Historical landmarks

Yegor Aleyev/TASS
The monument to Musa Dzhalil on the square near the Kremlin's Spasskaya Tower was unveiled on November 3, 1966. Authors of the 8-meter (26-feet) statue are sculptor Vladimir Tsigal and architect Lev Golubovsky.

The Tatar poet Musa Dzhalil was born in 1906. As World War II began, he went to the front, where in 1942 he got badly wounded in the chest, was captured, and joined the Idel-Ural Legion (a Wehrmacht division, which united the Tatars, Bashkirs, Chuvash, Mordovians, Mari, and Udmurt) and organized there an underground group together with a secret service agent Gainan Kurmashev and other military. As he spoke in German camps, he linked separate groups of anti-fascists, recruited new members, organized prisoner escapes. In August 1943, Dzhalil and ten members of his group were arrested, and on August 25, 1944, they were executed at the Plötzensee Prison in Berlin. At the same time, in the USSR, the poet was considered a traitor and the enemy’s accomplice. His posthumous fate changed as former prisoners and members of the resistance gave his verses from Moabites to the Soviet Writers Union. Dzhalil's poems were published for the first time in the Novy Mir magazine in 1953 – from that time begins the process of his public rehabilitation: in 1956, he was posthumously awarded the title of the Soviet Union's Hero, and in 1957 he won the Lenin Prize.

50 years after the execution, was unveiled a bass-relief with names of the group's other members – Gainan Kurmashev, Abdulla Alish, Fuat Seifulmulyukov, Fuat Bulatov, Garif Shabayev, Ahmet Simayev, Abdulla Battalov, Zinnat Khasanov, Akhat Atnashev, and Salim Bukharov.
Yegor Aleyev/TASS
Here is also a Monument to Philanthropist – an elderly man leading a horse harnessed to a cart, in which children are sitting. The sculpture by Asiya Minnullina and Andrey Balashov captued Asgat Galimzyanov – one of the most famousr and respected persons in Tatarstan. He was born in 1936, after service in the armed forces he worked in the police, and then became a driver at the Kazan farm market. As he was selling fattened cattle, he spent all the received money to help orphanages in Tatarstan, Chuvashia and Bashkortostan and clients in nursing homes. He helped people after the earthquake in Armenia's Spitak, and those who suffered from the Chernobyl disaster. In 2010, he gave his apartment in the centre of Kazan to migrants from Kazakhstan and returned to live in the uncomfortable wooden house near the Kazan market place. Back in the Soviet times, Asgat Galimzyanov was awarded the Order of Red Banner of Labor, and in 2007 he won the Saint Andrew prize "For Faith and Loyalty."
Yegor Aleyev/TASS
It is one of the biggest squares in Russia (about 90,000 square metres (968,751 square feet)). The square was built in 1999-2002 after outdated houses were removed from the area. To 2005, it was called the Fair Square (Tashayak in Tatar – repeating the name of the old street, which used to be there), and in the year of Kazan's millennium, it was renamed to be the Millennium Square. From time to time it hosts car races, concerts, New Year celebrations and other holidays, and then the square gets a stage, spectator stands and thousands of participants. At other times, the square is perfect for photography: the Kremlin, the circus, the Pyramid cultural and entertainment center, Bulak, beginning of Kremlyovskaya Naberezhnaya (Kremlyovskaya Embankment) – great views of all sightseeing attractions in Kazan.
Yegor Aleyev/TASS
This was the name of the mosque that once stood inside the walls of Khan's Kremlin. According to historical records, it was a majestic building, and it boasted a large library. Some historians maintain that the mosque was named Kul Sharif in honour of a mid-16th-century Kazan Imam who was a descendant of the Prophet Muhammad. The mosque was destroyed by the fire that engulfed the city when it was besieged and captured by the troops of Ivan the Terrible in 1552.

The construction commenced on a new mosque in 1997 and was completed in 2005. The podium on which the mosque rests (as many as 10,000 people can fit in there at the same time) is a great place for a panoramic photo shoot.

The monumental building – a reflection of the local architect's modern interpretation of Tatar architectural tradition – is large enough to accommodate 1,500 people. It is just as impressive inside with its stained glass panels, mosaic ornaments, gold-plated artwork, mouldings, the giant Bohemian glass chandelier and Persian carpets. In addition to the prayer room, there is an Islamic Culture Museum inside, which looks back on the conversion of the Volga Tatars to Islam, and the fortunes of Islam in the region over a time-span of more than a thousand years. There are numerous editions of the Quran on display, including an interactive "self-flipping" Quran.
Yegor Aleyev/TASS
The 58-meter (190-foot) seven-storied patrol tower of the Kazan Kremlin is leaning like the tower in Pisa: it deviates from the vertical by 1.98 metre (6 feet). There have been great discussions of how it was built. The current version is that it happened in the XVII century, although history experts still continue arguing. It is a well-known fact that in its place used to be the Khan's tower (and this is confirmed by the excavations), a mosque and a tomb. In the XIX century, local historians began to call it in honor of Queen Suyumbike, a daughter of Nogai Murza Yunus, the ruler of the Khanate of Kazan in 1549-1551, the wife of three Khans – Dzhan-Ali, Safa Girey and Shah Ali. Legends related to her are still alive. One of them says Suyumbike was the one who built the tower – in memory of Safa-Girey. Another legend says the tower was built by Ivan the Terrible, in line with a request from Suyumbike, who later on jumped off the tower. What is certainly true – is that the tower is a symbol of Kazan, like the Eiffel Tower in Paris or the Tower in London.
× Historical landmarks
Open map

Исторические места

Егор Алеев/ТАСС
Памятник Мусе Джалилю на площади у Спасской башни Кремля был установлен 3 ноября 1966 года. Авторы восьмиметровой статуи – скульптор Владимир Цигаль и архитектор Лев Голубовский.

Татарский поэт Муса Джалиль родился в 1906 году. С началом Великой Отечественной войны ответственный секретарь Союза писателей Татарской АССР Муса Джалиль ушел на фронт, в 1942 году был тяжело ранен в грудь, попал в плен, где вступил в легион "Идель-Урал" (подразделение Вермахта, собранное из татар, башкир, чувашей, мордвы, марийцев, удмуртов) и организовал в ней подпольную группу вместе с разведчиком Гайнаном Курмашевым и другими военными. Выступая в немецких лагерях, он связывал разрозненные группы антифашистов, вербовал новых участников, устраивал побеги заключенных. В августе 1943 года Джалиль и десять членов группы были арестованы, а 25 августа 1944 года казнены в тюрьме Плётцензее в Берлине. При этом в СССР поэта считали изменником и пособником врагу. Его посмертную судьбу изменили стихи из Моабита, которые в Союз писателей передали бывшие военнопленные и участники сопротивления. Впервые строки из тетрадей Джалиля были опубликованы в журнале "Новый мир" в 1953 году – с этого начался процесс публичной реабилитации поэта: в 1956 году он был посмертно удостоен звания Героя Советского Союза, а в 1957 году получил звание лауреата Ленинской премии.

Барельеф с именами других участников группы – Гайнана Курмашева, Абдуллы Алиша, Фуата Сайфульмулюкова, Фуата Булатова, Гарифа Шабаева, Ахмета Симаева, Абдуллы Батталова, Зинната Хасанова, Ахата Атнашева и Салима Бухарова – появился в 1994 году, спустя 50 лет после казни.
Здесь же стоит памятник Благотворителю – пожилой человек ведет под узцы лошадь, запряженную в телегу, в которой сидят дети. В скульптурной композиции Асии Миннуллиной и Андрея Балашова запечатлен Асгат Галимзянов – один из самых известных и уважаемых в Татарстане людей. Он родился в 1936 году, после армии работал в милиции, а потом устроился возчиком на Казанский колхозный рынок. Откармливал скот в своем подсобном хозяйстве, а все вырученные деньги передавал в детские дома Татарстана, Чувашии и Башкортостана, в дома престарелых. Помогал пострадавшим от землетрясения в армянском Спитаке, жертвам аварии на Чернобыльской АЭС. В 2010 году отдал свою квартиру в центре Казани переселенцам из Казахстана и вернулся в деревянный неблагоустроенный дом неподалеку от казанского рынка. Еще в советское время Асгата Галимзянова наградили орденом Трудового Красного Знамени, а в 2007 году он получил премию Андрея Первозванного "За Веру и Верность".
Егор Алеев/ТАСС
Одна из крупнейших площадей в России (около 90 тысяч квадратных метров) построена в 1999–2002 годах, после сноса ветхих зданий. До 2005 года она носила название Ярмарочной (Ташаяк – в честь древней улицы на ее месте), а в год празднования казанского миллениума стала площадью Тысячелетия. Время от времени она превращается в пространство для автогонок, концертов, новогодних елок и других праздников, и тогда здесь появляются сцены, трибуны и тысячи зрителей. В остальное время это отличная точка фотосъемки: Кремль, цирк, культурно-развлекательный центр "Пирамида", Булак, начало Кремлевской набережной – все культовые казанские места как на ладони.
58-метровая дозорная семиярусная башня в казанском кремле сродни Пизанской – она тоже падающая: отклоняется от вертикали на 1,98 метр. О том, когда она была построена, долго велись дискуссии. Нынешняя версия гласит, что это случилось в XVII веке, хотя споры историков не прекращаются. Известно, что на ее месте раньше стояла ханская башня (и это подтверждают раскопки), мечеть и усыпальница. В XIX веке местные краеведы стали называть ее в честь царицы Сююмбике, дочери ногайского мурзы Юнуса, правительницы Казанского ханства в 1549-1551 годы, жены трех ханов – Джан-Али, Сафа-Гирея и Шах-Али. Также живы связанные с ней легенды. По одной именно Сююмбике ее и построила – в память о Сафа-Гирее. Согласно другой легенде, возвел ярусы Иван Грозный по просьбе Сююмбике, которая потом сбросилась с нее. Что безусловно верно – так это то, что башня является символом Казани, таким же, как Эйфелева в Париже или Тауэр в Лондоне.
Егор Алеев/ТАСС
Так называлась существовавшая в ханской крепости мечеть, известная не только красотой, но и внушительной библиотекой. По одной из версий, имя она получила от казанского имама, потомка пророка Мухаммеда, жившего в середине XVI века. Мечеть погибла в огне при взятии города войсками Ивана Грозного в 1552 году.

Новую начали возводить в 1996 году и завершили в 2005-м. С площадки, на которой стоит мечеть (здесь может разместиться до десяти тысяч человек), получаются хорошие панорамные фото.

Монументальное здание, отразившее современный взгляд местных архитекторов на татарские архитектурные традиции, рассчитано на 1500 человек. Не менее внушительно оно внутри: цветные витражи, мозаика, позолота, лепнина, огромная чешская люстра, иранские ковры. Кроме молельного зала, здесь расположен Музей исламской культуры, в котором рассказывается о том, как поволжские татары приняли ислам, и какова была его судьба в регионе в течение тысячи с лишним лет. Также здесь можно увидеть множество изданий Корана, включая интерактивный "Листающийся Коран".