Museums

Anatoly Medved/TASS
Labirintum features 100 interactive displays demonstrating the principal laws of physics, chemistry and biology in an easy-to-understand, visual way. Everything can and should be touched, spun and turned on, off and around, and these actions create whirlpools, lightning storms and eclipses of the sun. Children can lift 1,000-kilo kettlebells, build durable bridges from foam plastic, turn themselves into a magnet or freeze soap bubbles. Assistants in special uniforms will be happy to talk about any object or phenomenon. If your child wants to learn more about the properties of iron or air, you can sign up for a special show programme through the website or by phone.

Ticket office 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.

Anatoly Medved/TASS
Here, you will find 150 kinds of fish, mammals and invertebrates from different climate zones living in 40 aquariums. Some of them look quite unusual. The school of huge sturgeons is very impressive. Little ones love the brightly-coloured clown fish, surgeonfish and butterfly fish. Some children mistake the gigantic arapaima for a shark, and in fact, the Aquarium also has sharks. You can watch a diver feed them at 7pm every day except Mons. A large family of seals performs twice a day.

Ticket office 10 a.m. - 7:15 p.m.

Anatoly Medved/TASS
The Water Museum began when the city water services company, Vodokanal, restored an ancient water tower and filled it with everything to do with water, from a scale model of a sanitary sewer and a scale model of a hydropower plant to balance beams that were used for carrying buckets of water from village wells. It all makes for a rather curious exhibition. Later, a multimedia exhibit, “Underground St. Petersburg”, was added, where you can observe the entire route that the water travels from the water intake areas to people’s apartments and back, as well as the “Universe of Water” multimedia exhibit with its 3D movie theatre and interactive displays. Here, you can organise a water cycle, study the inhabitants of the Baltic Sea up close, and run several chemical experiments.

Ticket office 10 a.m. - 6:30 p.m.
Anatoly Medved/TASS

Right in the city centre, near the arch of the General Staff Building, you will find the Museum of Illusions, which consists of five different attractions. In the Optical Illusions Museum, the walls and floors are painted in such a way that visitors find themselves in different settings, be it the jaws of a shark or the Simpsons’ house. In the Garden of Tropical Butterflies, everyone wants to take a selfie with the morpho butterfly. In the Zoo, children can play with racoons, kangaroos and marmosets. The House of Giants looks like a family of giants just walked out, leaving behind a huge book, an open jar of sweetened condensed milk and a basket with wool and knitting needles. When you enter the Glass Labyrinth, keep in mind that it is very easy to get lost and very hard to keep your wits about you!

Anatoly Medved/TASS
The Railway Museum occupies a building that was built especially for this purpose in 1902. It contains every historical document and artefact about the development of the railways in Russia, beginning with the first railway that connected St. Petersburg and Tsarskoye Selo (where emperors and empresses had their countryside palaces) and ending with the Trans-Siberian Railroad. On display are rail tracks, station master uniforms, models of bridges and dozens of working models of locomotives and whole trains that are set in motion during tours of the museum. The tour guides’ stories are very interesting - even younger children will listen attentively. A favourite exhibit for children is a section of a luxury train compartment, with velvet-upholstered sofas, a redwood table and a shower cabin.

Ticket office 10:30 a.m. - 5 p.m.
Anatoly Medved/TASS
Russia’s largest zoological museum was established in 1832 using exhibits from the collection of the nearby Kunstkamera Museum. The displays have not been renovated for 30 years, so the museum has become a monument to Soviet museum techniques. Children will be curious to see the arrangements made by Soviet taxidermists, depicting the lives of Emperor penguins, Amur tigers and lowland tapirs. The museum’s unique exhibits include the mounted figures of Peter the Great’s favourite dog and horse, both of whom were named Lizette, and the baby mammoth Dima who was beautifully preserved by permafrost.

Ruslan Shamukov/TASS
Several dozen special children’s tours are available at Peterhof Museum. During one tour, a Chinese woman tells stories about china at the Museum of Collections. Another tour takes children to the Benois Family Museum, where a schoolmistress talks about how the children of the nobility were brought up during the nineteenth century and plays a game of charades with them.

Access to the museum is possible until 5 p.m.. Ticket office 10:30 a.m. - 5 p.m.

Anatoly Medved/TASS
Most countryside palace museums have special tours and quests for children. At Gatchina, children are given special carry-cases containing creative tasks and accessories to help complete them. There is also a special children’s lounge area, where they can spend time building castles and watching films about knights. A special programme is available for visually impaired children called “Sensation of the Palace”. Children visit four staterooms and while the tour guide tells them about the palace’s former owners and their lives here, the children can touch and feel copies of museum exhibits and leaf through the albums with information in Braille.

Ticket office 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.

Anatoly Medved/TASS
On the first floor of Fountain House, you will find a room depicting the American study of poet Joseph Brodsky. On the third floor is the restored apartment belonging to Nikolai Punin and poet Anna Akhmatova. The second floor is given over to playful exhibitions and theatrical performances for children. In one of the programmes, children first look for Peter Pan’s shadow, help open up flowers with fairies inside and make paper ships. They are then shown the story of the meeting between Wendy and the boys from Neverland. Another programme has children helping Pushkin to find rhymes for his poems, dressing him according to the fashions of different centuries and organising a meeting of the old fisherman and magic gold fish. Afterwards, they can watch a hilarious performance about Tsar Gvidon.

Ticket office closes 1 hour before museum closing time.
Anatoly Medved/TASS
The former studio of sculptor Mikhail Anikushin, who designed the Pushkin statue in Arts Square, has been turned into a museum. The huge studio space used to create monumental sculptures is amazing in itself, but it comes with an added bonus: it offers several children’s programmes where art restorers give the kids the chance to restore a copy of a sphinx. Actors invite the children into a huge wooden horse and give a shadow theatre performance about the Trojan War. Artists create a 3D world based on Bruegel’s paintings. Local historians organise knowledge quests about the city’s monuments and the winner gets the chance to climb to the very top of the Rostral Columns.

Ticket office closes at 5 p.m.

Anatoly Medved/TASS
You would think that it would be difficult to surprise today’s kids, attached to their iPads and PSPs, with bulky, primitive arcade machines from the 1980s. But just like their parents and grandparents before them, children still run around the museum with a fistful of genuine Soviet coins looking into the periscope of the Battleship machine, trying the rifle in Safari and pressing the buttons of the Basketball machine. Grab a real soda from the Soviet-era vending machines, take some pictures in a vintage photo booth and stroll through an exhibition of bubble gum picture inserts.

Музеи

Анатолий Медведь/ТАСС
Один из двух музеев занимательной науки, где 100 интерактивных экспонатов, которые просто и наглядно демонстрируют основные законы физики, химии и биологии. Все не только можно, но и нужно трогать, вертеть, включать и переворачивать – в результате получаются водовороты, молнии и солнечное затмение. Дети поднимают стопудовые гири, строят из пенопласта прочный мост, становятся магнитом или замораживают мыльные пузыри. О любом объекте и явлении c готовностью расскажут помощники в специальной униформе. А если ребенку захочется больше узнать о свойствах железа или воздуха, можно записаться на шоу-программу – по телефону или на сайте.

Касса: 11:00-18:00.

Анатолий Медведь/ТАСС
В 40 аквариумах живут 150 видов рыб, млекопитающих и беспозвоночных из разных климатических зон. Среди них попадаются особи необыкновенно выразительной внешности. Сильное впечатление производит стая огромных осетров. Яркие рыбы-клоуны, рыбы-хирурги и рыбы-бабочки очень нравятся малышам. А гигантскую арапайму некоторые дети принимают за акулу. Акулы тут тоже есть, и каждый день, кроме понедельника, в семь часов вечера можно посмотреть, как их из рук кормит аквалангист. А два раза в день показывает спектакль большая семья тюленей.

Касса: 10:00-19:15.
Анатолий Медведь/ТАСС
Музей воды начался с того, что городской Водоканал отреставрировал старинную водонапорную башню и сверху донизу заполнил ее всем, что имеет хоть какое-то отношение к воде, начиная от модели канализационного коллектора и макета гидроэлектростанции и заканчивая коромыслами. Получился очень любопытный музей. Потом к нему добавились мультимедийный корпус "Подземный мир Санкт-Петербурга", где можно проследить весь путь воды от водозаборов до квартиры и обратно, и корпус "Вселенная воды" с 3D-кинотеатром и интерактивными экранами. Здесь можно устроить круговорот воды в природе, в подробностях рассмотреть обитателей Балтийского моря и поставить несколько химических опытов.

Касса: 10:00-18:30.
Анатолий Медведь/ТАСС
В центре города у арки Главного штаба работает Музей иллюзий, который состоит из пяти разных аттракционов. В музее оптических иллюзий стены и пол расписаны картинами так, что гости словно оказываются в пасти акулы или в гостях у Симпсонов. В саду тропических бабочек все стремятся сделать селфи с бабочкой морфо. В зоопарке можно поиграть с енотами, кенгуру и обезьянками. Из дома великана как будто только что вышла семья гигантов, оставив на открытой странице исполинскую книгу, початую банку сгущенки и корзинку с клубками и спицами. А в стеклянном лабиринте очень легко заблудиться и очень сложно сохранить при этом самообладание.

Анатолий Медведь/ТАСС
Музей занимает здание, которое было специально построено для него в 1902 году. Здесь собрана вся информация об истории железнодорожного транспорта в России, начиная с первой дороги, соединившей Петербург и Царское Село, заканчивая Транссибирской магистралью. Здесь есть рельсы, униформа станционных смотрителей, копии мостов, а главное – десятки действующих моделей паровозов и целых составов, которые приводятся в движение во время экскурсий. Гид рассказывает обо всем так просто и интересно, что не отвлекаются даже младшие школьники. Один из самых любимых детьми экспонатов – секция шикарного купейного вагона с обитыми бархатом диванами, столиком красного дерева и душевой кабиной.

Касса: 10:30-17:00.

Анатолий Медведь/ТАСС
Самый большой зоологический музей в стране основан в 1832 году на базе экспонатов из коллекции соседней Кунсткамеры. Экспозиция не обновлялась лет тридцать, поэтому музей превратился в заповедник советского музейного дела. Дети с любопытством изучают срежиссированные чучельниками сцены из жизни королевских пингвинов, уссурийских тигров и равнинных тапиров. Среди уникальных экземпляров – чучела любимой собаки и лошади Петра I, обе под именем Лизетта, и мамонтенок Дима – великолепно сохранившийся маленький мамонт, который вдохновил мультипликатора Вячеслава Назарука на создание мультфильма "Мама для мамонтенка".
Руслан Шамуков/ТАСС
В Петергофе для детей разработано несколько десятков экскурсий, во время которых, например, китаянка рассказывает им истории о фарфоре в Музее коллекционеров, а классная дама из Музея семьи Бенуа объясняет, каким было дворянское воспитание в XIX веке, и играет с юными гостями в шарады.

Вход в музей до 17:00. Касса: 10:30-17:00.
Анатолий Медведь/ТАСС
Большинство загородных дворцов-музеев включают в свои программы детские экскурсии и квесты. В Гатчинском музее детям выдают сундучки с творческими заданиями и реквизитом, который поможет им справиться с этими заданиями. Также во дворце открыта детская гостиная, где ребенок может строить замки и смотреть фильмы о рыцарях. Для слабовидящих детей в Гатчине есть отдельная программа "Ощущение дворца": дети посещают четыре парадных зала, пока экскурсовод им рассказывает о жизни и порядках при прежних владельцах, можно трогать копии музейных экспонатов и листать альбомы, тексты в которых набраны азбукой Брайля.

Касса: 10:00-17:00.

Анатолий Медведь/ТАСС
На первом этаже Фонтанного дома расположен американский кабинет Иосифа Бродского, на третьем восстановлена квартира Николая Пунина и Анны Ахматовой, а на втором часто организуют детские выставки-игры и показывают спектакли. В одной из программ дети сначала ищут тень Питера Пэна, помогают раскрыться цветам, в которых живут феи, делают и запускают кораблики, а потом им показывают полную приключений историю знакомства Венди с мальчишками с острова Нетинебудет. В другой программе дети помогают Пушкину найти рифмы для его стихов, одевают фигуру поэта по моде XIX или ХХI века, организуют встречу старику и рыбке, а потом смотрят уморительный спектакль про царя Гвидона.

Касса: вт, чт-вс 10:30-17:30, ср 12:00-19:00

Анатолий Медведь/ТАСС
Бывшую мастерскую скульптора Михаила Аникушина, автора фигуры Пушкина на площади Искусств в Петербурге, превратили в музей. Огромный зал для монументальной скульптуры – пространство само по себе удивительное. Но детям здесь предлагают особые программы. Реставраторы дают возможность самостоятельно восстановить копии сфинксов. Артисты приглашают залезть внутрь огромного деревянного коня и с помощью теней показывают историю Троянской войны. Художники создают объемный мир по мотивам картин Брейгеля. Краеведы устраивают квест на знание городской скульптуры и в качестве приза позволяют победителям подняться на самый верх Ростральных колонн.

Касса: ср-вс 12:00-17:00.

Анатолий Медведь/ТАСС
Казалось бы, современных детей, привыкших к гаджетам, сложно удивить громоздкими и примитивными игровыми автоматами 1980-х. Однако они с таким же восторгом, как когда-то их родители, бабушки и дедушки, носятся по музею с запасом настоящих 15-копеечных советских монет и смотрят в перископ "Морского боя", берутся за винтовку на "Сафари", нажимают кнопки "Баскетбола", выкручивают рычаг на "Городках". Здесь можно выпить настоящей газировки из автомата, сфотографироваться в аналоговой фотобудке, получить только что напечатанные фотокарточки и сходить на выставку вкладышей от жевательных резинок.