Руслан Шамуков/ТАСС

Очередной единственный в своем роде корабль – увидеть рыболовное судно-музей в России больше негде. Как и "Витязь", СРТ-129 родом из Германии, но построен был уже после Второй мировой войны в ГДР по заказу Советского союза. На таких судах в Балтийском море ловили селедку и ходили в экспедиции к Фарерским островам. В музейной экспозиции можно увидеть, как жили моряки-рыболовы, и узнать, чем кливер отличается от трисель-грота.

Руслан Шамуков/ТАСС

Главный корпус Музея Мирового океана знаменит в первую очередь своими аквариумами. В экспозиции их 14 – с морской и пресной водой общим объемом около 16 тысяч литров. Внутри – больше 300 живых существ 133 видов из самых разных мест Мирового океана, включая скатов, акул и пираний. В этом же здании можно увидеть крупнейший в России скелет кашалота, найденный в 2004 году на Балтийской косе. Для детей предусмотрена специальная интерактивная выставка "Лаборатория воды", где им показывают опыты и эксперименты.

welcome2018.com

Эти два корпуса музея расположены в настоящих портовых складах середины XIX века. На фасаде "Пакгауза" – возрожденный рельеф "Гениус" жившего в Кёнигсберге знаменитого немецкого скульптора Станислава Кауэра, который после войны нашли разбитым на развалинах его дома. Внутри проходят временные выставки, а также представлен найденный при раскопках в янтарном карьере корабль XIX века и интерактивный атлас Мирового океана.

Руслан Шамуков/ТАСС

На набережной, вдоль которой расположены объекты и корпуса Музея Мирового океана, восстановлены булыжная мостовая и причальная стенка. Вместе с сохранившимся железнодорожным мостом середины XIX века это создает ощущение настоящего старого города. Скорее всего, здесь пролегала часть так называемой "тропы Канта" – маршрута прогулок великого философа. Здесь же с недавних пор установлена гранитная "скамья Канта", на которой о знаменитом уроженце Кёнигсберга напоминают его трость и треуголка.

Руслан Шамуков/ТАСС
В воротах бывшей Фридрихсбургской крепости когда-то, столетия назад, российский император Петр обучался артиллерийскому делу, ее чертежи легли в основу строительства Петропавловской крепости. Сегодня ворота – единственное, что сохранилось от старой крепости. Они являются филиалом Музея Мирового океана, а расположенная в них экспозиция знакомит с историей корабельного дела. Также во Фридрихсбургских воротах можно побывать на уроке школы навигацких наук или посетить кабинет Петра Первого. На открытой территории представлена коллекция традиционных средств передвижения народов мира по воде. 

Руслан Шамуков/ТАСС

Еще один филиал Музея Мирового океана, расположенный в исторической части города. В год 750-летия Кенигсберга-Калининграда они стали символом юбилейной даты. Музей Мирового океана за рекордные сроки провел реставрационные работы. Созданные в Королевских воротах экспозиции дают возможность совершить путешествие во времени и узнать о возникновении и развитии города-крепости, о посещении Кенигсберга выдающимися людьми, о тайнах российской дипломатии и давних связях этой земли с Россией, а также выпить чай в атмосфере средневековой аптеки.


Руслан Шамуков/ТАСС
Музей Мирового океана, единственный в России комплексный морской музей, приглашает посетить уникальную Набережную исторического флота. Здесь ошвартованы научно-исследовательское судно НИС «Витязь», судно космической связи «Космонавт Виктор Пацаев», плавучий обитаемый маяк «Ирбенский», рыболовный траулер СРТ-129, подводная лодка Б-413 и ледокол «Красин» (филиал музея в Санкт-Петербурге). Кроме этого, своих гостей ждет большой береговой комплекс, в который входят пять выставочных корпусов. Гости музея увидят легендарный глубоководный аппарат «МИР-1», принимавший участие в съемках фильма «Титаник» (реж. Джеймс Кэмерон), самый большой музейный скелет кашалота, настоящее сердце серого кита и другие удивительные экспонаты. Аквариальный зал познакомит с обитателями морских глубин.