Parks

The park, named after the first cosmonaut, Yuri Gagarin, was opened in 1976.

The total area of ​​the park is 34 hectares. It is located in the Promyshlenny (Industrial) District of Samara at the intersection of the Moskovskoye Shosse and Ulitsa (streets) 22 Partsyezda, Stara-Zagora, Soveytskoy Armii. Earlier the region was the town’s outskirts, today it’s the geographical center of the city.

Partly because of this, Gagarin Park is one of the most visited. Park is partly occupied by an amusement area. Other lndmarks include a lake with swans and a canal on which you can ride a boat with an electric motor or on a children's boat. There’s a kart racing track, sports and children's playgrounds with proper equipment, and in winter there is a skating rink.

There are three monuments in the park. One of them is dedicated to the victims of political repressions of the 1930s and 40s, and is installed on the site of one of the mass graves. Nine in total were found on the territory of their park. Another monument is dedicated to the victims of the 1986 Chernobyl catastrophe. In 2011, in honor of the 50th anniversary of the first human flight into space, a bust of Yuri Gagarin was installed in the park.

This is the oldest park in Samara. Once upon a time here, near the embankment of the Volga River, there was a forest that belonged to the manager of the Iletsky salt fisheries Grigory Strukov. In the 1820s he built a homestead on these lands and started a garden. A few years later the facility where Strukov worked moved to Sol-Iletsk, and the garden was abandoned. By 1849 the territory was renovated and officially opened as the city garden. In the park there were various city celebrations, famous guests walked across it, including emperors Alexander I and Alexander II. In the Strukovsky garden there once were a bowling alley, shopping pavilions, a summer stage and a cinema. In the middle of the 20th century, the territory was reconstructed and renamed the Maxim Gorky Park of Culture and Recreation.

Now the park was returned its historical name. This is a place for leisurely walks, traditional city events such as the Press Day and the Flower Festival are held here. At the entrance to the garden there is a small fountain, and in the park itself there is a monument to Maxim Gorky and the grotto on which stands a goat - the symbol of Samara. Strukovsky Garden also has a skate park and a summer concert and movie hall.

Inna Mendelsohn/Welcome2018.com

The name of the park, founded in 1977, speaks for itself. On its territory are several monuments commemorating of the Great Patriotic War. This is a memorial complex for the Heroes of the USSR, memorial to the participants of the Great Patriotic War, monument to the participants of the Victory Day parade held in Moscow in 1945, the Eternal Flame, as well as a monument to young prisoners of fascist concentration camps. In the spring of 2010, military equipment was transported here from Gagarin Park - two howitzers, an armored personnel carrier and one of the most famous tanks of the Second World War - the T-34. Victory Park is a good place for a walk: there are fountains, a linden alley, playgrounds, summer cafes and a Ferris wheel.

Inna Mendelsohn/Welcome2018.com

The park was opened in 1932 on the site of a former merchant's estate. At the time its location was far enough from the city, hence it was named Zagorodny (translated as beyond the city limits).

Today the Central Park of Culture and Leisure named after Maxim Gorky (the official name of the park) is located in the central part of Samara. It is a local natural reserve with perennial oaks, rare plants and birds. In summer you can feed squirrels, ride Soviet-era attractions and horses, enjoy a movie in an open-air cinema or just sit in one of the summer cafes.

Since 2012, every summer a sandy beach opens on the bank of the Volga here in Zagorodny Park. There is also a rope park. In winter, you can run on skis or enjoy tubing at the ice slide.

The Botanical Garden was opened in August 1932 in the territory of the former country house of the merchant Vasily Borshchev, who was known for his passion: breeding of rare species of trees. Since 1977, the Samara Botanical Garden has the status of a state natural reserve, and since 1995 it’s been designated as a specially protected natural area. The Botanical Garden has a collection of three thousand plant species, almost a thousand of them are bushes and trees. Moreover, it is the only institution in the Samara region which conducts preservation of the gene pool in artificial conditions. Here you can admire the rare plants listed in the Red Book (Russian database of endangered species), watch wild ducks, feed squirrels or just enjoy nature. The main attraction of the garden is a large greenhouse, where bloom and fructify figs, pomegranate, coffee, avocado, guava, murraya, lemon, feijoa and many other exotic plants.

Inna Mendelsohn/Welcome2018.com

In 1943 on the site of the All Saints Cemetery, where, among many residents were buried the mother of writer Aleksey Tolstoy and singer Feodor Chaliapin, a park was opened. It was named in honor of Civil War hero Nikolay Shchors, also buried here. In 1953 the park took another name, Detskiy (Children’s). At the entrance guests are met by sculptures – characters from Soviet cartoons. The park offers amusements and rise, kids can ride electric cars, jump on a trampoline or catch fish from an inflatable improvised lake. In addition, there are several playgrounds in the park.

Inna Mendelsohn/Welcome2018.com

The park was opened in the 1950s. Today it has entertainment for every taste and age. For the youngest there is a special playing area with a safe surface, electric cars, trampoline. For fans of outdoor activities there is a sports ground for football and basketball, and an equestrian club as well. Fans of the extreme will be interested in the only roller coaster in Samara. In winter, an ice rink is created in the park, along with an ice slide.

The official name of the park is “Park named after the 50th anniversary of the October Revolution”. It was founded in 1968 to provide leisure to the residents of adjacent buildings, most of which worked at the Kuibyshev Metallurgical Plant, which is why the area was nicknamed the Metallurgists' Park. Its main attraction is the artificial lake with ducks and swans; in the middle of it is a fountain called The Swan Princess. You can go boating on this lake. The park also has amusements and rides, a cafe, and horse riding. And if you walk along the alley of Labor Glory that adjoins the park, you can get to the triumphal arch, erected in 2015 in honor of the 70th anniversary of the victory in the Great Patriotic War. Not far from the park is the Metallurg stadium - the home arena of the Samara football team FC Krylia Sovetov.

Vladimir Smirnov/TASS

The Samarans have a saying: "The Volga bank is a precious rim of the city." The embankment is one of the postcards of Samara, a favorite vacation spot for both locals and visitors. Until the 1930s, the Volga coast remained unsettled, there were warehouses, stables, sawmills and other industrial buildings. Landscaping began in 1940, and today the embankment consists of four lines with a total length of about five kilometers - from the River Station (where, by the way, you can buy souvenirs from Samara) to the Silicate Ravine. In 2011, a large-scale reconstruction of the embankment began, which is expected to be completed for the World Cup.

One of the main attractions of the embankment is the Ladya spire, installed in 1986, commemorating the 400th anniversary of the city. The 20-meter concrete construction made in the form of a sailboat became one of the symbols of Samara. In 2011, a "singing" fountain was opened near the CSK VVS pool after reconstruction, and in 2014 a monument to the founder and first governor of Samara, Prince Grigory Zasekin was erected on the Polevoy Descent of the embankment.

The second line of the waterfront is particularly popular among those who value a healthy lifestyle. There are mini-playgrounds for playing football and basketball, bicycle paths, rentals of roller skates and bicycles, and in winter there is a skating rink. In the summer of 2010 at the stadium near the Volga under the Pervomayskiy Descent there was held the beach football Cup of Russia, which was won by the Samara team Krylia Sovetov.

Парки

Парк, названный в честь первого космонавта Юрия Гагарина, был открыт в 1976 году.

Общая площадь парка – 34 гектара. Расположен в Промышленном районе Самары на пересечении Московского шоссе и улиц 22-го Партсъезда, Стара-Загора, Советской Армии. Раньше это была окраина, сегодня – географический центр города, отчасти поэтому парк Гагарина – один из самых посещаемых.

Часть парка занимает зона аттракционов. Есть также озеро с лебедями и канал, по которому можно прокатиться на лодке с электрическим мотором или на детском кораблике. Работает картинг, оборудованы спортивные и детские площадки, а зимой здесь заливают каток.

В парке есть три памятника. Один из них – жертвам политических репрессий 1930-1940-х годов, установленный на месте одной из братских могил, всего на территории парка их было обнаружено девять. Еще один памятник посвящен жертвам катастрофы на Чернобыльской АЭС 1986 года. А в 2011 году в честь 50-летия первого полета человека в космос в парке был установлен бюст Юрия Гагарина.
Это старейший парк в Самаре. Когда-то на этой территории рядом с набережной Волги был лесной массив, принадлежавший управляющему Илецкими соляными промыслами Григорию Струкову. В 1820-х он построил на этих землях усадьбу и разбил сад. Спустя несколько лет управление, где работал Струков, переехало в Соль-Илецк, и сад был заброшен. К 1849 году территорию привели в порядок и официально открыли здесь городской сад. В парке проходили различные городские торжества, гуляли именитые гости, в том числе императоры Александр I и Александр II. В Струковском саду были кегельбан, торговые павильоны, летняя эстрада и кинотеатр. В середине XX века территорию реконструировали и переименовали в парк культуры и отдыха имени Максима Горького.

Сейчас парку возвращено его историческое название. Это место для неспешных прогулок, здесь проходят традиционные общегородские мероприятия, такие, как День прессы и фестиваль цветов. На входе в сад есть небольшой фонтан, а в самом парке – памятник Максиму Горькому и грот, на котором стоит коза – символ Самары. Также в Струковском саду расположены скейт-парк и летняя киноконцертная площадка.
Inna Mendelsohn/Welcome2018.com
Название парка, основанного в 1977 году, говорит само за себя. На его территории расположено несколько памятников, напоминающих о Великой Отечественной войне. Это мемориальный комплекс Героев СССР, памятник участникам Великой Отечественной войны, монумент участников Парада Победы в Москве 1945 года, Вечный огонь, а также памятник малолетним узникам фашистских концлагерей. Весной 2010 года сюда из парка Гагарина перевезли военную технику – две пушки, бронетранспортер и один из самых известных танков Второй мировой войны Т-34. Парк Победы – хорошее место для прогулок: здесь есть фонтаны, липовая аллея, детские площадки, летние кафе и колесо обозрения.
Инна Мендельсон/Welcome2018.com
Парк открыли в 1932 году на месте бывшей купеческой усадьбы. Тогда он находился достаточно далеко от города, из-за чего и получил название Загородного.

Сегодня Центральный парк культуры и отдыха им. Максима Горького (официальное название парка) находится в центральной части Самары. Это памятник природы местного значения с многолетними дубами, редкими растениями и птицами. Летом здесь можно покормить белок, покататься на аттракционах советских времен и лошадях, насладиться фильмом в кинотеатре под открытым небом или просто посидеть в одном из летних кафе.

С 2012 года в Загородном парке каждое лето открывается песчаный пляж на берегу Волги. Здесь также работает веревочный парк. Зимой тут можно побегать на лыжах или покататься на тюбингах с ледяной горки.
Ботанический сад открыт в августе 1932 года на территории бывшей дачи купца Василия Борщева, который был известен своей страстью к разведению редких видов деревьев. С 1977 года Самарский ботанический сад имеет статус государственного памятника природы, а с 1995 года – особо охраняемой природной территории. Ботанический сад располагает коллекцией из 3 тыс. видов растений, почти тысяча из них – кустарники и деревья. Кроме того, это единственное учреждение в Самарской области, которое занимается сохранением генофонда в искусственных условиях. Здесь можно полюбоваться редкими растениями, занесенными в Красную книгу, понаблюдать за дикими утками, покормить белок или просто насладиться природой. Главной достопримечательностью сада является большая оранжерея, в которой цветут и плодоносят инжир, гранат, кофе, авокадо, гуайява, муррайя, лимон, фейхоа и многие другие экзотические растения.
Инна Мендельсон/Welcome2018.com
В 1943 году на месте Всехсвятского кладбища, где в числе многих горожан были похоронены матери писателя Алексея Толстого и певца Федора Шаляпина, был открыт парк. Он назван в честь героя Гражданской войны Николая Щорса, также похороненного здесь. В 1953 году парк стал именоваться детским. На входе гостей встречают скульптуры – герои советских мультфильмов. Здесь работают аттракционы, также малыши могут прокатиться на электромобилях, попрыгать на батуте или выловить рыбу из надувного импровизированного озера. Кроме того, в парке расположено несколько детских площадок.
Инна Мендельсон/Welcome2018.com
Парк открыт в 1950-е годы. Сегодня здесь есть развлечения на любой вкус и возраст. Для самых маленьких – игровой комплекс с безопасным покрытием, электромобили, батут. Для любителей активного отдыха есть спортивная площадка для игры в футбол и баскетбол, конно-спортивный клуб. Любителей экстрима заинтересуют единственные в Самаре американские горки. Зимой в парке заливают каток, работает ледяная горка.
Официальное название – Парк имени 50-летия Октября. Основан в 1968 году для отдыха жителей из близлежащих домов, большинство из которых работали на Куйбышевском металлургическом заводе, отчего территорию прозвали парком металлургов. Главная его достопримечательность – искусственное озеро, в котором водятся утки и лебеди, а посередине расположен фонтан "Царевна-лебедь". По озеру можно покататься на лодках, в парке есть аттракционы, кафе, можно организовать конную прогулку. А если пройти по аллее Трудовой Славы, которая примыкает к парку, можно попасть к Триумфальной арке, установленной в 2015 году в честь 70-летия Победы в Великой Отечественной войне. Недалеко от парка находится стадион "Металлург" – домашняя арена самарской футбольной команды "Крылья Советов".
Владимир Смирнов/ТАСС
Самарцы говорят: "Волжский берег – драгоценная оправа города". Набережная – одна из визитных карточек Самары, любимое место отдыха жителей и приезжих. До 1930-х годов берег Волги оставался неблагоустроенным, здесь были склады, конюшни, лесопилки и другие хозяйственные постройки. Благоустройство началось в 1940 году, а сегодня набережная состоит из четырех очередей общей протяженностью около 5 километров, от Речного вокзала (где, кстати, можно купить на память самарские сувениры) до Силикатного оврага. В 2011 году началась масштабная реконструкция набережной, завершить которую полностью планируется к Чемпионату мира по футболу.

Одной из главных достопримечательностей набережной является стела "Ладья", установленная в 1986 году к 400-летию города. Двадцатиметровая конструкция из бетона, выполненная в виде ладьи с парусом, стала одним из символов Самары. В 2011 году около бассейна ЦСК ВВС после реконструкции открыт "поющий фонтан", а в 2014 году на Полевом спуске набережной установлен памятник основателю и первому воеводе Самары князю Григорию Засекину.

Вторая очередь набережной популярна у любителей здорового образа жизни. Здесь есть мини-площадки для игры в футбол и баскетбол, велодорожки, прокат роликовых коньков и велосипедов, а зимой заливают каток. Летом 2010 года на стадионе около Волги под Первомайским спуском прошел Кубок России по пляжному футболу, обладателем которого стала самарская команда "Крылья Советов".