Galleries and exhibition spaces

Inna Mendelsohn/Welcome2018.com

Founded in 2005 by Russian entrepreneur Leonid Michelson, Viktoria Gallery hosts exhibition of 20th-century and modern art, including local artists. In 2011 Viktoria lent its space to a notable project, Afghanistan-Kuzminki. A Human Oratory, the art performance based on a long poem by Russian philosopher and culture historian Keti Chukhrov.

Viktoria frequently hosts concerts, lectures and art talks. The gallery runs a school of photography and school of modern art, as well as drawing and painting lessons for the general public. 

Expo Volga is the biggest convention complex in Samara, hosting shows on any subject, from fishing to high-rise construction. The exhibitions are often combined with regional or international conferences and conventions of all kinds. Expo Volga has a time-table of their exhibitions posted on their website. All expos are usually open to the public.  

It is customary for Volga Expo to focus on topics like fishing and hunting in springtime, offering subject-specific workshops, master classes, games and sports competitions. Whereas men flock to Expo Volga in springtime, autumn is reserved for women, what with the annual Charm Profi expo, showcasing the latest trends in the international beauty industry, offering free makeup samples or even a complete image makeover.   

The Orthodox Christian fair, Blessed Samara, comes to Expo Volga every year-end. Visitors line up to touch holy objects brought here from churches and monasteries across Russia and beyond. The goods on offer include honey, sweets, tea, nuts, garments from natural fabrics, and handmade jewellery.  

Inna Mendelsohn/Welcome2018.com

Novoe Prostranstvo (New Space) is an experimental space for exhibitions, art projects, concerts, theatre performances, workshops, book presentations, talks, social initiatives and what not. For instance, they host an annual designer doll and puppet exhibition with wireframe and ball-jointed dolls, bedroom dolls and cloth puppets on display. Samara’s Gorod theatre company performs its “prose and poetry evenings” and plays here.  

Others events at New Space include a comic strips d’auteur show and an art project wholly devoted to the culture of rock music in Samara. The gallery is affiliated with the Universal Research Library of the Samara Region. 

Inna Mendelsohn/Welcome2018.com

On display at Babylon are paintings representing many genres and generations of artists. Artworks from different parts of Russia and beyond can be found here, as well as works by Samara artists.

Babylon has hosted guest exhibitions for St. Petersburg artists Aron Zinshtein, Tuman Jumabaev and Nikolai Blokhin, Moscow artists Eduard Anikonov and Dmitry and Viktoria Levin, and artists from Penza Vladimir Pentiukh and Andrei Rotanin. Designers and sculptors also exhibit their art at Babylon.

Галереи и выставочные залы

Инна Мендельсон/Welcome2018.com
Галерея основана в 2005 году российским бизнесменом Леонидом Михельсоном. Здесь проходят выставки классиков XX века и современных художников, представлены самарские авторы. В 2011 году в залах "Виктории" был представлен весьма заметный проект "Афган-Кузьминки. Человеческая оратория" – пьеса-перформанс, основанная на поэме российского философа и теоретика культуры Кети Чухров.

В "Виктории" часто проходят концерты, лекции и творческие встречи. Кроме того, в галерее работают школа фотографии, школа современного искусства, а также организованы курсы рисунка и живописи для всех желающих
Крупнейший выставочный комплекс Самары. Здесь проходят мероприятия практически на любую тему, от рыбалки до высотного строительства. Выставки часто совмещают с региональными и международными конгрессами, конференциями и симпозиумами. Расписание выставок есть на сайте, их, как правило, могут посетить все желающие.

Весной "Экспо-Волга" традиционно собирает любителей рыбалки и охоты. Здесь проходят тематические семинары и мастер-классы, спортивные игры и соревнования. Если весной в "Экспо-Волгу" спешат мужчины, то осенью – женщины, на ежегодную выставку "Шарм-Profi", чтобы узнать о последних трендах в мировой индустрии красоты, попробовать косметические новинки или даже полностью сменить имидж.

В конце каждого года в "Экспо-Волге" проходит православная выставка-ярмарка "Благословенная Самара". Ее посетители могут прикоснуться к святыням храмов и монастырей из России и стран ближнего зарубежья, а также приобрести мед и другие сладости, чай, орехи, одежду из натуральных тканей и украшения ручной работы.
Inna Mendelsohn/Welcome2018.com
Это экспериментальная площадка для проведения выставок, арт-проектов, концертов, театральных постановок, мастер-классов, презентаций книг, творческих вечеров, социальных акций, а также многого другого. Здесь, например, проходит ежегодная выставка авторской куклы – каркасной, шарнирной, будуарной, текстильной. На этой площадке проводит литературно-поэтические вечера и показывает спектакли самарский театр "Город".

В "Новом пространстве" организуют и такие мероприятия, как выставка авторского комикса или арт-проект, посвященный развитию рок-культуры в Самаре. Галерея работает в структуре Самарской областной универсальной научной библиотеки.
Инна Мендельсон/Welco2018.com
В "Вавилоне" можно увидеть работы художников разных школ и поколений. Это не только самарские мастера, но и художники из других городов России и зарубежья.
Здесь выставлялись известные мастера из Санкт-Петербурга Арон Зинштейн, Туман Жумабаев и Николай Блохин, а также московские художники Эдуард Аниконов, Дмитрий и Виктория Левины, живописцы из Пензы Владимир Пентюх и Андрей Ротанин. Свои работы в галерее также выставляют дизайнеры и скульпторы.