Kronstadt

Kronstadt, the pride of Peter the Great, remained a key Russian naval harbour for centuries. The name, Kronstadt, means “Crown Town” in Swedish. Reserve a whole day to explore the town, stroll along its embankments, in its old parks, and check out its defence fortifications.   Kronstadt is a small town of just under 20,000 square kilometres, but every street here bears reminders of the highlights of Russian history. 

Yuri Belinsky/TASS

The Russian history of this place commenced in 1703, when the construction of a fortress began on the Island of Kotlin by decree of Peter the Great. The forts, protecting the Neva delta from potential Swedish incursions, were the first to be built, followed by more solid fortifications, designed by the emperor himself. The fortifications were built by soldiers under the command of Alexander Menshikov. The Swedes, who had formerly owned this land, made several attempts to reclaim Kotlin Island, but the Russian army fought them back, and Kronstadt became Russian territory forever. In 1720, Kronstadt emerged as the foremost Russian naval base. Ground was broken for the central fortress around the same time. Construction on the port and the city really kicked off in 1723, when Peter I and his wife Catherine I visited Kronstadt. A personal palace was built for Peter I, but it has not survived.  Noblemen and wealthy merchants moved in next to the emperor. Peter’s number one comrade-in-arms, Alexander Menshikov, also had a house built for him in Kronstadt. The majority of Kronstadt’s residential buildings and fortifications were destroyed by the great flood of 1824. The early decades of the 20th century were a difficult time for the town. In 1921, Kronstadt rebelled against the Bolsheviks and was subjected to bombardment. The legendary Kronstadt mutiny was suppressed. The town was bombed again twenty years later. Luftwaffe warplanes hit the town in September 1941, inflicting heavy damage. All this adversity notwithstanding, there are a lot of places worth seeing here. Kronstadt remained a restricted town until 1996, so its landmarks were reliably conserved for many decades. UNESCO took the centre of Kronstadt under its patronage in 1990. 

Yuri Belinsky/TASS

The largest marine cathedral ever built in Tsarist Russia, the St. Nicholas Marine Cathedral was built in Kronstadt’s main square in 1913 in memory of Navy sailors killed in action. The cathedral was designed by Vasily Kosyakov. This imposing neo-Byzantine temple stands precisely on the spot where retired anchors were once stored at Yakornaya Ploshchad, which means Anchor Square. Emperor Nicholas II personally planted 32 oak seedlings around the future cathedral on its ground-breaking day. The cathedral did not remain a place of worship for very long. It was closed in 1929. The crosses were removed a year later. The cathedral was converted to a cinema, named in honour of the writer Maksim Gorky. The familiar nickname for it among the locals was “Maksimka.” The church building housed a branch of the Central Museum of the Navy in the 1970s. The building was returned to the Russian Orthodox Church in 2002. 

Askhat Bardynov/Welcome2018.com

One of the earliest buildings in Kronstadt, built in 1724 to the design of Johann Friedrich Braunstein, this palazzo was intended for Peter’s closest associate Alexander Menshikov. Hence its other name: Menshikov Palace. The College of Admiralties took over the building in the 1760s, but never made any use of it. The luxurious palazzo remained empty for a long time. We will never know what the original palazzo looked like. There is no trace of Petrine baroque in the architecture of the current building. The palazzo was rebuilt in the 19th century. And in 1926, all the remaining 18th century architectural details were irretrievably destroyed by fire. The building and its neighbourhood underwent several renovations in the late 20th century, which left next to nothing of the erstwhile luxury. Crucial interior and exterior architectural details were destroyed. The palazzo is now the home of the Leningrad Navy Base headquarters, so you cannot go inside. The Italian Pond across the street from the palazzo was created concurrently with the palazzo. The pond, which is connected with the Merchant Harbour, was in the past used for the winter moorage of ships. 

Askhat Bardynov/Welcome2018.com

The Kronstadt Admiralty was the idea of Catherine II, who decreed for the Admiralty to be moved from St. Petersburg to Kronstadt after the St. Petersburg Admiralty burned down in 1783. The construction of the Admiralty in Kronstadt was entrusted to the Kronstadt port commander, Samuel Greig. The construction plan was officially firmed up in 1785. The properties built by 1797 included the tar works, the rope yard, the dried bread-making factory, provisions shops, the stone-built timber and coal stores, the bypass channel, several sail lofts, officers’ quarters and service personnel quarters. The great Russian architect Vasily Bazhenov joined the project circa 1799 to supervise the construction of further buildings. Admiralty buildings currently occupy about one-fifth of Kronstadt. The entire complex is a protected cultural legacy site. The main gate of the Admiralty compound used to be in Yakornaya Square, right where the St. Nicholas Cathedral stands. The compound is property of the Defence Ministry, so do not make plans for a leisurely walk around or a close look at the buildings. They can only be seen from across the Obvodnoy Canal (Bypass Channel). 

Askhat Bardynov/Welcome2018.com

Peter I broke ground for the fortress in 1723. It was designed by civil engineer Abraham. Hannibal, who was a protégé of Peter the Great and the great-grandfather of the poet Alexander Pushkin. The fortress consisted of several ramparts named in honour of the key regiments of the Russian army. Peter did not live to see the fortress completed. In fact, much of the construction work ground to a halt after Peter’s death. Empress Elizabeth invested heavily in the construction and renovation of fortress buildings in a bid to take her father’s cause forward. As Russia lived under the constant threat of a new war with Sweden, the Kronstadt fortress was fully armed and on high alert all the time. In 1805 it was decided to upgrade the Kronstadt fortress as wars with France and Turkey loomed. However, the epic flood of 1824 ruined or damaged most of the fortress buildings. Some 17,000 people lived on the fortress compound in the 19th century, but the fortress could accommodate many more. The fortress barracks currently house the Naval Cadet Corps, various Navy offices, and a naval school. The part of the fortress particularly worth seeing is the northern rampart, which faces Ulitsa Vosstaniya. 

Askhat Bardynov/Welcome2018.com

This important 19th-century historical landmark takes up an entire block in the middle of town. There were rows of regular market stalls here in the early 1800s. Emperor Nicholas I once paid a visit to the marketplace and was so horrified by the chaos that he immediately ordered that a building be constructed for the market stalls, in order to clean up the mess in the middle of Kronstadt. The building was designed as a replica of St. Petersburg’s own Gostiny Dvor on Nevsky Prospekt. Completed in 1832, the building burned down 42 years later. The new building had a slightly different design, but the purpose and intent was the same. Kronstadt’s Gostiny Dvor underwent a major reconstruction, which took many years and was completed in 2007. There is a musical fountain outside Gostiny Dvor on the Sovetskaya Ulitsa side. 

Askhat Bardynov/Welcome2018.com

Construction on the Naval Artillery Arsenal and artillery yard began in 1832. The building was completed four years later, in 1836. The first floor was reserved for wheels, axes, rigging and machine tools. Rifles, hand tools, ammunition and boarding weapons were stored on the second floor. Bombs, grenades and cannonballs were stored in a dedicated area outside. Double-headed eagles were placed on the barrier walls of the Arsenal. Cannons with heaps of cannonballs and bombs were stationed outside the westerly building front. Russian mines and torpedoes were invented here in the late 19th century. Ammunition supplies for Soviet warships were operated outside the Kronstadt Arsenal during the Great Patriotic War. The Arsenal is currently a repair facility for ship-based cannons, rocket launchers, and mine and torpedo weapons. 

Askhat Bardynov/Welcome2018.com

A unique 18th-century hydraulic engineering installation, this dock was built to the order of Peter the Great to repair the underwater parts of warships. It took a lot of engineering skill to build this dry dock, and a lot of manpower. Three thousand soldiers were brought to Kronstadt from across Russia. Peter did not live to see his dock completed. Constructed was put on hold after his death, but was resumed under the personal supervision of Elizabeth I, and the channel was eventually opened in 1752. The occasion was celebrated in grand style. The opening of the dock was marked by a huge fireworks display. The 2,24 km long dock could accommodate ten ships at the same time, which was record capacity for its time. A Scottish steam-powered pumping machine was installed by the dock in 1774 to pump water out of the dock. This machine worked reliably for 75 years. Ships were repaired here up until 2008. The dock basin is an officially recognized historical landmark. 

Askhat Bardynov/Welcome2018.com

Petrovsky (Peter’s) Park was sponsored by Thaddeus Bellingshausen, Governor of Kronstadt and Antarctic explorer, in the mid-19th century. The park was planted on the grounds of the former Arsenalnaya Square. Bellingshausen personally picked the trees and plants to be planted in the park. It was the governor’s idea to dedicate the park to Peter I. A seven-metre statue of Peter the Great, cast by Peter Klodt, was erected in the middle. The bronze Peter’s sword was stolen in 1961. It was soon replaced, but the new sword does not look the same as the original one. This name of this place was Liberty Park in Soviet time. The historical name was restored to it in 1991. 

Askhat Bardynov/Welcome2018.com

This white wooden lighthouse, the symbol of Kronstadt, stands on Peter’s Canal embankment. Built in 1888, the lighthouse is till operational. Few other lighthouses in the world can rival with this one in longevity. The light from this lighthouse can be seen from 30 kilometres away. The lighthouse is a strategic facility, so you cannot go inside.  

Askhat Bardynov/Welcome2018.com

This is a historical gauge to measure the water level in the sea. It is simply a metal rod attached to a pier of the Blue Bridge across the Bypass Canal. They use the Kronstadt tidal gauge to measure water level fluctuations in the Baltic Sea. The measurement system changed a little at the end of the 19th century, and some new notches had to be added on the gauge.

Кронштадт

Кронштадт – важнейший русский военный порт, гордость Петра I. Название города переводится с немецкого как "город-корона". Сюда стоит приезжать на целый день, прогуливаться по набережным, сидеть в старых парках и изучать оборонную архитектуру. Это маленький город, без малого 20 км2, каждая улица которого напоминает о важных событиях русской истории.

Юрий Белинский/ТАСС
Русская история этого места началась в 1703 году, когда по приказу Петра на острове Котлин стали строить крепость. Сначала возводились форты, защищавшие вход в Неву от шведов, затем – серьезную крепость. Царь сам ее спроектировал, а возвел отряд Александра Меншикова. Несколько раз на Котлин претендовали шведы, которые когда-то владели этими местами, но русская армия крепко стояла на ногах и отстояла Кронштадт навсегда. В 1720 году Кронштадт оказался главной морской базой русского флота, в те же годы началась подготовка к строительству центральной крепости. В 1723 году в Кронштадт приехали Петр I и его жена Екатерина I, и с этого момента началось строительство города-порта. Для Петра был построен дворец, не сохранившийся до наших дней. По соседству с царем поселились дворяне и купцы, а также главный соратник царя Александр Меншиков. К сожалению, большинство городских и крепостных построек были уничтожены в 1824 году сильнейшим наводнением. Первая половина XX века была для города крайне бурной: в 1921 году Кронштадт встал против большевиков, за что был обстрелян, а знаменитый кронштадтский мятеж подавлен. Спустя 20 лет в городе снова стала слышна канонада: в сентябре 1941 года на него совершили налет самолеты люфтваффе, нанеся Кронштадту сильный ущерб. Несмотря на это, здесь много достойных мест для осмотра. Кронштадт до 1996 года был закрытым городом, что помогло его достопримечательностям надежно "законсервироваться". С 1990 года центр Кронштадта находится под охраной ЮНЕСКО.
Юрий Белинский/ТАСС
Самый крупный из всех морских соборов, которые строились в царской России. Возведен в 1913 году на центральной площади Кронштадта по проекту архитектора Василия Косякова в память о погибших моряках. Внушительных размеров здание в неовизантийском стиле воздвигли на Якорной площади, на том месте, где когда-то хранились отжившие свое якоря. В день закладки собора император Николай II посадил вокруг будущей постройки 32 дубовых саженца. Собор работал недолго: в 1929 году его закрыли, спустя год сняли со здания сняли кресты и открыли здесь кинотеатр имени Максима Горького, из-за чего народ прозвал храм Максимкой. В 1970-е годы здесь работал филиал Центрального военно-морского музея. Вернули здание Российской православной церкви в 2002 году.
Асхат Бардынов/Welcome2018.com
Одна из первых городских построек, возведенная в 1724 году по проекту архитектора Иоганна Фридриха Браунштейна для петровского сподвижника Александра Меншикова. Второе название дворца – Меншиковский. В 1760-х годах он достался в пользование Адмиралтейств-коллегии, но эта организация оставила его пустым, и роскошная постройка долго бездействовала. Правда, как выглядело это здание в первоначальном варианте, мы не знаем: следов петровского барокко не осталось. В XIX веке дворец перестроили, а пожар 1926 окончательно уничтожил то, что было сделано в XVIII веке. В конце XX века здание и окрестные территории не раз реконструировались, и от былой роскоши почти ничего не осталось, исчезли важные детали интерьера и внешнего убранства. Сейчас тут прописан штаб Ленинградской военно-морской базы и внутрь попасть невозможно. Через дорогу напротив от дворца есть Итальянский пруд, выкопанный в то же время, когда строился дворец. Пруд соединен с Купеческой гаванью и когда-то был местом зимней стоянки судов.
Асхат Бардынов/Welcome2018.com
Адмиралтейство появилось в Кронштадте по указу Екатерины II: "вывесть Адмиралтейство из столицы в Кронштадт". Такое решение было принято после того, как в 1783 году петербургское здание Адмиралтейства сгорело. Руководить постройкой Кронштадтского адмиралтейства поручили командующему местным портом Самуилу Грейгу. План постройки утвердили в 1785 году, и к 1797 году в рамках проекта были возведены смольня, канатно-прядильный завод, сухарный завод, провиантские магазины, каменные Лесной и Угольные сараи, Обводной канал и несколько парусных мастерских, офицерские флигели и служительские корпуса. К 1799 году к строительству привлекли великого русского архитектора Василия Баженова, который курировал возведение последующих построек. Сейчас здания Адмиралтейства занимают пятую часть всего Кронштадта, комплекс охраняется как объект культурного наследия. Главный вход на территорию был когда-то расположен на Якорной площади, там, где Никольский собор. Сейчас здесь хозяйничает Министерство обороны, поэтому свободно прогуляться по территории и изучить постройки вряд ли удастся, осматривать их придется с противоположного берега Обводного канала.
Асхат Бардынов/Welcome2018.com
Крепость заложил Петр I в 1723 году. Проект ее принадлежит инженеру Абраму Ганнибалу – любимцу Петра I и прадедушке поэта Александра Пушкина. Крепость состояла из нескольких бастионов, названных в честь важных русских полков. Петр не дожил до окончания строительства, а после его смерти значительную часть работ свели на нет. Императрица Елизавета Петровна пыталась продолжить дело отца и тратила на строительство и реставрацию много денег. Поскольку Россия жила в состоянии готовности войны со Швецией, то крепость все время была вооружена и готова была защищать страну по первому требованию. В 1805 году Кронштадтскую крепость решили модернизировать, поскольку войны с Францией и Турцией не предвещали ничего хорошего. В 1824 году большинство крепостных построек были уничтожены или испорчены после сильнейшего наводнения. В XIX веке тут проживало около 17 тыс. человек, но крепость могла вместить гораздо больше. В нынешнее время в казармах крепости находятся Морской кадетский корпус, службы ВМФ, мореходная школа. Осматривать стоит Северный вал крепости, тот, что выходит на улицу Восстания.
Асхат Бардынов/Welcome2018.com
Важная историческая постройка XIX века, памятник архитектуры. Занимает целый квартал в центре города. В начале XIX века тут были обычные торговые ряды, в которые однажды наведался Николай I. Император пришел в такой ужас от царившего тут беспорядка, что повелел немедленно построить для торговых рядов специальное здание, чтобы не разводить посреди города беспорядок. Постройка должна была повторить облик петербургского Гостиного двора на Невском проспекте. В 1832 году здание было построено, но спустя 42 года оно сгорело. Проект нового чуть изменили, но все же исторический замысел угадывался. В 2007 году закончилась многолетняя реконструкция Гостиного двора. Со стороны Советской улицы у здания находится музыкальный фонтан.
Асхат Бардынов/Welcome2018.com
Строительство Морского артиллерийского арсенала и Артиллерийского двора началось в 1832 году. Оно заняло четыре года, и в 1836 году здание было готово. Первый этаж занимали колеса, оси, такелаж и станки. Второй отвели под ружья, инструменты, пули и абордажное оружие. На улице соорудили специальную зону, где хранились бомбы, гранаты и ядра. На парапетах Арсенала были установлены двуглавые орлы, рядом с западным фасадом стояли крепостные орудия, мортиры, высились горы ядер и бомб. Именно здесь в конце XIX века изобреталось российское торпедное и минное оружие. Во время Великой Отечественной войны отсюда снабжали боеприпасами советские корабли. Сейчас здесь чинят минно-торпедное и ракетно-артиллерийское оружие.
Асхат Бардынов/Welcome2018.com
Уникальное гидротехническое сооружение постройки XVIII века. Док возводили по приказу Петра I, здесь должны были ремонтировать подводные части кораблей. Строительство этого сухого дока требовало сложнейших расчетов и огромного количества рабочих: в Кронштадт привезли три тысячи солдат из разных городов. Петру не удалось увидеть задуманное. После смерти царя строительство угасло, и только в 1752 году под личным контролем императрицы Елизаветы Петровны канал был открыт. По этому поводу были устроены торжества, и в момент открытия дока дали грандиозный салют. Длина дока – 2,24 км, в нем могло одновременно уместиться десять кораблей, что было немыслимым размахом для того времени. В 1774 году возле дока установили шотландскую паровую машину, которая должна была откачивать воду. Машина исправно работала на протяжении 75 лет. До 2008 года тут ремонтировали корабли, а бассейн дока стал исторической достопримечательностью.
Асхат Бардынов/Welcome2018.com
Петровский парк построен в середине XIX века на деньги губернатора Кронштадта Фаддея Беллинсгаузена, первооткрывателя Антарктиды. Парк разбили на месте бывшей Арсенальной площади. Губернатор сам выбирал саженцы для сада. По его замыслу, парк посвящен Петру I. В центре установили семиметровую скульптуру царя, отлитую Петром Клодтом. В 1961 году у бронзового Петра украли шпагу, но на ее месте быстро появилась новая, правда, не похожая на оригинальную. В советское время это место называлось парком Свободы, а в 1991 году ему вернули прежнее название.
Асхат Бардынов/Welcome2018.com
Деревянный кронштадтский маяк – символ города. Белая башня находится на набережной Петровского канала. Построен в 1888 году, и поскольку конструкция до сих пор находится в рабочем состоянии, то про него можно сказать, что это один из немногих в мире маяков-долгожителей. Свет от маяка распространяется на 30 км. Попасть внутрь нельзя, поскольку это стратегически важный объект.
Асхат Бардынов/Welcome2018.com
Один из старинных приборов, измеряющий уровень моря, представляет собой металлическую рейку, прикрепленную к устою Синего моста через Обводной канал. По кронштадтскому футштоку измеряют уровень Балтийского моря. В конце XIX века немного изменилась система измерений, в результате чего на футштоке появились дополнительные насечки.