Dostoevsky's Petersburg

On the small peninsula created by a bend of Griboyedov Canal, in 1865-1866 the canonical novel of Fedor Dostoevsky “Crime and Punishment” was written. At the same place in the peninsula, all the characters of the writing lived.

Aleksandr Demianchuk/TASS
Here Dostoevsky lived from September 1861 until August 1863 and wrote The House of the Dead and Humiliated and Insulted.
Aleksandr Demianchuk/TASS
Dostoevsky lived from August 1864 until January 1867 in this house. Here he wrote The Gambler and Crime and Punishment.  It was here where he met and later proposed to Anna Snitkina-Dostoevska, who became his second wife.
Aleksandr Demianchuk/TASS
Here lived “under the very roof of the tall five storey building”, in a flat “more resembling a closet than an apartment” the main character of the Crime and Punishment novel Rodion Raskolnikov.
Aleksandr Demianchuk/TASS
Some believed that Sofia (Sonechka) Marmeladova, a characterin Crime and Punishment, lived in this house. On one side this building looks out on the embankment and the other, at an obtuse angle, on Kaznacheyskaya ulitsa. “Having reached her house, Sonya turned to the gate... Entering the courtyard she kept to the right, to the corner where the stairway to her flat was... She proceeded to the third floor, turned and rang the bell at apartment nine”.
Aleksandr Demianchuk/TASS
The scene where Ekaterina Ivanovna Marmeladova’s goes insane takes place on this bridge.
The pedestrian bridge at the cross section of Malaya Podyacheskaya ulitsa and Lviny Pereulok has not changed since the times of Dostoevsky. It was built in 1826 after the designs of engineers Wilhelm von Traitteur and V. Khristianovich. The four figures of sitting lions were made of cast iron by the sculptor Pavel Sokolov.
Aleksandr Demianchuk/TASS
In the course of the Crime and Punishment novel, Raskolnikov visited this house thrice in the novel Crime and Punishment. «He did not have a long way to go, he even knew the number of steps from the gate of her house: seven hundred and thirty sharp». Here, the principal character of the novel would kill the old pawnbroker woman and the happenstance witness of the crime – her numb and deaf sister.
× Dostoevsky's Petersburg
Open map

Петербург Достоевского

На небольшом полуострове, образованном изгибом канала Грибоедова, в 1865–1866 годах был написан хрестоматийный роман Федора Михайловича Достоевского "Преступление и наказание". Там же, на полуострове, жили все герои произведения.

Александр Демьянчук/ТАСС
Здесь Достоевский прожил с сентября 1861 по август 1863 года и написал "Записки из Мертвого дома" и "Униженные и оскорбленные".
Александр Демьянчук/ТАСС
В этом доме Достоевский прожил с августа 1864 по январь 1867 года, написал романы "Игрок" и "Преступление и наказание".  Здесь он познакомился и позднее сделал предложение своей второй жене Анне Сниткиной-Достоевской.
Александр Демьянчук/ТАСС
Здесь жил "под самой кровлей высокого пятиэтажного дома", в квартире, которая "походила более на шкаф, чем на квартиру", главный герой "Преступления и наказания" Родион Раскольников.
Александр Демьянчук/ТАСС
По одной из версий, в этом доме жила героиня романа Достоевского "Преступление и наказание" Соня Мармеладова. Один фасад этого здания выходит на набережную, другой, под тупым углом, на Казначейскую. "Дойдя до своего дома, Соня повернула в ворота... Войдя во двор, она взяла вправо, в угол, где была лестница в ее квартиру... Она прошла в третий этаж, повернула в галерею и позвонила в девятый нумер".
Александр Демьянчук/ТАСС
Здесь происходит сцена сумасшествия Екатерины Ивановны Мармеладовой.
Пешеходный мост в створе Малой Подьяческой улицы и Львиного переулка не изменился со времен Достоевского. Построен он в 1826 году (инженеры Г. Треттер и В. Христианович). Четыре фигуры сидящих львов выполнены из чугуна скульптором Павлом Соколовым.
Александр Демьянчук/ТАСС
Трижды по ходу романа Раскольников был в этом доме: "Идти ему было немного, он даже знал, сколько шагов от ворот ее дома: ровно семьсот тридцать". Здесь герой романа убьет старуху-процентщицу и невольную свидетельницу преступления – ее глухонемую сестру.
× Петербург Достоевского
Открыть карту