Entertainment

Valery Matytsin/ТАSS

Taking up a whopping 100 hectares or so of land, the Rostov Zoo is one of the biggest zoos in Russia. It has remained a prime source of entertainment for generations of Rostov townsfolk. You can spend all day here, and you won’t regret it. The Rostov Zoo boasts a highly representative wildlife collection. Centre-stage belongs to Comet the polar bear, Ustin the Amur tiger, Amur the Far Eastern leopard (there are only about 80 of them left in the world), and Sitara the elephant. Birds of prey, apes, monkeys and ungulates are available in profusion. A family of porcupines have recently joined the old-timers of the Rostov Zoo. They have an outdoor cage all to themselves.

Valery Matytsin/ТАSS

The Rostov Dolphinarium, located at Skazka Park in the city’s Western Neighbourhood, opened in 2009, and has since become a favourite amusement for kids and adults alike. The charming theatre company of two barrel-nosed dolphins, a lady walrus, a seal and a beluga, perform at the Dolphinarium all year. From time to time they take their show on the road – to Gelendzhik, Anapa or Sochi. The actors will let humans pose for a photo with them, or even swim with them (by prior appointment and only in groups of three).

Valery Matytsin/ТАSS

Rostov-on-Don has its own version of Upside Down House, an amusement beloved of kids around the world. Rostov’s Upside Down House, the biggest in the Southern Federal District, opened in the summer of 2015. People with vestibular problems should probably stay away from this topsy-turvy world, where everything is upside down. But the kids are overjoyed. The house tilts 10 degree as you step into it. For a moment it feels like you’re losing the floor or, as it were, the ceiling from under your feet. The project owners plan to rejuvenate the furnishings and decorations inside, in order to make people want to return.

Valery Matytsin/ТАSS

Offering an entertaining and edifying experience for the whole family, Rostov’s Laboratorium is an interactive science museum, which defines its mission as popularization of science and of the cognitive process as such. They do scientific experiments for show here, give lectures, teach master-classes, and organize fascinating research programmes in a variety of fields. Laboratorium takes up three floors. All exhibits can be touched and handled, and you can always ask a museum employee to explain how things work. Laboratorium is proud of the fact that over 75,000 people have visited it its first year, and some eight thousand have attended its science shows and master-classes.e

The locals love H2O, the biggest water park in Rostov-on-Don. It takes only 10 to 15 minutes to drive to H2O from the city centre. This water park is affordable, and it’s great value for the money. There’s a sprawling water area with pools and slides (there are eight of them, the biggest one is 18 metres high), a spa area with ethnic baths to suit any taste (Roman bath, salt bath, Austrian, Russian, Turkish, a Scandinavian style suite of baths, and more), a kids’ club and several cafés.

Valery Matytsin/ТАSS

Kidburg is a veritable city inside a city, scattered across an area of 2400 sqm, where kids can try their hand at many different trades. It’s like real life here: money, career opportunities, and a compelling need to learn and to build viable relationships with co-workers. Bring your kid here on his own, or with his friends and classmates. At least two or three hours will elapse before a Kidburg first-timer realizes he’s had enough of this adult life with all its worries and responsibilities.

× Entertainment
Open map

Развлечения

Валерий Матицын/ТАСС

Ростовский зоопарк занимает территорию около 100 га – это один из самых больших зоопарков в России и любимое место отдыха многих поколений горожан. Его осмотру стоит уделить целый день. Коллекция животных весьма представительна. Среди любимцев публики – белая медведица Комета, амурский тигр Устин, дальневосточный леопард Амур (популяция этих животных в мире насчитывает всего около 80 особей) и слониха Ситара. В изобилии также хищные птицы, обезьяны и копытные. С недавнего времени к "старожилам" зоопарка присоединилось семейство дикобразов, поселившееся в отдельном открытом вольере.

Валерий Матыцин/ТАСС

Ростовский дельфинарий, располагающийся в парке "Сказка" Западного микрорайона, открылся в 2009 году и с тех пор стал одним из самых популярных развлечений и для детей, и для взрослых. Команда обаятельных артистов, среди которых два дельфина-афалина, моржиха, морской котик и белуга, выступают в дельфинарии круглый год, время от времени выезжая на гастроли в Геленджик, Анапу и Сочи. С животными можно сфотографироваться и даже поплавать (по предварительному согласованию, в группе от трех человек).

Валерий Матыцин/ТАСС

Свой вариант популярного в мире аттракциона есть и в Ростове-на-Дону. Крупнейший в Южном федеральном округе перевернутый дом открылся летом 2015 года. Людям с неустойчивым вестибулярным аппаратом от посещения этого перевертыша лучше воздержаться – все предметы в нем поставлены с ног на голову. Впрочем, дети от этого в восторге. Сам же дом при этом наклоняется на 10 градусов, отчего фразу "пол (а в данном случае – потолок) уходит из-под ног" начинаешь понимать вполне буквально. Владельцы перевернутого дома собираются время от времени обновлять обстановку внутри помещения, чтобы всем желающим было интересно посетить аттракцион снова.

Валерий Матыцин/ТАСС

Развлекательный центр для всей семьи, ростовский интерактивный научный музей "Лабораториум" ставит своей целью популяризацию науки и процесса познания в целом. Здесь демонстрируют научные опыты, проводят лекции и мастер-классы, организуют увлекательные научно-познавательные программы по различным дисциплинам. Музей занимает три этажа. Все экспонаты можно потрогать, покрутить и, конечно, получить ответ о принципе их действия у сотрудников музея. "Лабораториум" гордится тем, что всего за год работы его посетили более 75 тысяч гостей, а около восьми тысяч человек стали участниками научных шоу и мастер-классов.

Крупнейший ростовский аквапарк H2O весьма популярен у ростовчан. Он удобно расположен – в 10-15 минутах от центра города, цены здесь весьма демократичны, а набор предлагаемых удовольствий очень широк. Здесь есть большая аквазона с бассейнами и водными горками (на данный момент их восемь, включая 18-метровую горку), отдельная зона спа и бани на любой вкус (римская, соляная, австрийская, русская, хамам, банные апартаменты в скандинавском стиле и другие), детский клуб и несколько кафе.

Валерий Матыцин/ТАСС

"Кидбург" – самый настоящий город, расположившийся на площади 2400 кв. м и позволяющий ребенку попробовать свои силы и таланты в разных профессиях. Здесь все, как в реальной жизни – деньги, возможность построить карьеру, необходимость учиться и выстраивать отношения с коллегами. Ребенка можно привести в "Кидбург" одного, можно – с друзьями и одноклассниками. Два-три часа – минимальное время, за которое гость "Кидбурга" успеет насладиться взрослой ответственной жизнью.