Observation decks

Pavel Novikov/Welcome2018.com

Nizhny Novgorod’s most spellbinding view opens from this embankment. You look out upon the Strelka (the spit at the confluence of the Oka and the Volga), the St. Alexander Nevsky Cathedral and the historical grounds of the Nizhny Novgorod Fair below. The statue of Soviet writer Maksim Gorky on Fedorovsky Embankment is considered one of the writer’s most elegiac images. Newlyweds like to come to Fedorovsky Embankment for their wedding photo shoots, judging by the profusion of little “happiness locks” on the pedestrian hang-bridge across the nearby ravine. Photographers generally favour this spot, what with the perfect, postcard quality shots you  get here. There’s a lot of kite launching going on here in summer.  

Pavel Novikov/Welcome2018.com

Grebeshok (or Crest) is the popular name given to the high Oka bank section between the Kanavino and Molitovka Bridges. This hill once was so broken through with ravines it looked like a rooster’s crest. Time has smoothed out the terrain, but the name has stuck. Tour buses never bring visitors here: they couldn’t even get here through the narrow lanes. But it’s well worth the trip to come here, in order to walk these old-fashioned curbs and appreciate the view of the Pokhvalinsky Slope, Annunciation Monastery, Kanavino Bridge, and the old neighbourhoods around the abandoned mill of the Bashkirov merchant family. 

Pavel Novikov/Welcome2018.com

The stele with the names of Nizhny Novgorod natives killed in action, and the Eternal Flame were installed inside the Kremlin in 1965 for the 20th anniversary of the victory in the Great Patriotic War. From here, you look out on the Strelka, the peaceful expanse beyond the Volga (Nizhny Novgorod suburb Bor is on the other side of the river), and the rooftops of Rozhdestvenskaya Ulitsa, once the city’s merchant main street.  

Pavel Novikov/Welcome2018.com

Kremlyovsky (Kremlin) Boulevard begins at the Valery Chkalov statue and stretches along the entire length of the Kremlin wall. The most scenic section of the boulevard begins at the Kladovaya Tower, on the high edge of the ravine above Zelensky Slope. Although this is the very centre of town, the spot looks semi-deserted even on town festival days. It’s as if the Kremlin wall hides you from the hustle and bustle of Minina Square. You can see the Strelka down below from the boulevard (it’s visible from almost every spot in the old town), and you can also see Zapochainye, the historical neighbourhood by the River Pochaina, which no longer exists: the golden onion domes, blocks of multicoloured homes… From around the Ivanovskaya Tower you can climb down to National Unity Square, and continue you walk down Rozhdestvenskaya Ulitsa.

Смотровые площадки

Павел Новиков/Welcome2018.com
С этой набережной открывается главный нижегородский вид – на Стрелку, место слияния Оки и Волги, собор Александра Невского и Нижегородскую ярмарку. На набережной установлен памятник писателю Максиму Горькому, считающийся одним из самых романтичных его образов. На набережную Федоровского любят приезжать молодожены для фотосессий (переброшенный рядом через овраг пешеходный мостик весь увешан замочками на счастье), и вообще у фотографов это одна из самых любимых точек – образцовые "открыточные" снимки получаются именно здесь. Летом на набережной запускают воздушных змеев.
Павел Новиков/Welcome2018.com
Гребешком называют высокий окский берег между Канавинским и Молитовским мостами. Когда-то эта гора была так изрезана оврагами, что походила на петушиный гребень. Время выровняло рельеф, а название осталось. Здесь не останавливаются туристические автобусы – узкими улочками им просто не проехать. Но прогуляться по старым тротуарам стоит, чтобы оценить вид на Похвалинский съезд, Благовещенский монастырь, Канавинский мост и старые районы города вокруг заброшенной мельницы купцов Башкировых.
Павел Новиков/Welcome2018.com
Стела с именами погибших воинов-нижегородцев и Вечный огонь появились в кремле в 1965 году, к 20-летию Победы в Великой Отечественной войне. Отсюда хорошо любоваться Стрелкой, умиротворяющими волжскими далями (на противоположном берегу – город-спутник Нижнего Новгорода Бор), а также смотреть с высоты на крыши некогда главной купеческой улицы Рождественской.
Павел Новиков/Welcome2018.com
Кремлевский бульвар тянется от памятника Валерию Чкалову вдоль всей кремлевской стены. Но самая живописная его часть начинается у Кладовой башни, на бровке оврага над Зеленским съездом. Несмотря на то что это самый центр города, здесь малолюдно даже во время городских праздников: кремлевская стена как будто прячет своих гостей от шума площади Минина. С бульвара открывается вид на Стрелку (ее видно в центре Нижнего практически отовсюду) и Започаинье – старинный район, где когда-то протекала речка Почайна: золотые маковки церквей, кварталы разноцветных домов... У Ивановской башни можно спуститься на площадь Народного Единства и продолжить прогулку по улице Рождественской.