Circuses and zoos

Ilnar Tukhbatov/TASS

The pioneers of State Russian Circus, the brothers Dmitry, Akim and Pyotr Nikitin had their wooden circus built at Bannoye Lake (now the crossing of Ulitsa Chernyshevskogo (Chernyshevskogo Stree) and Ulitsa Dzerzhinskogo (Dzerzhinskogo Street)) in Kazan in 1890.

The circus was nationalized in 1924, and a new wooden circus was built in 1928, named in honour of the 8th anniversary of the Tatar Soviet Socialist Republic. The Kazan circus, due to the unsafe condition of the building, was finally closed in 1961, and the building burned down later.

The new circus was a ferro-concrete building resting on 289 pylons, erected next to the Kremlin in 1967. The shape of the circus is defined by two gigantic conjoined bowls, making it look like a UFO, 23 metres (75 feet) tall and 65 metres (213 feet) in diametre. The architects of Kazan Circus, Uzbek Alparov, Valentina Panova and Gennady Pichuyev designed the building without any supporting pillars, with two riding rings, and with all the utility premises inside the building, as opposed to outside of it. The project won gold, silver and bronze medals at the VDNKh of the Soviet Union. Its model was exhibited at the international trade expo in Leipzig, East Germany, in 1982.

A Tatar Circus Company performed at the circus for 19 years, from 1969 on. Nowadays the circus hosts guest shows from Moscow and elsewhere in Russia. The Kazan Circus opened its national circus school for children in 1996, which trains acrobats, jugglers, equilibrists and dancers. Four of its alumni work at Cirque du Soleil.

Ilnar Tukhbatov/TASS

The Botanical Garden was just one greenhouse when Professor Karl Fuchs founded it on Kazan University campus in 1806. In 1834 the garden moved into a stone building constructed for it by Sredny Kaban Lake in the suburb of Arkhangelskaya Sloboda (Neighbourhood). The building has been remodelled many times since, but it still stands. The Botanical Garden boasted one of the largest plant collections in Russia at the time, listing over 1,000 plants. Locals would often stop by the Botanical Garden after a steamboat ride on Kaban Lake.

A cavalry regiment was quartered here following the 1917 Revolution. Soon it was discovered that only a hundred subtropical plants had survived. In 1921 almost the entire hothouse froze out and all the plants perished. Members of a local research community of nature lovers undertook a restoration of the Botanical Garden in 1924. The first wildlife was introduced into the garden the same year: a wolf cub, two swans and an imperial eagle. The zoo opened next door in 1925. In 1931 the garden and the menagerie were officially merged under the name of Kazan Zoo Botanical Garden. It had a branch in the city centre, at Ulitsa Baumana (Baumana Street), in the years 1937-1952. The Zoo Botanical Garden never closed during the Great Patriotic War. In fact, animals were evacuated here from the Leningrad Zoo.

The Zoo Botanical Garden is now home to some 4,000 animals of more than 160 species, as well as about 6,000 plants of over 1,000 species. The inhabitants include foxes, bears, lions, tigers, a hippo, squirrels, camels, wolves, porcupines, hedgehogs, zebras, leopards, monkeys, panthers, parrots, vultures, brants, swans, eagles, sea eagles, peacocks, pelicans, lizards, basilisks, geckos, snakes, iguanas, caimans, crocodiles and pythons.

Additional options for kids include pony rides, the Zoo Scouting quest game, Lukomorye petting zoo, and photo opportunities with animals and in the hothouse.

Ilnar Tukhbatov/TASS

Tatarstan's first oceanarium is populated by rays, a seal, some iguanas, penguins, sharks, crocodiles, swans, and a 130-year old tortoise, to name only a few of its 3,000 plus species of animals, birds and fishes. For the young visitors, they offer contests and educational games here from time to time. Free tickets for the aquarium can be won in an online lottery. To play, subscribe to aquarium news or follow the aquarium on VKontakte social network.

Цирки и зоопарки

Ильнар Тухбатов/ТАСС

В 1890 году на Банном озере (перекресток нынешних улиц Чернышевского и Дзержинского) основатели национального русского цирка братья Дмитрий, Аким и Петр Никитины построили деревянное здание цирка.

В 1924 году он стал государственным, а в 1928-м здесь построили новое деревянное здание, которое было названо в честь восьмой годовщины создания Татарской АССР. Только в 1961 году уже совсем обветшавший цирк был закрыт, а позже сгорел.

В 1967 году около Кремля появилось новое железобетонное здание на 289 сваях – по форме это две плотно сомкнутые гигантские чаши-раковины, благодаря которым цирк похож на летающую тарелку высотой 23 метра и диаметром 65 метров. Проект архитекторов Узбека Алпарова, Валентины Пановой и Геннадия Пичуева интересен тем, что цирк был построен без поддерживающих купол колонн, с двумя манежами, а также подсобными помещениями, находящимися в самом цирке, а не на его территории. Проект был награжден золотой, серебряной и бронзовой медалями ВДНХ СССР, а его макет выставлялся в 1982 году на международной торговой ярмарке в Лейпциге.

При цирке с 1969 года 19 лет работал Татарский цирковой коллектив, сейчас же здесь дают гастрольные представления труппы из Москвы и других городов. В 1996 году открылась Республиканская детская цирковая школа, в которой учатся юные акробаты, жонглеры, эквилибристы, танцоры. Четыре ее выпускника работают в "Цирке Дю Солей".

Ильнар Тухбатов/ТАСС

Ботанический сад основал профессор Карл Фукс в 1806 году, тогда сад располагался на территории Казанского университета и представлял собой одну теплицу. В 1834 году он переехал в Архангельскую слободу к озеру Средний Кабан. Возведенный тогда каменный корпус, перестроенный многократно, можно увидеть и сейчас. В саду была собрана одна из крупнейших в России коллекций растений – более 1000 видов. Жители Казани часто заходили в ботанический сад после прогулки по Кабану на пароходе.

После революции 1917 года сюда поселили кавалерийский полк, и вскоре на разрушенной территории осталось только сто экземпляров субтропических растений, а в 1921-м почти вся оранжерея замерзла, растения погибли. Однако в 1924 году сад начали восстанавливать члены научного кружка "Любители природы". В то же время в нем появились первые животные – волчонок, два лебедя, орел-могильник. В 1925 году открылся зоосад, а в 1931-м сад со зверинцем были официально объединены в Казанский зооботанический сад. В 1937-1952 годах его филиал работал прямо в центре города, на улице Баумана. Зооботсад не прекращал работать и в годы Великой Отечественной войны, когда сюда эвакуировали животных из Ленинградского зоопарка.

Сейчас в Зооботсаде живет около 4000 животных более 160 видов и произрастает около 6000 растений более 1000 видов. Среди обитателей парка – лисы, медведи, львы, тигры, бегемот, белки, верблюды, волки, дикобразы, ежи, зебры, леопарды, обезьяны, барсы, попугаи, грифы, казарки, лебеди, орлы, орланы, павлины, пеликаны, вараны, василиски, гекконы, змеи, игуаны, кайманы, крокодилы, питоны.

Дети могут покататься на пони, поучаствовать в квесте "Разведка в Зоопарке", посетить контактный зоопарк "Лукоморье", сфотографироваться в оранжерее и с животными.

Ильнар Тухбатов/ТАСС

В первом в Татарстане океанариуме обитают скаты, морской котик, игуаны, пингвины, акулы, крокодилы, лебеди, 130-летняя черепаха, – всего более 3000 видов животных. Для юных посетителей периодически устраивают конкурсы и познавательные игры, а также розыгрыши пригласительных билетов в океанариум, достаточно подписаться на новости океанариума или вступить в группу в социальной сети "ВКонтакте".

× Цирки и зоопарки
Открыть карту