The best places in town

Vladimir Smirnov/TASS

Yet another place offering a great view of the Volga expanse and beyond is the boat-shaped stele on the fourth tier of the embankment. The twenty-meter ferroconcrete sailboat, designed by Samara architects Anatoly Yankin and Igor Galakhov, was built for Samara’s 400th anniversary. It is now one of the symbols of Samara. The plaza in front of the stele is the customary ground of town festivals, youth events and sports competitions. 

Inna Mendelson/Welcome2018.com

The panoramic view from here takes in the Volga, its right bank and embankment. In summer you can observe the “singing” fountain by the CSK VVS swimming pool from here, or watch the boats sailing up and down the Volga. This observation deck was not here until quite recently: November 2015. It was built as part of the landscaping and improvements on the slope at Ploshchad Slavy. The deck is accessed by stairs with safety railings. There is also a ramp for wheelchair access. 

Vladimir Smirnov/TASS

Nowadays Samarans are accustomed to the fact that Ulitsa Leningradskaya is the heart of the downtown. But a century and a half ago, this was the edge of town. The big change happened in 1856, when the central market was moved from Alekseyevskaya Ploshchad (now Ploshchad Revolutsii) to Troitskaya Ploshchad. Local merchants bought land and started building themselves lavish stone-built homes on what would later become Ulitsa Leningradskaya, in order to be closer to the marketplace. Soon this whole part of town became Samara’s prime shopping neighbourhood, and the street was named Panskaya. The name was changed to Leningradskaya in the 1920s. The section of Leningradskaya between Kuibysheva and Galaktionovskaya is a nice pedestrian area. Most of the 19th-century merchant houses still exist. Now, as many years ago, most of them are shops or restaurants. Buskers, street artists and magicians are a frequent sight here. Leningradskaya is the locals’ favourite place for walking and a.m.usements. Samarans like to refer to it as the “Arbat of Samara.” 

Vladimir Smirnov/TASS

Military parades on the occasion of the 24th anniversary of the October 1917 Revolution took place in three cities: Moscow, Voronezh and Kuibyshev on November 7, 1941. The leaders of the country, foreign diplomats and members of the press corps were in the stalls reviewing the parade in Kuibyshev. Participating in the parade were infantry units, trainees of the Military Medical Academy, the women’s battalion of the Volga Military District, cavalry, tanks and motorized infantry. Hundreds of warplanes flew overhead: bombers, fighters and fighter-bombers. All units went to the frontlines right after the parade. 

 Vladimir Smirnov/TASS
Samara is the home of Russia’s favourite Zhigulevskoe beer. The brewery’s history began in 1880, when a certain Alfred von Vacano of Austria petitioned the local authorities for a land plot, where he intended to have a brewery built. Vacano produced his first beer a year later, in 1881. The beer was initially marketed under two brand names: Venskoe and Venskoe Stolovoe. In terms of technology, Vacano’s brewery was at the time the only state-of-the-art brewery in Russia. It did very well, increasing its output by more than a factor of fifty in 25 years. Following the 1917 Revolution, the brewery, to which the Austrian entrepreneur had given 40 years of his life, was nationalized. The beer it produced was renamed Zhigulevskoe in 1936. These days many breweries across Russia produce Zhigulevskoe brand beer, but the beer brewed in Samara remains the paragon of good taste.
Vladimir Smirnov/TASS

This is a real Ilyushin-2 fighter bomber, one of those warplanes that made the Soviet Union’s victory over Nazi Germany possible during WWII. This monument is now one of the common symbols of Samara. Samara, which was then named Kuibyshev, built and supplied to the frontlines more than 15,000 of the legendary Il-2 fighter bombers during the war. The monument was the idea of the veteran workers of one of Samara’s aircraft engineering factories in the early 1970s. The problem was that not a single Il-2 was to be found in the factory’s hangars. The body of an Il-2, shot down during the Great Patriotic War, was found on the Kola Peninsula in the autumn of 1970. The plane was brought to Samara, restored and placed on a pedestal at the intersection of Moskovskoe Shosse and Prospekt Kirova in 1974. The monument was officially unveiled on Victory Day, 9 May 1975. High-quality illumination was added for the 65th anniversary of the Victory in 2010.  

This is the oldest park in Samara. Once upon a time here, near the embankment of the Volga River, there was a forest that belonged to the manager of the Iletsky salt fisheries Grigory Strukov. In the 1820s he built a homestead on these lands and started a garden. A few years later the facility where Strukov worked moved to Sol-Iletsk, and the garden was abandoned. By 1849 the territory was renovated and officially opened as the city garden. In the park there were various city celebrations, famous guests walked across it, including emperors Alexander I and Alexander II. In the Strukovsky garden there once were a bowling alley, shopping pavilions, a summer stage and a cinema. In the middle of the 20th century, the territory was reconstructed and renamed the Maxim Gorky Park of Culture and Recreation.

Now the park was returned its historical name. This is a place for leisurely walks, traditional city events such as the Press Day and the Flower Festival are held here. At the entrance to the garden there is a small fountain, and in the park itself there is a monument to Maxim Gorky and the grotto on which stands a goat - the symbol of Samara. Strukovsky Garden also has a skate park and a summer concert and movie hall.

Vladimir Smirnov/TASS

The Samarans have a saying: "The Volga bank is a precious rim of the city." The embankment is one of the postcards of Samara, a favorite vacation spot for both locals and visitors. Until the 1930s, the Volga coast remained unsettled, there were warehouses, stables, sawmills and other industrial buildings. Landscaping began in 1940, and today the embankment consists of four lines with a total length of about five kilometers - from the River Station (where, by the way, you can buy souvenirs from Samara) to the Silicate Ravine. In 2011, a large-scale reconstruction of the embankment began, which is expected to be completed for the World Cup.

One of the main attractions of the embankment is the Ladya spire, installed in 1986, commemorating the 400th anniversary of the city. The 20-meter concrete construction made in the form of a sailboat became one of the symbols of Samara. In 2011, a "singing" fountain was opened near the CSK VVS pool after reconstruction, and in 2014 a monument to the founder and first governor of Samara, Prince Grigory Zasekin was erected on the Polevoy Descent of the embankment.

The second line of the waterfront is particularly popular among those who value a healthy lifestyle. There are mini-playgrounds for playing football and basketball, bicycle paths, rentals of roller skates and bicycles, and in winter there is a skating rink. In the summer of 2010 at the stadium near the Volga under the Pervomayskiy Descent there was held the beach football Cup of Russia, which was won by the Samara team Krylia Sovetov.

Inna Mendelsohn/Welcome2018.com

Spaceflights are very much part of Samara’s history. The city is the home of Progress, the rocket engineering centre that has manufactured Russian booster rockets for decades. The rocket that put Gagarin’s Vostok spaceship, flying the first man into space, into orbit was made in Samara.

A unique monument was installed in Samara’s Kozlova Square on Space Exploration Day, 12 April 2001. It is a genuine Soyuz booster rocket, formerly used as a specimen for emergency drills at Plesetsk launch site. Serving as a pedestal for the memorial rocket is an unusual building, which houses the Samara the Space Capital museum. The rocket and the pedestal together are 68 metres tall.

The museum’s permanent exhibits are located on the ground floor. Not only rocket replicas, but real spacecraft, rocket engines, real spacesuits and space food in tubes are on display. Some exhibits are interactive, like Spacebook – Space in Your Pocket, which explains the use of aerospace technology in daily life, including a detailed account of how flight navigation systems and cellular communications work. There is a display detailing the life of astronauts at a space station.

Лучшее в городе

Владимир Смирнов/ТАСС
Взглянуть на волжские просторы можно со стелы "Ладья", расположенной на четвертой очереди набережной. Двадцатиметровая железобетонная стела в виде ладьи под парусом была изготовлена по проекту самарских архитекторов Анатолия Янкина и Игоря Галахова к 400-летию Самары. Сегодня это один из символов города. Рядом с "Ладьей" традиционно проходят различные городские праздники, молодежные фестивали и спортивные соревнования.
Инна Мендельсон/Welcome2018.com
Отсюда открывается панорамный вид на Волгу, ее правый берег и набережную. Летом со смотровой площадки можно любоваться "поющим фонтаном" около бассейна ЦСК ВВС или наблюдать за проплывающими по Волге теплоходами. Площадка приобрела сегодняшний облик совсем недавно – в ноябре 2015 года. Ее построили одновременно с благоустройством склона на площади Славы. Сейчас к ней ведут лестницы и пандус для маломобильных граждан, оборудованные перилами.
Владимир Смирнов/ТАСС
Сегодня горожане привыкли, что улица Ленинградская – самый центр Самары. Но полтора века назад здесь была окраина. Все изменилось в 1856 году, когда городской базар с Алексеевской площади (сейчас площадь Революции) был перенесен на Троицкую. Самарские купцы стали возводить роскошные каменные здания на этой улице. Так она превратилась в главное торговое место в городе, из-за чего получила название "Панская". В Ленинградскую улицу переименовали в 1920-е годы. Сегодня ее участок между улицами Куйбышева и Галактионовской – уютная пешеходная зона. Большинство построек, возведенных самарскими купцами в XIX веке, сохранились до наших дней. Теперь в них, как и много лет назад, расположены магазины и рестораны. Здесь можно встретить уличных музыкантов, художников и фокусников. Ленинградская остается главной улицей для прогулок и развлечений, а жители города называют это место Самарским Арбатом.
Владимир Смирнов/ТАСС
Седьмого ноября 1941 года военные парады по случаю 24-й годовщины Октябрьской революции прошли в трех городах – Москве, Воронеже и Куйбышеве. На трибунах на площади имени Куйбышева присутствовало руководство страны, иностранные дипломаты и журналисты. В параде принимали участие пехота, курсанты военно-медицинской академии, женский батальон войск Приволжского военного округа, кавалерия, танки, мотопехота. В небе летали сотни боевых самолетов: штурмовики, истребители и бомбардировщики. Все участники прямо с парада уходили на фронт.
Владимир Смирнов/ТАСС
Самара – родина знаменитого "Жигулевского" пива. Жигулевский пивоваренный завод – один из самых старых в России. Он был построен еще в 1881 году потомственным пивоваром австрийцем Альфредом фон Вакано.
Владимир Смирнов/ТАСС
Еще один символ Самары – настоящий боевой штурмовик Ил-2, на котором добывали победу советские летчики во время Второй мировой войны. Самолет был построен в Самаре (тогда Куйбышеве). Всего за годы войны на фронт из Куйбышева было отправлено более 15 тыс. знаменитых штурмовиков Ил-2. Идея установки памятника родилась у ветеранов одного из самарских авиационных заводов в начале 1970-х годов. Однако выяснилось, что на предприятии не осталось ни одного Ил-2. Осенью 1970 года на Кольском полуострове были найдены остатки сбитого в годы Великой Отечественной войны штурмовика. На самарском заводе самолет восстановили и в 1974 году установили на постаменте на пересечении Московского шоссе и проспекта Кирова, а 9 мая 1975-го его торжественно открыли. В 2010 году, к 65-летнему юбилею Победы, памятник получил эффектную подсветку.
Это старейший парк в Самаре. Когда-то на этой территории рядом с набережной Волги был лесной массив, принадлежавший управляющему Илецкими соляными промыслами Григорию Струкову. В 1820-х он построил на этих землях усадьбу и разбил сад. Спустя несколько лет управление, где работал Струков, переехало в Соль-Илецк, и сад был заброшен. К 1849 году территорию привели в порядок и официально открыли здесь городской сад. В парке проходили различные городские торжества, гуляли именитые гости, в том числе императоры Александр I и Александр II. В Струковском саду были кегельбан, торговые павильоны, летняя эстрада и кинотеатр. В середине XX века территорию реконструировали и переименовали в парк культуры и отдыха имени Максима Горького.

Сейчас парку возвращено его историческое название. Это место для неспешных прогулок, здесь проходят традиционные общегородские мероприятия, такие, как День прессы и фестиваль цветов. На входе в сад есть небольшой фонтан, а в самом парке – памятник Максиму Горькому и грот, на котором стоит коза – символ Самары. Также в Струковском саду расположены скейт-парк и летняя киноконцертная площадка.
Владимир Смирнов/ТАСС
Самарцы говорят: "Волжский берег – драгоценная оправа города". Набережная – одна из визитных карточек Самары, любимое место отдыха жителей и приезжих. До 1930-х годов берег Волги оставался неблагоустроенным, здесь были склады, конюшни, лесопилки и другие хозяйственные постройки. Благоустройство началось в 1940 году, а сегодня набережная состоит из четырех очередей общей протяженностью около 5 километров, от Речного вокзала (где, кстати, можно купить на память самарские сувениры) до Силикатного оврага. В 2011 году началась масштабная реконструкция набережной, завершить которую полностью планируется к Чемпионату мира по футболу.

Одной из главных достопримечательностей набережной является стела "Ладья", установленная в 1986 году к 400-летию города. Двадцатиметровая конструкция из бетона, выполненная в виде ладьи с парусом, стала одним из символов Самары. В 2011 году около бассейна ЦСК ВВС после реконструкции открыт "поющий фонтан", а в 2014 году на Полевом спуске набережной установлен памятник основателю и первому воеводе Самары князю Григорию Засекину.

Вторая очередь набережной популярна у любителей здорового образа жизни. Здесь есть мини-площадки для игры в футбол и баскетбол, велодорожки, прокат роликовых коньков и велосипедов, а зимой заливают каток. Летом 2010 года на стадионе около Волги под Первомайским спуском прошел Кубок России по пляжному футболу, обладателем которого стала самарская команда "Крылья Советов".
Inna Mendelsohn/Welcome2018.com
История Самары тесно связана с космосом. В городе расположен ракетно-космический центр "Прогресс", который многие годы выпускает российские ракеты-носители. Космический корабль "Восток", на борту которого полетел первый космонавт планеты Юрий Гагарин, выводила на орбиту самарская ракета.

12 апреля 2001 года, в День космонавтики, в Самаре на площади Козлова был установлен уникальный памятник – подлинная ракета "Союз", в прошлом – образец для тренировки боевых расчетов на космодроме Плесецк. Пьедесталом ракеты-памятника является здание оригинальной конструкции, в котором расположен музей "Самара космическая". Высота ракеты вместе со зданием – 68 метров.

Постоянная экспозиция музея располагается на первом этаже. Здесь можно увидеть не только модели ракет, но и подлинные космические аппараты, двигатели ракет или настоящий скафандр и тюбики с космической едой. В музее также представлены интерактивные экспонаты. Например, проект "Spacebook – карманный космос" рассказывает, как космические технологии применяются в повседневной жизни: можно подробно узнать, как работают навигационные системы или сотовая связь. Кроме того, в музее рассказывается о жизни космонавтов на орбитальной станции.