Kolomna

The most romantic district of St. Petersburg which spans across eight islands. The silence, few tourists, preserved architecture of nineteenth century provide a fascinating experience. Plunge into the city history and enjoy the splendor of princeling palaces.

Aleksandr Demianchuk/TASS
A unique memorial of industrial architecture of the early Classicism is represented by two man-made islands in the estuary of Neva river. The famous arch, through which rafts passed, can be found in architecture school books throughout the world.
Aleksandr Demianchuk/TASS
Prince Aleksandr Mikhaylovich, a grandson of Nicholas I, and Great Princess Ksenia Aleksandrovna, a daughter of Emperor Alexander III. Couple’s daughter, Irina, married Felix Yusupov and on the fateful night of December 17, 1916, served as bait in the “hunt” for Rasputin. Grigori Rasputin, a close friend if the Imperial family, one of the most mysterious persons of Russian history, was killed in the night at the Yusupov Palace on the Moyka River. Felix Yusupov was among the conspirators.
Aleksandr Demianchuk/TASS
Constructed in 1897-1899 by master of the so-called “brick style” Victor Alexandrovich Schröter. High quality ceramic tile was used for cladding. Seven triangular section Gothic bay widows give the mansion a romantic silhouette and expand the view from inside in the direction of Moika river. Artistic workshops with wide windows are situated on the upper floor.
Aleksandr Demianchuk/TASS
A collection of Renaissance shapes, a mixture of the so-called Vienna Secession with Parisian Louis Seize styles. Alexei Alexandrovich had the largest body among the Romanovs. He was a confirmed bachelor, ladies’ man and enthusiast of French cuisine.
Aleksandr Demianchuk/TASS
Millionaire’s mansion which once belonged to Consul of Holland in St. Petersburg. Simultaneously, a palace and farm in the heart of the capital.
The rendezvous of two beautiful couples: ballerina Anna Kuznetsova and Grand Duke Konstantin Nikolayevich, and Tsesarevich Nicholas (later Nicholas II) and Mathilde Kschessinska.
wikipedia.org/Sbarichev
The house is adjacent to the gloomy Priazhka river, which is mentioned more than once in the works of Alexander Blok. The poet lived here from 1912 to 1921. Currently the building houses his apartment museum.
Aleksandr Demianchuk/TASS
The biggest synagogue in Europe. Constructed in the Arab- Moorish Revival style.
Aleksandr Demianchuk/TASS
A luxurious neo-Renaissance tenement building constructed in the beginning of the 20th century. The house was owned by a renowned entrepreneur, “the chocolate king” R.G. Vege.
Aleksandr Demianchuk/TASS
A glorious memorial of Elizabethan Baroque, the main temple of Russian military navy.
TASS
The Mariinsky Theatre is about to leave its historical building and transition to the new stage, behind the Kryukov Canal at Mariinsky 2. The so-called “second stage” is equipped with the most advanced theatre machinery and has enough space for large rehearsal rooms, big warehouses for the stage sets, a large concert hall and several smaller concert chambers as well as a traditional theatre cafe.

As for the repertoire, the artistic director of Mariinsky Theatre Valery Gergiev recommends the opera trilogy Der Ring des Nibelungen by Richard Wagner (performed in Russia only); Verdi’s La Traviata staged by the British director Claudia Solti; Levsha (Left-Handed), an opera based on a story by Nikolai Leskov and Musorgsky’s drama Khovanshchina.

The concert hall of Mariinsky Theatre has excellent acoustics, the work of the Japanese architect Yasuhisa Toyota, that have already received high marks both from the singers and the audience. Organ performances, operas, orchestra and solo performances by the Mariinsky musicians and visiting international stars can be enjoyed here and should not be missed.

Коломна

Самый романтический район Петербурга, расположенный на  четырех островах. Тишина, небольшое число туристов, сохранившаяся застройка XIX века позволят совершить увлекательное путешествие, окунуться в историю города и насладиться великолепием княжеских дворцов.

Александр Демьянчук/ТАСС
Уникальный памятник промышленной архитектуры раннего классицизма в виде двух рукотворных островов в дельте Невы. Знаменитая арка, через которую проплывали плоты, вошла в учебники по архитектуре во всем мире.
Александр Демьянчук/ТАСС
Князь Александр Михайлович – внук Николая I, великая княжна Ксения Александровна – дочь императора Александра III. Дочь этой пары Ирина вышла замуж за Феликса Юсупова и в роковую ночь на 17 декабря 1916 года служила приманкой в охоте на Распутина. Григорий Распутин – близкий друг императорской семьи, одна из самых загадочных фигур российской истории – был убит в ночь во дворце Юсуповых на Мойке. Феликс Юсупов был среди заговорщиков.
Александр Демьянчук/ТАСС
Построен в 1897–1899 годах мастером так называемого кирпичного стиля Виктором Александровичем Шретером. Для облицовки здания применялась высококачественная керамическая плитка. Семь готических эркеров треугольного сечения придают особняку романтический силуэт и увеличивают обзор в сторону Мойки. На верхнем этаже располагаются художественные мастерские с большими окнами.
Александр Демьянчук/ТАСС
Конгломерат ренессансных форм, смесь так называемого венского стиля с парижским Louis XVI. Алексей Александрович обладал самой крупной фигурой среди Романовых. Он был убежденным холостяком, дамским угодником и ценителем французской кухни.
Александр Демьянчук/ТАСС
Особняк миллионера, консула Голландии в Петербурге. Одновременно дворец и ферма в центре столицы.
Место встреч двух прекрасных пар – балерины Анны Кузнецовой и великого князя генерал-адмирала Константина Николаевича, цесаревича Николая (будущего Николая II) и Матильды Кшесинской.
wikipedia.org/Sbarichev
Дом выходит на мрачную реку Пряжку, неоднократно появлявшуюся в стихах Александра Блока. Поэт жил в этом доме с 1912 до 1921 года. Сейчас здесь располагается его музей-квартира.
Александр Демьянчук/ТАСС
Самая большая синагога в России и вторая по величине в Европе. Построена в арабо-мавританском стиле.
ТАСС
Мариинский театр вот-вот покинет историческое здание и переберется на новую сцену – за Крюков канал в Мариинский-2. Так называемая Вторая сцена Мариинки внутри оснащена современной театральной машинерией и вмещает просторные репетиционные классы, удобные склады для хранения декораций, большой зал и несколько камерных, а также буфет.

Что касается репертуара, художественный руководитель Мариинки Валерий Гергиев лично рекомендует посетить оперу-тетралогию "Кольцо Нибелунга" Рихарда Вагнера (идет только в России), оперы "Травиата" Джузеппе Верди в постановке британского режиссера Клаудии Шолти и "Левшу" по повести писателя Николая Лескова и музыкальную драму "Хованщина" Модеста Мусоргского.

Концертный зал Мариинского театра может похвастаться отменной акустикой, над которой работал японский архитектор Тойота. Ее ценят и артисты, и публика. Органные концерты, оперы, выступления оркестров и солистов – мариинских и приезжающих на гастроли артистов – все это можно и нужно слушать именно здесь.

Александр Демьянчук/ТАСС
Роскошный доходный дом, построенный в начале XX века в стиле неоренессанса. Владельцем дома был известный предприниматель, "шоколадный король" Р. Г. Веге.
Александр Демьянчук/ТАСС
Великолепный памятник елизаветинского барокко, главный храм русских военных моряков.