Museums

Similar museums had proved a success in Moscow and Saint Petersburg before the idea to exhibit video game machines from a not-so-distant past reached Kazan. You can play Sniper, Table Basketball, or have a glass of soda from an authentic classic soda fountain here. Unlike its Moscow and Saint Petersburg counterparts, the Kazan museum hosts all kinds of retro events: fairs, slide film shows, and master classes in handcrafts.

Egor Aleev/TASS

Prepare to take a lot of photos in the Illusions Museum. People come here to have their 3D photos taken balancing on a rope high above the city, aboard the Titanic, or sitting on the iron throne from the Game of Thrones. As an exciting segue to your photo shoot with optical illusions, visit the Giant's House with humongous furniture and tableware. You can get inside a teacup or walk into the oven.

Egor Aleev/TASS

Opened in August 2005, this museum covers astronomy, mineralogy, the genesis of the Earth, paleontology, history, and evolution of the vertebrates, including dinosaurs – naturally with lots of exhibits, images and large dinosaur replicas. The museum is the home of Piligrim natural science club. The little visitors love the enhanced-reality Ice Age installation, where you get to see yourself standing next to a living 3D baby mammoth, king rabbit and sabre-toothed tiger.

Egor Aleev/TASS

The Planetarium is located on the grounds of the University Astronomical Observatory outside the city. It opened in June 2013.  

The observatory itself dates back to 1901. It bears the name of astronomy doctor Vasily Engelgardt, who donated all his astronomical equipment and a hefty sum of money to the university. They have been observing the stars for over a century here, without interrupting their observations even during the Great Patriotic War.

The Planetarium has much to offer: educational scientific programmes, popular science films and a study of stars and constellations with the aid of an optical mechanical projector. Visitors are also welcome to gaze at the stars through the world's largest refracting telescope, which is over 100 years old, or sign up for an interactive tour, which takes in such curios as the high-frequency Tesla coil, a mini replica of the Earth, and a company of dancing robots.

The Planetarium is growing and expanding. It is soon to get an interactive learning system and an astropark with a multitude of edifying amusements, including the use of a Foucault Pendulum to obtain proof that the Earth goes round, or a ride that makes you feel like you are on the surface of the Moon.

Музеи

После успешного запуска подобных музеев в Москве и Санкт-Петербурге экспозиция автоматов из недавнего прошлого добралась до Казани. Здесь можно не только попробовать себя в роли снайпера или настольного баскетболиста и попить газировки из "того самого автомата". В отличие от столичных аналогов, в казанском музее проводятся разные ретро-мероприятия – ярмарки, показы диафильмов и мастер-классы по изготовлению поделок.

Егор Алеев/ТАСС

В Музее иллюзий надо фотографироваться, именно за этим сюда и ходят, чтобы запечатлеть себя в формате 3D на канате над городом, на борту "Титаника" или на железном троне из "Игры престолов". Дополнение к иллюзорной фотосессии – Дом великана с гигантской посудой и огромной мебелью. Можно залезть в чайную чашку или зайти внутрь духовки.

Егор Алеев/ТАСС

Открытый в августе 2005 года музей рассказывает об астрономии, минералогии, происхождении Земли, палеонтологии, истории и эволюции позвоночных, включая динозавров, разумеется, со множеством экспонатов, изображений и больших фигур ящеров. Также здесь работает естественнонаучный кружок "Пилигрим". Маленьким посетителям очень нравится инсталляция с использованием технологии дополненной реальности "Ледниковый период", в которой можно увидеть себя рядом с ожившими трехмерным мамонтенком, королевским кроликом и саблезубым тигром.

Егор Алеев/ТАСС

Планетарий расположен за городом, на территории университетской астрономической обсерватории. Открылся он в июне 2013 года.

Сама же обсерватория начала работу в 1901 году. Названа она в честь доктора астрономии Василия Энгельгардта, который подарил университету серьезную сумму и свое оборудование. За звездами здесь наблюдают уже больше века, исследования не прекращались даже во время Великой Отечественной войны.

В планетарии показывают научно-образовательные программы, научно-популярные фильмы и звездное небо (при помощи оптико-механического проектора). Можно понаблюдать небосвод в телескопы (скажем, в самый большой в мире рефракторный – ему более 100 лет) или пройти интерактивную экскурсию, изучая высокочастотную катушку Тесла, уменьшенную копию Земли, танцующих роботов. 

Планетарий развивается и расширяется – скоро здесь появится интерактивный учебно-познавательный комплекс, астропарк со множеством научных аттракционов, где можно будет, например, при помощи маятника Фуко убедиться, что Земля действительно вращается, или представить себя на Луне.