Observation decks

Samarans call this place a “helicopter pad” or “vertolyotka.” It really was one many years ago. The office helicopter of Nikolai Kuznetsov, the Soviet aircraft and rocket engineer, two-time Hero of Socialist Labour, used to land here. Transferred to Samara (then named Kuibyshev) from Ufa in 1949, Kuznetsov was put in charge of the National Experimental Factory No. 2 in Upravlenchesky near Kuibyshev. The enterprise would later be renamed the Nikolai Kuznetsov Samara Science and Technology Complex in honour of the legendary rocket scientist. Vertolyotka was given its present look in the early 2000s, when the pad was paved with slabs, some trees were planted and benches built around it. There is a café, a small pond and parking by the “helicopter pad.” Vertolyotka offers an unforgettable view of the Volga. It is customary among local couples to propose here.  

Inna Mendelson/Welcome2018.com

The panoramic view from here takes in the Volga, its right bank and embankment. In summer you can observe the “singing” fountain by the CSK VVS swimming pool from here, or watch the boats sailing up and down the Volga. This observation deck was not here until quite recently: November 2015. It was built as part of the landscaping and improvements on the slope at Ploshchad Slavy. The deck is accessed by stairs with safety railings. There is also a ramp for wheelchair access. 

Vladimir Smirnov/TASS

Yet another place offering a great view of the Volga expanse and beyond is the boat-shaped stele on the fourth tier of the embankment. The twenty-meter ferroconcrete sailboat, designed by Samara architects Anatoly Yankin and Igor Galakhov, was built for Samara’s 400th anniversary. It is now one of the symbols of Samara. The plaza in front of the stele is the customary ground of town festivals, youth events and sports competitions.

Смотровые площадки

Николай Хижняк/ТАСС
Самарцы называют ее вертолетной площадкой, или просто вертолеткой. Когда-то она действительно использовалась по назначению – здесь совершал посадку служебный вертолет советского конструктора авиационных и ракетных двигателей, дважды Героя Социалистического Труда Николая Кузнецова. В 1949 году он был переведен из Уфы в Куйбышев, где возглавил Государственный союзный опытный завод № 2 в поселке Управленческий. Позже предприятие было названо в честь легендарного конструктора – Самарский научно-технический комплекс им. Н. Д. Кузнецова. Современный облик вертолетка приобрела в начале 2000-х годов. Площадку выложили плиткой, вокруг посадили деревья, поставили лавочки, появились кафе, небольшой пруд и парковка. С вертолетной площадки открывается незабываемый вид на Волгу. Это любимое место влюбленных: именно сюда самарцы приезжают делать предложение руки и сердца.
Инна Мендельсон/Welcome2018.com
Отсюда открывается панорамный вид на Волгу, ее правый берег и набережную. Летом со смотровой площадки можно любоваться "поющим фонтаном" около бассейна ЦСК ВВС или наблюдать за проплывающими по Волге теплоходами. Площадка приобрела сегодняшний облик совсем недавно – в ноябре 2015 года. Ее построили одновременно с благоустройством склона на площади Славы. Сейчас к ней ведут лестницы и пандус для маломобильных граждан, оборудованные перилами.
Владимир Смирнов/ТАСС
Взглянуть на волжские просторы можно со стелы "Ладья", расположенной на четвертой очереди набережной. Двадцатиметровая железобетонная стела в виде ладьи под парусом была изготовлена по проекту самарских архитекторов Анатолия Янкина и Игоря Галахова к 400-летию Самары. Сегодня это один из символов города. Рядом с "Ладьей" традиционно проходят различные городские праздники, молодежные фестивали и спортивные соревнования.