Museums

Egor Aleev/TASS

The museum was founded in 1958 on the basis of the State Museum of the Tatarstan Soviet Socialist Republic, which brought together works from the collection of the Kazan local historian and archaeologist of the second half of the 19th century Andrey Likhachev: pictures by Vasily Tropinin, Ivan Aivazovsky, Vasily Perov and Ivan Shishkin. Later, works by Ilya Repin, Alexandre Benois and Boris Kustodiev were added to the collection.

Today, the SMFA collection comprises over 25,000 works, including paintings, graphic works, sculptures and decorative and applied art pieces. Specifically, these include European engravings, Old Russian icon-painting of the 16th century, Russian Avant Garde works from the beginning of the 20th century, and a rich collection of works by the artists of Tatarstan.

The museum moved to its building on Ulitsa Karla Marksa (Karla Marksa Street) in 1967. The building is worthy of attention in its own right as a historic site. At the beginning of the 20th century, the commander of the forces of the Kazan Military District, Alexander Sandetsky, lived here. Born in Vilna (now Vilnius), Sandetsky dedicated 40 years of his life to the army, serving in the Western Siberian Military District, the Caucasus and Transbaikalia. Having come to the Kazan province, he only left it briefly during World War I to command the forces of the Moscow Military District. He then returned to Kazan, where he remained right up until he was shot by the Bolsheviks in 1918. The mansion, with its courtyard, annex, stables and park was built especially for his arrival in 1907 and was financed by the Russian Ministry of War. The house was decorated with Persian carpets, rifles and pistols, and adjutants scurried about the stairs and passageways carrying papers. Following the Revolution, a tuberculosis clinic was set up here. As a result, prior to the museum being moved to the building, in order to entirely remove any remaining mold and dust, the internal finishing of the walls was replaced, with much of the historic decorative plastering being lost in the process.

Since 2007, every year an international festival of improvised music is held in the courtyard, Jazz at the Sandetsky Mansion. The festival was founded by the museum's director, Rozalia Nurgaleyeva, and jazz singer Olga Skepner.

The Centre was opened in 2005, but its history dates back to 1997, to a joint project of the State Hermitage (Saint Petersburg) and the Republic of Tatarstan – it was then that an exhibition titled the Treasures of Khan Kubrat was opened. The fully-fledged Hermitage Centre was opened to mark Kazan's millennium celebrations. The Centre is housed in the southern half of the third floor of the former Cadets' Institute in the Kazan Kremlin. It began exhibiting to the public with an exhibition titled "The Golden Horde. History and Culture."

Works by French Impressionists, as well as paintings, sculptures and graphic works from the 17th-20th centuries were brought here from the Petersburg Hermitage's collection. Muslim art is also featured: a major event at the Centre was a joint project with London's Victoria and Albert Museum, an exhibition of works by the finalists of the V&A Jameel Prize, an international modern art and design competition inspired by Islamic traditions. Exhibitions by contemporary artists are by no means a rarity here.

Fascinating educational evenings are often held in the lecture hall, where diverse aspects of art are discussed, from Egyptian frescoes to the Banksy phenomenon. Discussions with the participation of art experts are also regularly hosted.

Egor Aleev/TASS

In the 1990s, the museum's founder, the photographer and designer Rustem Valiakhmetov, was an active collector of the relics of the Soviet era. Visiting him on one occasion, the musician Andrey Makarevich remarked, "This is not just a studio, this is a real museum!" and gave him his jeans. This article of clothing was of special significance in the late-Soviet era – the owner of a pair of jeans, a garment that was in extreme deficit at the time, immediately garnered the respect of "non-formal" youngsters, and a musician appearing in jeans was essentially issuing a challenge to the established cultural hierarchy. Following the "jeans" contribution to the future exhibition, other Russian stars, from Garik Sukachov to Sergey Shnurov, followed suit. As a result, in the winter of 2011, an exhibition titled "Jeans as a Cult" was held at the Museum of Fine Arts. In August of 2011, the museum opened in a building built in the mid-19th century, in a former communal apartment that was once home to 20 people.

The exhibition features all manner of artifacts from the Soviet epoch: homemade guitars, posters, books, newspapers, school accessories, clothing, toys, badges and household implements. This is a huge antiques store in which parents can recall their childhood and youth, and talk about the past with their own children. The collection is regularly being added to, not least because a series of rock stars have been invited to the museum and they always contribute items of real worth. Concerts are sometimes staged on the first floor.

Egor Aleev/TASS

For many centuries, Islamic culture has been enriching the religious variety and wealth of the Russian state. In Kazan, where several religions have been co-existing over hundreds of years, this is perhaps more strikingly evident than anywhere else. In the Kazan Kremlin, for example, side by side stand the Annunciation Cathedral and the Kul Sharif Mosque. The latter is not only the Republic's main mosque – on its ground floor, since February of 2006, it has housed a museum where you can learn in detail about how Islam developed among the Turkic-Tartar peoples of the Volga and Ural regions, from the declaration of Islam as the state religion of the Bulgar Khanate in 922 right up to the modern era.

A central place in the exhibition is taken by the interactive "self-flipping" Quran which allows visitors to really get to know this sacred artifact. You can also see copies of manuscripts and modern publications of the Quran, and view a three-dimensional installation titled "The Kazan Kremlin in the 15th-21th Centuries." Visitors are told about the five pillars of Islam, shown what the interior of the study of the Tartar enlightener Shigabutdin Marjani looked like, and introduced to Tartar women's struggle for rights.

× Museums
Open map

Музеи

Егор Алеев/ТАСС

Музей возник в 1958 году на основе картинной галереи Государственного музея ТаССР – в ней были собраны работы из коллекции казанского краеведа и археолога второй половины XIX века Андрея Лихачева: картины Василия Тропинина, Ивана Айвазовского, Василия Перова и Ивана Шишкина. Позже появились работы Ильи Репина, Александра Бенуа, Бориса Кустодиева.

Ныне в собрании ГМИИ более 25 тысяч произведений, включая живопись, графику, скульптуры, образцы декоративно-прикладного искусства. Это, в частности, европейская гравюра, древнерусская иконопись XVI века, русский авангард начала ХХ века, а также богатая коллекция художников Татарстана.

В здание на улице Карла Маркса музей переехал в 1967 году. Эта усадьба сама по себе заслуживает внимания как исторический объект. В начале XX века здесь жил командующий войсками Казанского военного округа Александр Сандецкий. Родившийся под Вильной (ныне Вильнюс) Сандецкий 40 лет отдал армии: служил в Западно-Сибирском военном округе, на Кавказе, в Забайкалье. Приехав в Казанскую губернию, он ненадолго покинул ее во время Первой мировой войны, руководил войсками Московского военного округа, вернулся в Казань, где пробыл вплоть до расстрела большевиками в 1918-м. Усадьбу с двориком, флигелем, конюшней и парком построили специально к его приезду в 1907-м на средства военного министерства. Дом украшали персидские ковры, ружья, пистолеты, а по лестницам сновали адъютанты с бумагами. После революции здесь размещался туберкулезный диспансер, поэтому перед переездом музея, чтобы полностью избавиться от плесени и пыли, здесь заменили внутреннюю отделку стен, в том числе убрали историческую лепнину.

С 2007 года каждое лето в саду проходит международный фестиваль импровизационной музыки на открытом воздухе "Jazz в усадьбе Сандецкого", придуманный директором музея Розалией Нургалеевой и джазовой певицей Ольгой Скепнер.

Центр открылся в 2005 году, но его история началась в 1997-м, во время совместного проекта Государственного Эрмитажа (Санкт-Петербург) и Республики Татарстан – тогда открылась выставка "Сокровища хана Кубрата". Полноценный Эрмитажный центр открыли к тысячелетию Казани. Он разместился в южной половине третьего этажа бывшего юнкерского училища в Казанском кремле, а выставочную жизнь начал с экспозиции "Золотая Орда. История и культура".

Из коллекции петербургского Эрмитажа сюда привозили французских импрессионистов, а также итальянскую живопись, скульптуру и графику XVII-XX века. Также представлено мусульманское искусство: заметным событием стал совместный проект с лондонским Музеем Виктории и Альберта – экспозиция финалистов V&A Jameel Prize, международного конкурса современного искусства и дизайна, вдохновленного исламской традицией. Нередки и выставки современных художников.

В лекционном зале часто проходят познавательные вечера, где рассказывают о самых разных явлениях искусства – от египетских фресок до феномена Бэнкси. Здесь же проводятся дискуссии с участием арт-экспертов.

Егор Алеев/ТАСС

В 1990-е годы основатель музея – фотограф и дизайнер Рустем Валиахметов – активно собирал реликвии советской эпохи. Как-то к нему в гости зашел музыкант Андрей Макаревич и заявил: "Это не просто студия, это настоящий музей!" – и подарил свои джинсы. Этот предмет одежды имел особое значение в позднесоветское время: обладатель джинсов – дефицитного тогда товара – пользовался уважением "неформальной" молодежи, а музыкант, выступавший в джинсах, бросал вызов культурному начальству. Позже "джинсовый" вклад в будущую экспозицию сделали другие российские звезды – от Гарика Сукачева до Сергея Шнурова. В результате зимой 2011 года в музее изобразительных искусств прошла выставка "Джинсы как культ". А в августе 2011 года открылся музей – в здании, построенном в середине ХIХ века, в бывшей коммунальной квартире на 20 человек.

В экспозиции – всевозможные артефакты советской эпохи: самодельные гитары, афиши, книги, газеты, школьные принадлежности, одежда, игрушки, значки, бытовые приборы. Это огромная антикварная лавка, в которой родители могут вспомнить детство и юность и рассказать о прошлом детям. Коллекция регулярно пополняется – в частности, практически всех звезд рок-музыки приглашают в музей, а они что-то дарят ему. На втором этаже иногда организуются концерты.

Егор Алеев/ТАСС

На протяжении многих столетий исламская культура обогащает религиозное многообразие российского государства. В Казани, где издавна сосуществуют несколько религий, это проявляется ярче всего. В Кремле, например, рядом стоят Благовещенский собор и мечеть Кул Шариф. Последняя не только главная пятничная мечеть республики. В ее цокольном этаже с февраля 2006 года работает музей. Здесь можно подробно узнать о том, как развивался ислам у тюрко-татарских народов Поволжья и Приуралья: от провозглашения в Булгарском ханстве государственной религией в 922 году до современности.

Центральное место в экспозиции занимает интерактивный "Листающийся Коран", который дает возможность посетителям в полной мере познакомиться с этой святыней. Кроме того, здесь можно увидеть факсимиле рукописей и современные издания Корана, посмотреть на трехмерную инсталляцию "Казанский Кремль в XV-XXI веках". Посетителям рассказывают о пяти столпах Ислама, показывают, как выглядел интерьер кабинета татарского просветителя Шигабутдина Марджани, знакомят с историей борьбы татарских женщин за свои права.