Coffee houses and confectionaries

Alexander Zelikov / TASS

Coffeemania Restaurant chain always presents high-quality coffee (the baristas personally travel around the world, visiting plantations in search for the best coffee beans) and breakfasts. You can get potato pancakes with salmon and fresh herbs, vanilla-scented cream cheese fritters, grilled sausages, crepes with cottage cheese, and millet porridge with pumpkin.

At lunch, the place is swarmed with businessmen who order rib eye steak with quinoa, veal with chanterelles, catfish with baked vegetables, venison with kale-turnip, sterlet fish soup, or crab cakes with wild rice. On the weekends, regular customers change their suits for sweaters, and bring their wives and children for brunch. Children's menu has nutritious turkey meatballs, Mickey Mouse hamburger, and crepes with condensed milk. The wives usually choose tomato and cilantro smoothies and fresh yogurt with granola, maple syrup and berries.

Alexander Zelikov / TASS

The chain of Double B coffee shops was established by true perfectionists in love with coffee. The chain's baristas (the winners of many international competitions) personally visit coffee plantations to observe all stages of production: from growing and harvesting to roasting and grinding. Only the very best varieties of coffee end up on the menu. If you like the beans that were used to make your coffee drink, you can buy them to go. Baristas use different methods of coffee brewing, but orders for "slow coffee," made by chemex, aeropress, or hario methods, are among the most popular. You can also get a regular coffee or a latte, both with or without syrups. Keep in mind that there is nothing but coffee here. Sometimes, the menu may have some porridge or powerbars, but most of the time, coffee is the protagonist here.

Alexander Zelikov / TASS

People in the United States joke that the omnipresent Starbucks chain can be found even in outer space. The American coffee house is popular in Moscow too. Although the coffee is average, there is a large variety of sweet coffee drinks, such as caramel macchiato, mint mocha and gingerbread latte, all crowned with a heap of whipped cream.

A great way to accompany coffee are the sweets: Triple Chocolate cake, raspberry and white chocolate cheesecakes, and Danish pastries with berries and pastry cream. In the mornings, blueberry muffins and granola with yogurt and berry sauce are a good idea. Or you can opt for a healthier alternative in the form of thin Dutch caramel waffles or fruit salad.

Alexander Zelikov / TASS

Soft and fluffy blueberry pancakes, poached eggs with asparagus and pecorino cheese, giant bowls with porridge, hot strawberries and bananas, toast with cream cheese, honey, banana and blueberries – if you go to I Love Cake, come prepared for huge portions. Breakfasts are served from morning till night, so even if you wake up late, you can still get the best meal of the day. The lunch menu includes salads and sandwiches, which are also large and hearty: with chicken and pine nuts, with baked salmon and avocado, or with Parma ham, mozarella and pesto.

Alexander Zelikov / TASS

Max Brenner chain was created by Israeli chocolatiers and had quickly spread around the world, completely missing Europe for some reason. Max Brenner café in Russia is the first on the European continent, and its quality is on par with other establishments of this chain. The menu offers several dozen types of chocolate and chocolate dishes. Dieters would do well to avoid it, but children and sugar hounds will be ecstatic: waffles with chocolate, ice cream and fruit, crepes with chocolate and peanut butter, hot chocolate and cocktails (try the ones with salted caramel and Oreo cookies), lava cake and even chocolate pizza with berries. There is also a small breakfast menu where bread in sandwiches is replaced with waffles.

Alexander Zelikov / TASS

The Wolkonsky boulangerie chain first appeared in Moscow in 2005, created by Parisians Stéphanie and Alexandre Garese. Fresh croissants, crisp baguettes, eclairs (try the pistachio one!) are all top of the line. The bakeries are constantly expanding their menu, adding detox drinks, or re-imagining their breakfasts. There is also a subsidiary chain Wolkonsky Near Home. These are smaller cafés with shorter menus, but you can always get a coffee and almond croissant to go without any sacrifices in quality.

Alexander Zelikov / TASS

Twenty years ago, the Coffee Bean chain was one of Moscow's first coffee shops, and even then, long before smoking was banned from the restaurants and cafés, the chain's cafés were off limits to smokers, because the owners did not want to spoil the taste of coffee.

Today, visitors to these cafés are more like friends than clients. Many come here in the mornings with their laptops, and the staff, having already learned their preferences, serves them regular coffee with huge cookies. The cookie selection is quite impressive: there are oatmeal and peanut butter cookies, biscotti and double-decker cookies with white and dark chocolate. If you are looking for something more substantial, you can order a savory strudel with spinach or chicken, or a quiche with salmon or tomatoes with mozzarella.


Alexander Zelikov / TASS

Ice cream selection at this gelateria chain would make Italy proud: throughout the year, you can taste 57 varieties of gelato and a dozen sorbets. Gelato tastes depend on seasons and ingredients, and the vivacious ice cream vendor Sergio, a world gelato champion imported to Russia from San Gimignano, constantly comes up with new ones.

Gelato varieties are named after popular tourist destinations. Moscow is an extra rich creamy ice cream, while Palermo is a lemon sorbet. Visitors are given waffle cones piled with gelato balls. You can take it out, or have a seat, order a cup of coffee, and eat the sweets at a leisurely pace.

Alexander Zelikov / TASS

Everything at Granvillano Caffè is done in the grand Italian style. The coffee shop is named in honour of its chief barista Andrea Granvillano. He has been making coffee for more than 15 years, and now wants to teach the Muscovites all about the Italian coffee culture. Just like in Italy, you will be judged for ordering a cappuccino after midday, and the staff will do their best to explain that the only proper evening drink is an espresso with a glass of water on the side.

In addition to the coffee itself, there is an impressive book-crossing library, fast internet access, which makes the cafe a good co-working space, regular lectures and workshops (mostly about coffee). Plus, you can buy excellent presents: different varieties of coffee, coffee cookies that look like coffee beans, and chocolate chips that taste like coffee, all prepackaged in fancy sachets.

Кофейни и кондитерские

Александр Зеликов/ТАСС

Сеть ресторанов "Кофемания" – это всегда качественный кофе (за эспрессо, пикколо и флэт-уайт отвечают баристы, которые лично ездят по всему миру и отбирают лучшие сорта кофе на плантациях) и завтраки – драники подают тут с лососем и зеленью, также представлены ванильные сырники, колбаски на гриле, блины с творогом, пшенная каша с тыквой.

На обед сюда приходят занятые предприниматели и заказывают рибай, стейк с киноа, телятину с лисичками, каракатицу с печеными овощами, оленину с кольраби, стерляжью уху или крабовые котлетки с диким рисом. А в выходные завсегдатаи меняют строгие пиджаки на свитера и приводят на бранч жен и детей. В детском меню безусловно полезные котлетки из индейки, гамбургер "Микки Маус" и блинчики со сгущенным молоком. А для жен – смузи из томата и кинзы и йогурты с гранолой, кленовым сиропом и ягодами.

Александр Зеликов/ТАСС

Сеть кофеен "ДаблБи" открыли истинные перфекционисты от мира кофе. Баристы (призеры многих международных конкурсов) лично ездят по плантациям и следят за всеми этапами производства: от выращивания и сбора кофе до обжарки и помола. В ассортимент кофейни включаются только лучшие сорта. Любые зерна, из которых здесь готовят напитки, можно купить на развес. Способов заварки кофе здесь знают немало: одно из самых любимых направлений – так называемый "медленный кофе", приготовленный методами кемекс, аэропресс и харио. Обычные латте и американо тоже есть: терпкие классические или с добавлением различных сиропов. Кроме кофе здесь нет ничего. Иногда появляются питательные батончики и каши, но не особо часто – кофе здесь самый главный персонаж.

Александр Зеликов/ТАСС

Про вездесущую сеть "Старбакс" на его родине шутят, что он есть даже в космосе. Американские кофейни прижились и в Москве – хоть кофе здесь и среднестатистический, зато масса его сладких производных: карамельный маккиато, мятный мокка, имбирно-пряничный латте, увенчанные шапкой взбитых сливок.

В качестве аккомпанемента к кофе можно брать сладости: торт "Тройной шоколад", чизкейки (с малиной и белым шоколадом) и дэниши с ягодами и заварным кремом. Утром – черничные маффины и гранола: щедрая порция йогурта с мюсли и ягодным соусом. В качестве здоровой альтернативы можно взять голландские тонкие вафли с карамелью или фруктовый салат.

Александр Зеликов/ТАСС

Чтобы приобщиться к гастрономическим шедеврам Дамьена Пищионери, вовсе не обязательно проводить время в "большом" кафе "Пушкинъ" – достаточно заглянуть в кондитерскую. Выпечка здесь сделана по самым лучшим и проверенным рецептам: эклеры, торт "Прага", лимонные меренги, мильфей, медовик, "Наполеон" – все стоит попробовать. Лучше сразу брать набор для дегустации.

Александр Зеликов/ТАСС

Пышные воздушные блинчики с черникой, обстоятельные яйца пашот со спаржей и пекорино, гигантские плошки с кашей, горячей клубникой и бананом, тосты с медом, сыром "Филадельфия", бананом и голубикой – заходя в I Love Cake, надо быть готовым к огромным порциям. Завтраки подают здесь целый день, поэтому отлично поесть удастся и ранним пташкам, и полуночникам. В обеденном меню – салаты и сэндвичи, не менее большие и сытные: с курицей и кедровыми орешками, с запеченным лососем и авокадо или с пармской ветчиной, моцареллой и соусом песто.

Александр Зеликов/ТАСС

Сеть "Макс Бреннер" была придумана израильскими шоколатье и быстро распространилась по миру, правда, почему-то минуя Европу. Кафе "Макс Бреннер" в России – первое на континенте, качество тут ничуть не уступает другим заведениям сети: в меню несколько десятков видов шоколада и блюд из него. Тем, кто сидит на диете, лучше обходить это место стороной, зато для детей и сладкоежек здесь настоящее раздолье: вафли с шоколадом, мороженым и фруктами, блины с шоколадом и арахисовым маслом, горячий шоколад и шокотейли (одни из самых вкусных – с соленой карамелью и "Орео"), фондан и даже пицца с шоколадом и ягодами. Есть, впрочем, лаконичный раздел завтраков, где в сэндвичах вместо обычного хлеба – вафли.

Александр Зеликов/ТАСС

Пекарни "Волконский", где все сделано на французский манер, появились в Москве в 2005 году – сеть придумали парижане Стефани и Александр Гарез. Свежие круассаны, хрустящие багеты, эклеры (особенно фисташковый) здесь и правда пекут на высоком уровне. Пекарни постоянно расширяют меню: то введут в него детокс-напитки, то переосмыслят завтраки, добавив туда пышную и сытную булочку с яйцом, беконом, ветчиной и зеленью, а также салат из соевых ростков. Также работает дочерняя сеть "Волконский у дома". Эти кафе поменьше, меню в них покороче, зато можно на бегу перехватить кофе с миндальным круассаном и быть уверенным, что он будет таким же вкусным, как и в "старшем брате".

Александр Зеликов/ТАСС

Сеть кофеен Coffee Bean открылась в Москве одной из первых 20 лет назад, и уже тогда, задолго до появления антитабачного закона, в залах было запрещено курить – чтобы не перебивать вкус кофе.

Посетители здесь скорее друзья, чем клиенты: многие приходят сюда с ноутбуком на целый день, а баристы, уже выучив их вкус, несут американо с огромными печеньями. Печенье здесь самое разное: овсяное, арахисовое, бискотти, двойное с белым и темным шоколадом. А если захочется поесть поплотней, можно заказать штрудель со шпинатом или курицей или же киш с лососем или томатами и моцареллой.

Александр Зеликов/ТАСС

Выбор мороженого в сети этий джелатерий – как в Италии: в течение года можно попробовать 57 сортов джелато и с десяток шербетов. Сорта меняются в зависимости от сезона и наличия ингредиентов, а бодрый мороженщик Серджио, чемпион мира по мороженому, выписанный из Сан-Джиминьяно, придумывает новые прямо на ходу.

Сорта названы в честь популярных туристических городов: Москва – сливочный пломбир, а Палермо – лимонный сорбет. Сладкоежкам выдают вафельный рожок с громоздящимися шариками: его можно взять с собой, а можно с расстановкой съесть прямо за столиками, заказав еще кофе.

Александр Зеликов/ТАСС

В Granvillano все поставлено на широкую итальянскую ногу. Шеф-бариста, в честь которого и названа кофейня, – Андреа Гранвиллано. Баристой он работает более 15 лет и теперь старается приучить москвичей к итальянской кофейной культуре. Как и в Италии, здесь косо смотрят, если вы заказываете капуччино после полудня, и пытаются объяснить, что вечером – только эспрессо со стаканом воды.

Кроме самого кофе, тут есть обширная библиотека для бук-кроссинга, быстрый интернет (что делает кафе хорошим коворкингом), лекции и мастер-классы – преимущественно про кофе. Еще в Granvillano Caffè можно купить отличные подарки: кофе разных сортов, кофейное печенье в виде зерен кофе и шоколадные чипсы со вкусом кофе в нарядных пакетиках и с ленточками.

× Кофейни и кондитерские
Открыть карту