Moscow Highway

Moskovskoye Shosse, or Moscow Highway, was originally the road that led to the royal residence in Tsarskoye Selo, built in the 18th century, and continued on to Veliky Novgorod and Moscow. Moscow Highway was also referred to as the Main Moscow Road, or Novgorod Road. The highway is now part of the European route E105, stretching from Norway to Crimea. The 90km section between St. Petersburg and Maryino Estate has plenty of sights and landmarks that will easily take a whole day to explore. It is advisable to drive there. It is worth one’s while to spend one or two days exploring Tsarskoye Selo alone.    

Yuri Belinsky/TASS

Pavlovsk, a small town on the River Slavyanka, grew around the Pavlovsk Palace. Many a great writer and poet gravitated to Pavlovsk. The poet Anna Akhmatova wrote about Pavlovsk. The characters in Fyodor Dostoyevsky’s novel The Idiot stay at a dacha near Pavlovsk. The writer and historian Nikolai Kara.m.zin and the poet Vasily Zhukovsky visited Pavlovsk. There were some Finnish villages here in the 18th century. Catherine II’s hunting parties roamed the local forests. Catherine gave this land to her son Pavel, the future Emperor Paul I, in December 1777, and the history of Pavlovsk, then the village of Pavlovskoye, began. Two houses were built, and some parks and flower gardens planted soon after the future emperor received his deed. In 1786, the modest houses were replaced with a palace modelled on Palladian villas, designed by Charles Cameron. A beautiful landscaped park was planted around the palace. The Church of Saint Mary Magdalene, designed by Giacomo Quarenghi, was built on the estate in 1784 (current address: Sadovaya Ulitsa 17).

Paul, who had a complicated relationship with his mother, did not like Pavlovskoye. He gave the estate to his wife Maria Fyodorovna, and moved his own summer residence to Gatchina. When Maria Fyodorovna was the hostess, the most magnificent flowers bloomed in the Pavlovsk Park, and the best parties were staged in the palace. When she died, social life pretty much came to a standstill in Pavlovsk, and remained so until 1838, when Pavlovsk became the final destination of Russia’s first railway. From then on, music concerts for the nobility would be staged from time to time inside the Pavlovsk railway station. Johann Strauss (junior) would conduct his waltzes here more than once later on in the 19th century, and he was not the only prominent musician to perform here. Pavlovsk and its surroundings became a popular dacha destination at the end of the 19th century. Pavlovsk was renamed Slutsk from 1918 to 1944 in honour of Vera Slutskaya, a revolutionary who died here. Little remained of the palace and the park after the Great Patriotic War. Some of the valuables were removed by the Soviet Army before the Nazis took over. The rest was stolen or destroyed by the Nazis. It took until 1957 to restore the palace and the park. The whole complex is under UNESCO protection since 1989.

Askhat Bardynov/Welcome2018.com

This land was Catherine I’s gift to her brother Karl Skavronsky, who received his earlship together with the estate in 1727. The Russian for “earl” being “graf,” the place came to be known as Grafskaya Slavyanka. The estate would pass on by inheritance within the Skavronsky family until it came into the hands of one Giulio Litta, the Italian earl who married Ekaterina Engelgardt, the widow of Pavel Skavronsky. The Italian had a castle built on the property, bedecked with knight’s armour suits and shields. In 1829 the estate passed to Yulia Skavronskaya (Samoilova), who had the house remodelled.  

It was a nice big house with several living rooms, numerous bedrooms, a library, a billiards room, and a study. There were lion statues on either side of the staircase. Yulia Samoilova received many guests, including members of the Masonic Order. In 1847 the estate became property of Nicholas I and was renamed Tsarskaya (Tsar’s) Slavyanka. An orphanage was opened at Tsarskaya Slavyanka at the end of the 19th century. In 1919 the Red Army kicked the white guard troops of Yudenich out of the community, and the place was subsequently renamed Krasnaya (Red) Slavyanka. Samoilova’s Dacha, which was the new, Soviet unofficial name for the estate, became Scientists’ House in the 1920s. The Nazi Blue Division used the estate as its headquarters during the Great Patriotic War. The mansion was destroyed during the liberation of Slavyanka in 1943. After the 2nd World War, the estate became the grounds of Dinamo Factory, which manufactured sporting goods. The ruins of Samoilova’s Dacha became private property in 2012.  

Askhat Bardynov/Welcome2018.com

Ulyanovka, formerly Sablino, was a sandstone quarry from in the 18th through 20th centuries. Sandstone was used in the manufacturing of glass, bricks and building stones. This was a tiny village until many families moved here from Yaroslavl in the early 19th century. The local peasants bought out their village in the early 1830s, according to this archival record dated 1838: “Sablino village belongs to free grain growers. The population headcount according to the latest census is 53 males and 56 females.” The place to see here is the Sablino geo-ecological park: the caves, waterfalls, canyon, and erosional rocks. These are the former St. Petersburg quarries. The 19th century poet Alexei Konstantinovich Tolstoy also had his estate here, named Pustynka, but only its outlines can be guessed. Tolstoy received members of the royal family and the writer Ivan Turgenev, among other guests. All that remains from his estate are some very old trees, and a pond with an island in the middle. Legend has it that the great warlord Alexander Nevsky let his troops rest here before a battle in the 13th century. It is claimed that the Bolshevik leader Vladimir Lenin lived in Sablino for a whole year about a hundred years ago. They say that the Soviet poet Olga Berggolts spent a summer here. They also say that the incumbent President of Russia Vladimir Putin was admitted to the Pioneer organization outside Lenin’s house in Sablino.  

Askhat Bardynov/Welcome2018.com

The first part of the double-barrelled name of this place reflects the erstwhile abundance of foxes in the local forests: “lisa” means “fox” in Russian, hence Lisino. “Korpus” is for the forest rangers corps (“korpus” in Russian) and school, established here in 1834. Students of the forest rangers’ school were trained in planting and protecting forests and in timber processing. Members of the royal family were wont to go hunting in the local forests. The landmarks to see here are the 1855 forest rangers’ school building, the 1862 Lisino church, and the royal hunting hut, which is really a palace, built in 1860. All these buildings were designed by Nikolai Benois. Alexander II and his court loved to hunt bears, so the hunting palace was all covered in bear hides. The royal interiors are all gone, and the building is now a dormitory.  

Askhat Bardynov/Welcome2018.com

Luban is a small provincial town. Much of its history is, one way or another, connected with the railroad. You may want to stop in Luban for about an hour, if only to picture how the first St. Petersburg-Moscow train rolled by nearly two hundred years ago. The postal route, mentioned by Alexander Radishchev in his 1790 book A Journey from St. Petersburg to Moscow, traversed Luban. A whole chapter is devoted to this town in Radishchev’s book. The first train rolled past Luban in 1849, and the town got its railway station two years later. The Peter and Paul Church, built by the station in 1867, is dedicated to railway workers. It was designed by the famous Russian architect Konstantin Ton, who also designed the Church of Christ Our Saviour in Moscow. A school of railway engineers opened in Luban in 1868. General Pavel Melnikov, a civil engineer and Russia’s first Railways Minister, was buried outside the church. His remains were moved inside the church following its restoration.   

Askhat Bardynov/Welcome2018.com

Maryino, originally the estate of the Counts Stroganov, subsequently became property of the Princes Golitsin. The widowed countess Sofia Stroganova was a dynamic woman renowned in high society circles. She bought some more land to enlarge her estate in 1817, and she christened the new borough Maryino in honour of Maria Stroganova, the founder of the estate. She also had the house remodelled into what it looks like now. The remodelling design was commissioned from Ivan Kolodin. A beautiful English park was created on the property. Sofia Stroganova contracted most of the planting and landscaping work to Alexander Zandrok, who was known for his beneficial planting and landscaping work in the area. The interiors of the new mansion were distinguished by meticulous attention to detail. The ceilings were painted in the grisaille style. Many paintings and sculptures were brought here from the Stroganovs’ magnificent St. Petersburg residence. The hostess received her high-profile friends in this house, and they frequently went hunting in the surrounding forests. When Sofia Stroganova died, the estate’s social life was over. The art collection was donated to several museums. The Research Institute of Geology and Mining of the Soviet Academy of Sciences moved in in the 1930s. None of Maryino’s luxurious interiors survived the Soviet period. The estate is now in private hands again, but is open to the public.

Московское шоссе

Московское шоссе возникло в XVIII веке как дорога к императорской резиденции Царское Село, а дальше – до Великого Новгорода и до Москвы. Когда-то этот путь назывался Большой Московской дорогой или Новгородской дорогой. Сейчас шоссе стало частью европейской трассы E105, по которой можно совершить путешествие от Норвегии до Крыма. Но даже если ограничиться отрезком в 90 км от Санкт-Петербурга до усадьбы Марьино, потратив на поездку всего один день, можно увидеть множество интересных мест. Изучать шоссе лучше на автомобиле. А осмотру Царского Села лучше посвятить целый день, а то и два.

Юрий Белинский/ТАСС
Павловск – маленький город на реке Славянке, выросший вокруг Павловского дворца и ставший местом притяжения многих великих людей. Про Павловск писала Анна Ахматова, персонажи романа "Идиот" Федора Достоевского живут на даче под Павловском, здесь бывали литераторы Николай Карамзин и Василий Жуковский. В XVIII веке на этом месте были финские деревни, а в здешних лесах устраивали охоты для Екатерины II. Эти места императрица подарила своему сыну Павлу. Было это в декабре 1777 года, и с этого момента началась история Павловского села. После оформления земель в пользу будущего императора Павла тут были построены два усадебных дома, сады и цветники. В 1786 году на месте скромных домов возвели дворец по подобию палладианских вилл, спроектированный архитектором Чарлзом Камероном, а вокруг был заложен красивый пейзажный парк. В 1784 году здесь достроили церковь святой Марии Магдалины по проекту Джакомо Кваренги (ул. Садовая, 17).

Павел, у которого были сложные отношения с матерью, Павловское не любил и подарил село своей супруге Марии Федоровне, сделав своей резиденцией Гатчину. Именно при Марии Федоровне в местном парке цвели самые красивые цветы, а во дворце устраивали самые красивые вечеринки. После ее смерти светская жизнь Павловска сошла на нет до тех пор, пока в 1838 году город не стал конечным пунктом первой в России железной дороги – Царскосельской. На местном вокзале периодически проходили концерты для светской публики. Во второй половине столетия тут не раз дирижировал своими вальсами Иоганн Штраус (сын), выступали другие великие музыканты. В конце XIX века местные окрестности превратились в уютное и очень популярное дачное место. С 1918 года и до 1944-го город назывался Слуцком в память о погибшей в этих местах революционерке Вере Слуцкой. Во время Великой Отечественной войны от дворца и парка практически ничего не осталось: часть экспонатов была вывезена советской армией до прихода фашистов, а все остальное было сожжено и разграблено. Восстановили дворец и парк только к 1957 году. С 1989 года комплекс находится под охраной ЮНЕСКО.
Асхат Бардынов/Welcome2018.com
В 1727 году императрица Екатерина I подарила эти земли своему брату Карлу Скавронскому, которому вместе с поместьем был пожалован графский титул. Место назвали Графской Славянкой. Усадьба передавалась по наследству в семействе Скавронских, пока не досталась итальянскому графу Джулио Литта, женившемуся на Екатерине Энгельгардт, вдове Павла Скавронского. Итальянец построил тут замок, украшенный щитами и рыцарскими доспехами. В 1829 году перешла к Юлии Скавронской (Самойловой), которая взялась перестроить дом.

Это было удобное пространство с гостиными, спальнями, библиотеками, бильярдной, кабинетом и лестницей, украшенной скульптурами львов. Хозяйка принимала гостей, часть из которых была масонами. В 1847 году усадьба перешла во владение Николая I, после чего она стала называться Царской Славянкой. В самом конце XIX века в Царской Славянке открыли детский приют. В 1919 году Красная армия освободила поселок от войск Юденича и местность прозвали Красной Славянкой. После революции в здании самойловской дачи находился Дом ученых. В годы Великой Отечественной войны в усадьбе прописался штаб фашистской Голубой дивизии, и в 1943 году во время освобождения Славянки усадьба была разрушена. После войны на территории поместья открыли фабрику "Динамо", выпускавшую спортивные изделия. В 2012 году руины дачи Самойловой перешли в частную собственность.
Асхат Бардынов/Welcome2018.com
Бывший поселок Саблино, в котором с XVIII по XX век добывали песок, кварцевый песчаник, из которого делали стекло, и бутовый камень, а также производили кирпич. До начала XIX века это была крохотная деревня, которая сильно расширилась благодаря переехавшим сюда семьям из Ярославля. В начале 1830-х годов местные крестьяне выкупили свою свободу, о чем есть в архивах запись, датированная 1838-м годом: "Саблина – деревня, принадлежит вольным хлебопашцам, число жителей по ревизии: 53 м. п., 56 ж. п." Ехать сюда стоит ради Саблинского геоэкологического заказника: пещеры, водопад, каньон, эрозионные скалы – все это бывшие петербургские каменоломни. А еще тут можно угадать очертания бывшей усадьбы поэта Алексея Константиновича Толстого "Пустынька", где когда-то гостили члены царской семьи и писатель Иван Тургенев. От усадьбы остались пруд с островом посреди и старые деревья. Еще говорят, что в XIII веке здесь была стоянка великого полководца Александра Невского, когда он дал своему войску отдохнуть перед битвой. Утверждается, что в Саблине сто лет назад целый год жил лидер большевиков Владимир Ленин, а позже одно лето – советская поэтесса Ольга Берггольц. А еще говорят, будто бы возле домика Ленина был принят в пионеры нынешний российский президент Владимир Путин.
Асхат Бардынов/Welcome2018.com
Странное название поселка Лисино-Корпус образовалось из-за изобилия лис, которыми когда-то славились эти места. И из-за Корпуса лесничих и Егерского училища при нем, которое появилось тут в 1834 году. В этом заведении обучали сажать и беречь лес, а также правильно обрабатывать древесину. В те же годы в окрестных лесах любили охотиться члены царской семьи. Сюда имеет смысл заехать, чтобы посмотреть на здание училища, построенное в 1855 году, Лисинскую церковь 1862 года, а также на Императорский охотничий дворец, сооруженный в 1860 году. За проекты всех построек отвечал архитектор Николай Бенуа. Окружение Александра II любило охоту на медведей, поэтому во время правления императора охотничий дворец был увешан медвежьими шкурами. Сейчас от царских интерьеров ничего не осталось, а в здании находится общежитие.
Асхат Бардынов/Welcome2018.com
Провинциальный город, известный в первую очередь своей прочной связью с железной дорогой. Сюда стоит заехать на час, чтобы представить, как мимо этой станции почти двести лет назад проезжал первый поезд Москва – Санкт-Петербург. Тут пролегал почтовый путь между двумя столицами, упомянутый в "Путешествии из Петербурга в Москву" Александра Радищева, в книге городу посвящена целая глава. В 1849 году мимо Любани пронесся первый поезд, а спустя два года тут появился вокзал. В 1867 году возле станции соорудили церковь Петра и Павла, посвященную железнодорожникам и спроектированную известным русским архитектором Константином Тоном, автором храма Христа Спасителя. В 1868 году в Любани открыли железнодорожную школу. Возле церкви был захоронен прах инженера-генерала Павла Мельникова, первого российского министра путей сообщения. После реставрации храма прах министра перенесли в церковь.
Асхат Бардынов/Welcome2018.com
Бывшее имение графов Строгановых, доставшееся потом князьям Голицыным. Вдовствующая графиня Софья Строганова была женщиной знаменитой и деятельной. В 1817 году она прикупила к уже имеющимся землям еще немного и то, что образовалось, назвала Марьино – в честь основательницы имения Марии Строгановой. Тогда же был перестроен дом (так он выглядит и поныне) по проекту архитектора Ивана Колодина и разбит замечательный английский парк. Софья Строганова доверила значительную часть работ Александру Зандроку, человеку, много сделавшему для местных земель и лесов. Интерьеры усадьбы были продуманы до мелочей: потолки выполнены в технике гризайль, а ценная живопись и скульптура перевезены из красивого петербургского дома. В этом изящном имении хозяйку навещали ее высокопоставленные друзья, часто охотившиеся в окрестных лесах. Со смертью Строгановой закончилась и красивая жизнь усадьбы. Коллекцию произведений искусства развезли по музеям, а в 1930-е годы в усадьбе поселился Горно-геологический научно-исследовательский институт Академии наук. В советские времена были полностью утеряны интерьеры Марьино. Сейчас это частные владения, впрочем, доступные для осмотра.