Galleries and exhibition halls

Anatoly Medved/ТАSS

Besides the exhibition activity RosPhoto is engaged in research work, digitization, restoration, publishing, storage and demonstration of photography art. A wonderful store is open here – you are unlikely to find such a choice of art literature and albums anywhere else in the city. Stopping by the gallery you have a chance to see several temporary exhibits at a time. Of these one is bound to be a gem, at least one will consist of works of classics of Russian photography art and the rest will be showcasing yet unknown artists from across the world.


Anatoly Medved/ТАSS
A gallery with a proprietary collection, a publishing house, a bookstore and exhibition space are all located here. Everybody is welcome in the basement at the corner of Liteyny and Nevsky prospects: from amateur photographers to prominent painters, sculptors or graphic artists. The founders of the Borey defined their main aim a quarter of a century ago: showing the broadest picture of the city’s artistic life and partaking in forming St. Petersburg’s cultural environment.
Anatoly Medved/ТАSS

In 1989, when former residents of the large apartment house at Pushkinskaya,10 moved out for the building’s renovation, former communal apartments were occupied by workshops, galleries, clubs and recording studios. In 1998, when the building repair work was completed, artists received space here for implementing their ideas. One can stop by the New Academy of Fine Arts Museum to see how Timur Novikov’s spiritual descendants and followers developed his idea of preserving classical esthetics in a modern environment. Dver (the Door), The Bridge over Stiks, Navicula Artis, 2.04 – all these galleries are still open. Vampuka Theater, Deboshir Film Studio and the office of the John Lennon Temple of Music, Love and Peace are here as well.


An exhibition space, photography courses and a school for art curators and all those who have decided to learn the art exhibition trade, a gallery, a bookstore, and a photo and news agency are located here.


Anatoly Medved/ТАSS

The absence of restrictions (“we do this, but not that”) is an important feature of many galleries in St. Petersburg. Anna Nova is no different. Here there is a bit of everything that takes place in the city’s artistic life. Artists that belong to different generations and different circles are exhibited here, including the Mit’ki, new academicians, young pop art advocates and renowned avant-gardists. Photography, sculpture, paintings, installations – this is what people are looking for at Anna Nova.


Anatoly Medved/ТАSS

Installations and media art, painting and graphic art, discussions on the role of the curator in the artistic process, concerts, lectures, shows and education programs – the relatively new Namegallery exposes the gems of St. Petersburg’s modern cultural life. The gallery’s curators are occasionally invited to work on exhibits at the Russian Museum and Hermitage.


Anatoly Medved/ТАSS

Every reputable artist in St. Petersburg has either already had a show at the Gusich Gallery or is scheduled to do so in the near future. Here nobody is trying to chase recently discovered talents – only established artists are on show. The gallery continuously takes part in Russian and foreign fairs and assists regional galleries in developing their exhibition concepts.


Aleksandr Demyanchuk/ТАSS

As any loft in St. Petersburg, the building that used to house a textile factory looks like an anthill: benches, workshops, pop-up cafes and co-working space. But the main space is the huge double-height brick wall hall (1300 sq.m.) at the top floor with a panoramic view of the Obvodnoy Chanel. Large-scale design exhibitions, architecture and multimedia shows take place here.


Anatoly Medved/ТАSS

The Arkhipenko brothers, architects and the authors and ideologists of the loft project, were the pioneers in developing former industrial enterprises in St. Petersburg. They went large-scale from the beginning. ETAGI occupies the building of the former Smolninsky bread factory. Hence the narrow staircase that spans all five floors of the loft, the strange shape of the space, floors with windows and walls faced with tile with streaks. The first three floors are filled with shops of local designers, various craftsmen and collectors, co-working space, bars, cafes and workshops. There is a hostel as well. The fourth and fifth floors include galleries and an exhibition space that hosts serious international shows of modern art and design. The building’s roof offers a view of the city. You have to pay for access to the roof, but it’s a good place for a picnic or spending a day walking or lying around on the grass.


This is the trendiest of the city’s galleries that focuses on antique porcelain and Russian art ranging from mid-19th to late 20th century. Vasily Rozhdestvensky, Vladimir Konashevich, Alexander Samokhvalov and Leningrad underground artists are all represented in the gallery’s collection. Large exhibits of Kuzma Petrov-Vodkin, Boris Kustodiev and Boris Grigoriev from private collections have been held here. An exhibit of “The World of Shemyakin” is quite naturally followed by “Repin’s Disciples” show. In addition, painting courses for adults and drawing courses for children are available here. Lectures and education seminars take place on a regular basis. There is a small bookstore.


Anatoly Medved/ТАSS

This is one of the few places in St. Petersburg that exhibits local glass art: from souvenirs to large-scale art objects. In addition, there are lots of objects of decorative and applied art, especially textile works. Besides this, in the four gallery floors one can run into some serious names and quite promising talents. All exhibits are for sale.

Галереи и выставочные залы

Анатолий Медведь/ТАСС

Помимо выставочной деятельности "Росфото" занимается научной работой, оцифровыванием, реставрацией, изданием, хранением и демонстрацией произведений фотоискусства. Здесь работает прекрасный магазин, вряд ли где-то еще в Петербурге есть такая подборка литературы и альбомов по искусству. Заглянув сюда, можно посетить сразу несколько временных экспозиций. Среди них непременно будет одна шедевральная или как минимум состоящая из работ классиков отечественной фотографии, остальные – выставки малоизвестных фотографов со всего света.


Анатолий Медведь/ТАСС
Галерея с собственной коллекцией, издательство, книжный магазин и выставочное пространство. В подвале на углу Литейного и Невского проспектов рады всем, от самодеятельных фотографов до маститых живописцев, скульпторов и графиков. Свою задачу основатели "Борея" сформулировали еще четверть века назад: они показывают максимально широкий срез городской художественной жизни и тем самым участвуют в формировании петербургской культурной среды.
Анатолий Медведь/ТАСС

В 1989 году, когда большой доходный дом на Пушкинской, 10 расселили под капремонт, в бывших коммунальных квартирах появились мастерские, галереи, клубы и студии звукозаписи. В 1998-м в здании сделали ремонт, после которого художникам здесь выделили пространство для самореализации. Можно зайти в Музей Новой академии изящных искусств и посмотреть, как духовные наследники и ученики Тимура Новикова распорядились его идеей сохранения классической эстетики в современной среде. "Дверь", "Мост через Стикс", Navicula Artis, 2.04 – все эти галереи по-прежнему работают. Театр "Вампука", студия "Дебошир фильм" и офис "Храма музыки, любви и мира им. Джона Леннона" тоже открыты.


Анатолий Медведь/ТАСС

Выставочное пространство; курсы для фотографов и институт для кураторов и всех, кто решил разобраться в выставочном деле; галерея, книжный магазин, фото- и информагентство.


Анатолий Медведь/ТАСС

Отсутствие четких установок "с этим работаем, а с этим – нет" – важная черта многих петербургских галерей – не обошло и Anna Nova. Здесь интересуются понемногу всем, что происходит в городской художественной жизни. Выставляют художников, принадлежащих к разным поколениям и разным кругам: митьков, новых академиков, молодых приверженцев поп-арта и заслуженных авангардистов. Фотография, скульптура, живопись, инсталляции – за этим и приходят в Anna Nova.


Анатолий Медведь/ТАСС

Инсталляции и медиаискусство, живопись и графика, дискуссии о месте куратора в художественном процессе, концерты, лекции, показы, образовательные программы – относительно молодая Namegallery вскрывает современный петербургский культурный слой и находит в нем свои ценности. Кураторы галереи иногда приглашаются для работы над выставками в Русском музее и Эрмитаже.


Анатолий Медведь/ТАСС

Каждый авторитетный петербургский художник либо уже выставлялся у Гисич, либо значится в ближайших планах галереи. За новыми талантами здесь не гонятся, работают только с признанными величинами. Галерея постоянно участвует в отечественных и зарубежных ярмарках и помогает в разработке концепций коллегам из регионов.


Александр Демьянчук/ТАСС

Как всякий петербургский лофт, здание бывшей ткацкой фабрики внутри напоминает муравейник: лавочки, мастерские, поп-ап-кафе, коворкинги. Но главное – огромный (1300 кв. м) двухсветный зал на последнем этаже с кирпичными стенами и панорамным видом на Обводный канал. Сюда привозят крупномасштабные выставки дизайна, архитектуры и мультимедиа.


Анатолий Медведь/ТАСС

Архитекторы братья Архипенко, авторы и идеологи лофт-проекта, были пионерами в освоении бывших промышленных предприятий в Петербурге и с самого начала действовали масштабно. "Этажи" занимают здания бывшего Смольнинского хлебзавода. Отсюда узкая лестница, пронзающая все пять этажей лофта, странной конфигурации помещения, полы с окнами, облицованные плиткой с подтеками стены. Первые три этажа заполнены магазинчиками местных дизайнеров, разного рода умельцев и коллекционеров, коворкингами, барами, кафе и мастерскими, есть даже хостел. На четвертом и пятом этажах – галереи и экспозиционные пространства, где проходят серьезные международные выставки современного искусства и дизайна. С заводской крыши открывается вид на город. За вход на нее придется заплатить, зато там можно затеять пикник или просто до самого вечера гулять и лежать на траве.


Анатолий Медведь/ТАСС

Самая светская из городских галерей специализируется на антикварном фарфоре и русском искусстве в диапазоне от середины XIX до конца XX века. В собрании галереи есть и Василий Рождественский, и Владимир Конашевич, и Александр Самохвалов, и художники ленинградского андерграунда. Здесь проходили большие выставки Кузьмы Петрова-Водкина, Бориса Кустодиева и Бориса Григорьева из частных коллекций. А экспозиция "Мир Шемякина" очень естественно сменяется "Учениками Репина". Кроме того, в K Gallery работают курсы живописи для взрослых и рисования для детей. Здесь регулярно проводят лекции и образовательные семинары. Есть небольшая книжная лавка.


Анатолий Медведь/ТАСС

Это одно из немногих, если не единственное пространство в Петербурге, где выставлено местное художественное стекло, от сувениров до внушительных арт-объектов. Кроме того, здесь много предметов декоративно-прикладного искусства, в особенности текстиля. В выставочных залах на четырех этажах галереи можно наткнуться и на серьезные имена, и на весьма перспективные дарования. Все увиденное можно купить.


× Галереи и выставочные залы
Открыть карту