The reaches beyond Volga

This tourist route runs approximately 180 kilometres (112 miles) through the north-west of Nizhny Novgorod Oblast. These picturesque landscapes are usually referred to as "zavolzhskie," or "beyond the Volga," as they are located to the east of the river. It is a great itinerary for a road trip, with two or more overnight stops. From Moscow, you can reach Gorodets by federal highway M7, turning left at the 390 kilometre mark towards Balakhna and taking local road R-152. You can use the latter to start your trip from Nizhny Novgorod itself. Another way to start this trip is to take a riverboat cruise from Nizhny Novgorod to Gorodets.

Yegor Aleyev/TASS
Gorodets is the oldest town in Nizhny Novgorod Oblast. The local museum quarter can be seen in an hour and boasts perfectly preserved old stone merchant houses and multicoloured peasant log cabins with chiselled wood carvings that look like something out of a fairy tale. Gorodets is the best place to buy souvenirs made by Nizhny Novgorod craftsmen. Nizhny Novgorod Oblast accounts for more than half of all Russian arts and crafts, and most of them are sold in the major City of Craftsmen Museum and Tourist Complex located on the Volga River embankment in Gorodets.
Igor Aleev/ТАSS
Along with souvenir shops and galleries, the wood cabins host workshops featuring Gorodets paintings, golden thread embroidery, painted clay toys, wood carvings and willow weaving. You can take a master class and make and paint your very own clay whistle. You can also try your hand at the potter's wheel or learn the basics of Gorodets painting.

The tea room is a good place for a snack: you will be offered fragrant tea with herbs and a local delicacy, Gorodets gingebread (pryanik). This local treat made with honey has been around for over 400 years. Today, the spice cakes (kovrizhka) and gingerbreads are made with different fillings, the most delicious of which are sweet condensed milk and walnuts. You can learn all about the recipes at an excursion.
Egor Aleev/TASS
There are two other small, but hospitable museums: the Museum of Goods and the Museum of Samovars. These museums house collections of peasant and merchant household tools and miscellaneous items. In July, Gorodets is especially crowded as it hosts the Brotherhood of Folk Craftsmen festival, which draws artisans from across the whole country.
Egor Aleev/TASS
You can choose one of the small, cosy hotels in Gorodets for your overnight stay and in the morning, continue on your way to the town of Semenov, which lies some 70 kilometres (43 miles) away. This is where Russia's most famous souvenirs – painted nesting dolls, or matryoshki - are made. Although Moscow Oblast is considered to be the birthplace of Russian matryoshka, the majority of these bright souvenirs are made in Semenov. The local hereditary craftsmen or, rather, craftswomen (as the factories are almost exclusively staffed by women) are virtuoso masters of the famous Khokhloma painting style. This style of painting, with its rich ornamentation and use of bright reds and golds, has been named in honour of the local Khokhloma village. The craftswomen of Semenov paint dishes, furniture, interior design items and even computer mice.

You can watch the painters at work at one of the local factories, where you will also have an opportunity to make your very own painted matryoshka or wooden spoon. Every year, during the third weekend of June, Semenov hosts the Golden Khokhloma Festival. The artisans always prepare something spectacular for the show, while the factories organise free tours.
Egor Aleev/ TASS
Fifty kilometres (31 miles) from Semenov you will find Svetloyar – a mysterious lake of unknown origin. Its basin is almost perfectly oval-shaped, while its clear water never becomes mouldy or overgrown with algae. Legend has it that at the bottom of the lake is the ancient town of Kitezh, which was submerged before the eyes of the Tatar conquerors who, upon seeing the miracle, retreated. They say that only the righteous can see the outline of the submerged town. A good time to test this is on July 6-7 when the local residents organise a nighttime celebration of Ivan Kupala, blending the ancient summer festivities of Eastern Slavs with Christianity through Saint John the Baptist. During the celebration, people walk around the lake with candles and jump over fires. Even if you are unable to catch sight of Kitezh, you can still make a wish: according to legend, if you walk three times around the lake on Ivan Kupala night, your dream will come true. Tours around the lake are organised by the Kitezh Museum of History and Arts. If you visit the museum itself, check out its vast collection of ceramics.
Egor Aleev / TASS
You can stay overnight at one of the camp sites in Voskresenskoye Povetluzhye Nature Park, located in the villages on the banks of the picturesque Vetluga River. All of the camp sites are made up of real peasant log cabins or look-alike wooden houses. Each site has a dining area offering traditional Russian dishes prepared in wood-fired stoves, a Russian banya (wet sauna) and horse stables. Whatever season you choose to visit, you can arrange group or individual fishing and hunting trips. In the summer, there is kayaking on Vetluga River and mounted treks, while in winter you can take rides in horse-drawn sleds. In the neighbouring village of Troitskoye, you will find the Noah's Ark Fauna Park. The specially protected woods are home to reindeer, dappled deer, Siberian stags and elks, who have no fear of people.

Заволжские дали

Маршрут общей протяженностью около 180 км проходит по северо-востоку Нижегородской области. Эти живописные места принято называть заволжскими: они расположены за Волгой, к востоку от русла реки. Маршрут удобен для путешествия на автомобиле с двумя или более ночевками. Из Москвы до Городца можно добраться по трассе М7, свернув налево на 390-м километре этой трассы на Балахну и далее продолжая путь по внутриобластной дороге Р-152. По ней же можно стартовать из Нижнего Новгорода. Из областного центра путешествие можно начать и с речной прогулки по маршруту Нижний Новгород – Городец.

Егор Алеев/ТАСС
Городец – самый древний город в Нижегородской области. В местном музейном квартале, который можно обойти за час, идеально сохранились каменные купеческие особняки прошлых столетий и разноцветные крестьянские избы с ажурной деревянной резьбой, как будто из сказки. Городец – лучшее место для покупки сувениров, сделанных руками нижегородских ремесленников. На Нижегородскую область приходится больше половины ассортимента всех российских художественных промыслов, и большинство из них продаются в большом туристическом комплексе "Город мастеров" на набережной в Городце.

Егор Алеев/ТАСС
Кроме сувенирных лавок и выставок в деревянных теремах разместились мастерские городецкой росписи, вышивки золотыми нитями, глиняной игрушки, резьбы по дереву, лозоплетения. Можно пройти мастер-класс и собственноручно слепить и раскрасить глиняную свистульку, сесть за гончарный круг или освоить азы городецкой росписи.

Перекусить можно в чайном зале: здесь предлагают душистый чай на травах с городецким пряником. Этому местному лакомству на меду больше 400 лет. Сегодня пряники и коврижки пекут с разнообразными начинками, самые вкусные – со сгущенкой и грецкими орехами. Подробно о рецептах рассказывают на экскурсии.
Егор Алеев/ТАСС
Еще два маленьких, но очень уютных музея – Музей добра и Музей самоваров. В них собраны предметы крестьянского и купеческого быта. В июле в Городце особенно многолюдно: здесь проходит фестиваль "Мастеров народных братство", на который съезжаются ремесленники со всей страны.
Егор Алеев/ТАСС
Для ночевки в Городце можно выбрать одну из маленьких уютных гостиниц, а наутро продолжить путь в город Семенов, это чуть больше 70 километров. Здесь создаются, пожалуй, самые известные российские сувениры – расписные матрешки. И хотя считается, что родина русской матрешки – Подмосковье, больше всего этих ярких сувениров выпускают именно в Семенове. Местные потомственные мастера, а точнее, мастерицы (на фабриках работают в основном женщины) виртуозно владеют техникой знаменитой хохломской росписи. Роспись с богатым орнаментом, с использованием сочных красных и золотых красок названа так в честь местного села Хохлома. В Семенове расписывают посуду, мебель, предметы декора и даже компьютерные мыши.

За работой художников можно понаблюдать на одной из местных фабрик, там же предложат самостоятельно раскрасить матрешку или деревянную ложку. Ежегодно в третьи выходные июня в Семенове проходит фестиваль "Золотая хохлома", к которому мастера всякий раз готовят что-то грандиозное, а фабрики устраивают бесплатные экскурсии.
Егор Алеев/ТАСС
В 50 километрах от Семенова находится Светлояр – загадочное озеро неизвестного происхождения. Его чаша имеет практически идеальную овальную форму, а прозрачная вода не цветет и не зарастает водорослями. По легенде, на дне озера находится древний град Китеж, который погрузился под воду на глазах у татар-завоевателей, и те, испугавшись чуда, отступили. Считается, что увидеть очертания затонувшего города может только праведник – человек с чистой душой и помыслами. Проверить это можно, например, 6-7 июля – ежегодно в эти дни на Светлояре проходит праздник в честь дня Ивана Купалы (летний народный праздник восточных славян) с шествием вокруг озера со свечами и прыжками через костры. Даже если Китеж разглядеть не удастся, можно загадать желание: по преданию, если в ночь на Ивана Купалу трижды обойти вокруг озера, мечта непременно сбудется. Экскурсии по озеру и окрестностям организует историко-художественный музей "Китеж". В нем самом особого внимания заслуживает внушительная коллекция керамики.
Егор Алеев/ТАСС
Переночевать можно на одной из туристических баз природного парка "Воскресенское Поветлужье", расположенных в деревнях на берегах живописной речки Ветлуга. Все базы отдыха представляют собой комплексы настоящих крестьянских рубленых домов или максимально приближенных к ним деревянных. На каждой базе угощают блюдами из русской печи, есть русская баня, конюшня. В любое время года предлагают организованные или индивидуальные выезды на охоту и рыбалку, летом – сплавы по Ветлуге на байдарках и конные походы, зимой – прогулки на санях, запряженных лошадьми. Рядом с поселком Троицкое можно посетить фаун-парк "Ноев ковчег". На особо охраняемой территории леса живут северные и пятнистые олени, маралы и лоси, которые не боятся людей.