Events

Sergey Savostyanov/TASS

One of the postcards of the Samara region. All-Russia festival of bard song takes place annually since 1968 in memory of the student of the Kuibyshev Aviation Institute Valery Grushin, who died during a trip along the Uda River, while saving drowning children. Grusha (colloquial name of the festival) is hosted on the first weekend of July. 

The venue is the picturesque Mastryukovskie Lakes in the Stavropol district of the Samara region. In the first few years the festival attracted tourists and fans of bard song from the Samara region. Today, Grusha is popular not only in Russia, but also abroad. Tens of thousands of people come to the festival. The main symbol of Grusha is a floating stage in the form of a guitar. Almost all famous masters of the bard song performed at it in different years, including Yuri Vizbor, Oleg Mityaev, Alexander Gorodnitsky, Alexander Dolsky, Tatyana and Sergei Nikitin, Galina Khomchik, Mishchuk brothers and many others. The festival was visited by celebrities such as poet Yevgeny Yevtushenko and cosmonaut Georgy Grechko. Grusha is not just a festival, but also a song contest, in which anyone can take part.

Pavel Smertin/TASS

The festival takes place in summer on the bank of the Volga River against the backdrop of the Zhiguli Mountains in the green zone of the city of Tolyatti. Organizers are trying not only to share classical music among as many people as possible, but also to allow young musicians to perform on the same stage as established stars. 

In its first year, in 2008, Classic over Volga gathered 1,900 spectators and 90 performers, and in 2014 the numbers climbed to 4,700 guests and 250 artists. From the very beginning the festival was international. Guests of Classics over Volga include stars of world opera Zurab Sotkilava and Elena Obraztsova. Since 2015, the head of the festival is Fabio Mastrangelo (artistic director of the Saint Petersburg Music Hall State Theater). Classic over Volga is the winner of the Grand Prix of the national Russian Event Awards-2015 in Best Cultural Event nomination. In 2016, the event received a new name - Tremolo Festival of music and arts.

The festival is held in late July at Mastryukovskie Lakes of  the Samara region since 2007. Participants of the Grushinsky Festival, who play jazz, folk, reggae and other variety music, decided to gather once more on the already-popular glade. From a small local event, Metafest gradually turned into a large-scale music festival. Currently it lasts several days and has several stages.  Throughout the years it was headlined by such famous bands as Masha i Medvedi and Billy's Band. Young talents also have their time to shine here: Metafest regularly provides the stage to recently created bands from Samara and other cities.

In 2016, the festival was visited by 10 thousand people. Metafast also has entertainment and sporting facilities, food courts and cafes.

Alexandra Mudratz/TASS

This international ethnic festival is held since 2003 at the Transportnik recreation center on Fedorovskie Luga (meadows) in Tolyatti. The name speaks for itself: masters of all varieties of this musical instrument from different cities of Russia, as well as other countries - Austria, the USA, Latvia, Italy, Lebanon, New Guinea, Senegal, Cuba, India and Israel – gather here to showcase their skill. Besides concerts, spectators are offered master classes on playing the drum, creative workshops and various workshops. Drums of the World also has an ethnic fair operating throughout the festival.

Sergey Fadeichev/TASS

The official name is the Interregional Festival of Embankments VolgaFest . It runs from 2016. For several days the second line of the Samara embankment turns into an art area with various entertainments, music, theatrical performances and art installations scattered about. The festival space is divided into several thematic areas, including gastronomic, sports and educational zones. Contemporary artists and designers showcase their works, and architectural workshops allow anyone a chance to present their ideas on improving the urban environment. In addition, visitors to the festival are in for a show of giant kites and a sailing regatta. There are performances of street theaters across the whole embankment, both young and eminent artists perform at the music stage.

This winter festival is held in the Samara region since 2004. It unites motor sport enthusiasts from all over Russia and even other countries. Competitions are held in various classes and categories during the festival. The highlight is a unimoto performance, where daring souls ride homemade motorcycles with one wheel. The festival is worth visiting at least for the sake of these masterpieces, which are created in garages from whatever is available - from lawn mowers to concrete mixers. In 2016 a team from the village of Valy, Samara region, unveiled a steam-powered unimoto. The festival does not have a permanent venue, so the place varies from year to year. In 2015, SNOWDOGS won the Russian Event Grand Prix as the best event in the field of sports.

Alexander Scherbak/TASS

The regional gastronomic festival since 2001 takes place in the city of Syzran, Samara region, on the third weekend of August. The venue choice was no accident: Syzran is called the tomato capital of the Volga region. Every year, fans of tomatoes from the Samara region, neighboring cities and even other countries gather at the main square of the city, which turns from Lenin Square into Tomato Square. The festival begins its honorary guests putting a number of tomatoes in a jar equal to the number of the years the holiday takes place, and seal it.

Guests of the festival can take part in various competitions, such as the best vegetable-themed carnival costume, where votes choose Miss Tomato and Mister Tomato. Or take the competitions for the most original garden scarecrow or on the best tomato dish. There are athletic competitions, performances of folklore groups, and a theatrical procession is held throughout the city. And of course, during the Syzran Tomato you can try various dishes from tomatoes, buy seeds and souvenirs made by local craftsmen. The holiday ends with the launch of the inflatable Signor Tomato into the sky.

The festival of folk traditions called Zhiguliovskaya Vishnya (cherry) was first held in 2007 as a local holiday. Now it is visited by several thousand people from different cities of Russia. It takes place in the village of Shiryaevo, Samara region. It is dedicated to the so-called Beschev Cherry, which, according to legend, was bred in the 1930s by a local amateur breeder Alexei Beshchev. This variety is unique in that it grows on limestone, and ripens only by autumn.

The holiday usually takes place in August and lasts three days. The programme includes a pie contest with tasting, a fair of craftsmen and folk celebrations, master classes on traditional crafts and folk art competitions, performances of folklore ensembles. There is a Cherry Café available during the festival, where dishes from this berry are served. At the festival, you can also buy a jar of varenye (whole-fruit preserve ) from the Beshchev Cherry, and take part in its cooking.

Piotr Kovalev/TASS

The Flower Festival takes place in Samara since 2005, and is hosted in one of the city parks (until 2015 it was the Strukovsky Garden, and since then it moved to the Park Druzhby). Annually, the festival gathers up to ten thousand spectators. Guests of the festival are provided with not only floral sculptures and compositions to gaze upon, but also master classes in floristry, best costume competition, exhibition and sale of plants, as well as a music programme. Within the framework of the festival there is a professional competition for landscape designers and florists.

Valery Matytsin/TASS

Fish festivals are becoming fashionable: following the Moscow fish week the gastronomic festival called Ryba Moya (My Fish) was launched in 2016 in Samara. The location is Komsomolsky district of Tolyatti, Sputnik Youth Centre garden. The festival began with a carnival procession of participants of gastronomic competitions called Fisherman Cuisine and Fish Pie. Professional chefs and amateur cooks were invited to compete in a culinary battle. Of course, there are all kinds of fish dishes, from pies to soup. The youngest visitors of the holiday are entertained at the playground appropriately called Malki (Fries). There are also various entertainment venues for adults - sports, creative and others facilities, as well as the Fish Market fair.

The international festival of healthy recreation and Russian culture called Sober Russia is held since 2011 at the Tolyatti Electron tour base located on the bank of the Volga. In 2015 the event, which lasted several days, brought together 1,300 participants from a hundred cities and seven countries. It is an alcohol-free festival. Smoking and other vices are banned here as well. Every morning Sober Russia begins with a workout, after which the participants of the festival choose their own entertainment to their liking. There are numerous master classes on mastering folk crafts, competitions (athletic and other kinds), various lectures and practical classes. A separate programme is made for children, animators are available here. Every evening ends with an open air concert and dancing. Throughout the festival there is a fair of craftsmen, where you can buy national and stylized clothing, goods from leather, metal, clay, wood and other souvenirs.

An international historical festival is held in the center of historical model called Ancient World, located in the village of Kamenny Brod in the Krasnoarmeysky district of the Samara region.

Journey to the Past is an opportunity to see the performances of the world and European champions in such exotic sports as knife or axe throwing a; it is also a fair with master classes on metal casting and forging, tanneries and pottery, woodcarving and wickerwork; this is the largest in the Volga region exhibition of melee weapons, armor and military miniatures. Interactive lectures on history and archeology, as well as an excursion to the Stone Age with a visit to the dwellings and a pavilion of funerary rites are also available here. Anyone can take part in various competitions and games.

Alexander Scherbak/TASS

City football festival for the youth. A summer festival, celebrating Samara as one of the host cities of the 2018 World Cup.  First, several venues are used for qualifying competitions, and then on the waterfront the final games are held. Winners are awarded at the city festival right there on the embankment. Here sports and entertainment events are held for all those interested in participating or spectating. Honored guests of the festival are players of the local club, FC Krylia Sovetov.

The International Festival of Street Art entitled Plasticine Rain has taking place in Samara in Strukovsky Park in the last days of summer annaully since 2011. Residents and guests of the city can see various performances, clown shows, live music, circus performers and various artists from Russia and abroad at several venues of the park. There are also handicraft exhibition, a food zone and a children's playground. In 2015, Plasticine Rain received the Grand Prix of the Russian Event Awards in the Best Youth Event nomination.

События

Сергей Савостьянов/ТАСС
Одна из визитных карточек Самарской области. Всероссийский фестиваль авторской песни проходит ежегодно с 1968 года в память о студенте Куйбышевского авиационного института Валерии Грушине, который погиб во время туристического похода по реке Уде, спасая тонущих детей.

Посетить "Грушу" можно в первые выходные июля. Место проведения – живописные Мастрюковские озера в Ставропольском районе Самарской области. В первые годы на фестиваль приезжали туристы и любители авторской песни из Самарской области. Сегодня "Груша" известна не только в России, но и за рубежом. На фестиваль приезжают несколько десятков тысяч человек.

Главный символ "Груши" – плавучая сцена в форме гитары. На ней в разные годы выступали практически все известные мастера авторской песни, в том числе Юрий Визбор, Олег Митяев, Александр Городницкий, Александр Дольский, Татьяна и Сергей Никитины, Галина Хомчик, братья Мищуки и многие другие. Посещали фестиваль и такие знаменитости, как поэт Евгений Евтушенко и космонавт Георгий Гречко. "Груша" не просто фестиваль, но и конкурс авторской песни, в котором может принять участие любой желающий.
Павел Смертин/ТАСС
Фестиваль проходит летом на берегу Волги на фоне Жигулевских гор в зеленой зоне города Тольятти. Организаторы стараются не только приобщить к классической музыке как можно больше народу, но и дать возможность молодым исполнителям выступить на одной сцене со звездами.

В первый раз, в 2008 году, "Классика над Волгой" собрала 1900 зрителей и 90 выступающих, а в 2014-м – уже 4700 гостей и 250 артистов. С самого начала фестиваль является международным. Гостями "Классики над Волгой" были звезды мировой оперной сцены Зураб Соткилава и Елена Образцова. С 2015 года главой фестиваля является Фабио Мастранджело (художественный руководитель Санкт-Петербургского государственного театра "Мюзик-Холл").

"Классика над Волгой" – обладатель Гран-при национальной премии Russian Event Awards 2015 в номинации "Лучшее событие в области культуры". В 2016 году мероприятие получило новое название – фестиваль музыки и искусств "Тремоло".
Фестиваль проходит в конце июля на Мастрюковских озерах в Самарской области с 2007 года. Тогда участники Грушинского фестиваля, играющие джаз, фолк, регги и другую эстрадную музыку, решили собраться еще раз на всем известной поляне. Из небольшого местечкового мероприятия "Метафест" постепенно превратился в большой музыкальный фестиваль. Сейчас он проходит несколько дней на разных сценах, а его хедлайнерами в разные годы были такие известные коллективы, как "Маша и медведи" и Billy’s Band. Не забывают здесь и о молодых талантах: на сцену "Метафеста" регулярно выходят начинающие коллективы из Самары и других городов.

В 2016 году фестиваль посетило около 10 тыс. человек. На "Метафесте" также работают игровые, развлекательные и спортивные площадки, фуд-корты и кафе.
Александра Мудрац/ТАСС
Международный этнический фестиваль проходит с 2003 года на базе отдыха "Транспортник" на Федоровских лугах в Тольятти. Название говорит само за себя: здесь собираются мастера игры на всех видах этого инструмента из разных городов России и других стран – Австрии, США, Латвии, Италии, Ливана, Новой Гвинеи, Сенегала, Кубы, Индии и Израиля. Зрителям кроме концертов предлагают мастер-классы по игре на барабане, творческие мастерские и различные тренинги. На "Барабанах мира" также работает этноярмарка.
Сергей Фадеичев/ТАСС
Официальное название – межрегиональный фестиваль набережных "ВолгаФест", проходит с 2016 года. На несколько дней вторая очередь самарской набережной превращается в арт-площадку, наполненную разнообразными развлечениями, музыкой, театральными представлениями и художественными инсталляциями. Пространство фестиваля разделено на несколько тематических площадок, в том числе гастрономическую, спортивную и образовательную. Свои произведения представляют современные художники и дизайнеры, а в архитектурных мастерских каждый желающий может презентовать свои идеи по улучшению городской среды. Кроме того, посетителей фестиваля ждут шоу гигантских воздушных змеев и парусная регата. На всей набережной показывают представления уличные театры, а на музыкальной площадке выступают молодые и именитые исполнители.
На зимнем фестивале, который проводится в Самарской области с 2004 года, ежегодно собираются любители мотоспорта из России и других стран. В рамках слета проходят соревнования в различных классах и категориях. Фишка фестиваля – заезд на унимото, самодельных мотоциклах, имеющих одно колесо. Фестиваль стоит посетить хотя бы ради этих шедевров, которые создаются в гаражах из любых подручных средств, от газонокосилок до бетономешалок; например, в 2016 году команда из села Валы Самарской области представила унимото на паровой тяге. У слета нет постоянной площадки, поэтому место его проведения из года в год меняется. В 2015 году SNOWDOGS стал обладателем Гран-при Russian Event Awards как лучшее событие в области спорта.
Александр Щербак/ТАСС
Региональный гастрономический праздник-фестиваль, который с 2001 года проходит в городе Сызрань Самарской области в третьи выходные августа. Место для проведения выбрано не случайно: Сызрань называют томатной столицей Поволжья. Ежегодно на главной площади города, которая из площади Ленина превращается в Томатную, собираются любители помидоров из Самарской области, соседних городов и даже других стран. Фестиваль начинается с того, что его почетные гости закладывают в банку число помидоров, равное порядковому номеру праздника, и закрывают ее.

Гости фестиваля могут принять участие в различных конкурсах: на лучший овощной карнавальный костюм – выбирают "Мисс Помидорку" и "Мистера Помидора"; на самое оригинальное огородное чучело или на лучшее приготовление блюд из томатов. Есть здесь и спортивные состязания, выступают фольклорные коллективы, а по всему городу проходит театрализованное шествие. И конечно, на "Сызранском помидоре" можно попробовать различные блюда из томатов, купить семена и сувениры, изготовленные местными мастерами. Завершается праздник запуском в небо надувного "Синьора Помидора".
Фестиваль народных традиций "Жигулевская вишня" появился в 2007 году сначала как локальный праздник, а теперь его посещают несколько тысяч человек из разных городов России. Проходит в селе Ширяево Самарской области. Посвящен он так называемой бещевской вишне, которая, по легенде, была выведена в 1930-х годах местным селекционером-любителем Алексеем Бещевым. Уникален этот сорт тем, что растет на известняках, а вызревает только к осени.

Праздник обычно проходит в августе и длится три дня. В программе – конкурс пирогов с дегустацией, ярмарка ремесленников и народные гуляния, мастер-классы по традиционным ремеслам и конкурсы народного творчества, выступления фольклорных ансамблей. На фестивале работает "Вишневое кафе", где подаются блюда из этой ягоды. На празднике также можно купить баночку "Доброго варенья" из бещевской вишни, а также принять участие в его варке.
Петр Ковалев/ТАСС
Фестиваль цветов проходит в Самаре с 2005 года в одном из парков города (до 2015 года – в Струковском саду, в 2015-м – в парке "Дружба"). Ежегодно праздник собирает до 10 тыс. зрителей. Гостей фестиваля ждут не только цветочные скульптуры и композиции, но и мастер-классы по флористике, конкурс на лучший костюм, выставка-продажа растений, а также музыкальная программа. В рамках фестиваля проходит профессиональный конкурс для ландшафтных дизайнеров и флористов.
Валерий Матыцин/ТАСС
Рыбные фестивали входят в моду: вслед за московской рыбной неделей гастрономический фестиваль "Рыба моя" стартовал в 2016 году в Самаре. Место проведения – Комсомольский район Тольятти, сквер МЦ "Спутник". Начался фестиваль с карнавального шествия участников гастрономических конкурсов "Рыбацкая кухня" и "Рыбный пирог". В кулинарной битве пригласили сразиться профессиональных поваров и кулинаров-любителей. Разумеется, здесь представлены всевозможные блюда из рыбы, от пирогов до ухи. Самых маленьких посетителей праздника развлекают на спортивно-игровой площадке "Мальки". Работают и различные площадки для взрослых – спортивная, творческая и другие, а также ярмарка "Рыбный базар".
Международный фестиваль здорового отдыха и русской культуры "Трезвая Россия" проходит с 2011 года на тольяттинской турбазе "Электрон" на берегу Волги. В 2015 году мероприятие, которое длилось несколько дней, собрало 1300 участников из ста городов и семи стран. Это фестиваль, свободный от алкоголя, курения и других вредных привычек. Каждое утро на "Трезвой России" начинается с зарядки, затем участники фестиваля самостоятельно выбирают себе занятия по душе. Это многочисленные мастер-классы по освоению народных ремесел и не только, спортивные соревнования, разнообразные лекции и практические занятия. Для детей составлена отдельная программа, работают аниматоры. Каждый вечер заканчивается "Вечеркой" – концертом и танцами под открытым небом. Все дни на фестивале работает ярмарка мастеров, где можно приобрести национальную и стилизованную одежду, изделия из кожи, металла, глины, дерева и другие сувениры.
Международный исторический фестиваль проходит в центре исторического моделирования "Древний мир" в селе Каменный Брод Красноармейского района Самарской области.

"Путешествие в прошлое" – это возможность увидеть выступления действующих чемпионов мира и Европы по спортивному метанию ножа и топора; это ярмарка и мастер-классы по литью и ковке металла, кожевенному и гончарному делу, резьбе по дереву и лозоплетению; это крупнейшая в Поволжье выставка холодного оружия, доспехов и военной миниатюры; интерактивные лекции по истории и археологии, а также экскурсия в каменный век с посещением жилищ и павильона погребального обряда. Любой желающий может принять участие в различных конкурсах и играх.
Александр Щербак/ТАСС
Городской футбольный фестиваль для молодежи. Летний праздник в честь того, что Самара является одним из городов, где в 2018 году пройдут матчи Чемпионата мира по футболу. Сначала на нескольких площадках проходят отборочные соревнования, а затем на набережной – итоговые игры. Победителей награждают на городском празднике "Футбол в сердце Самары", местом проведения которого также является набережная. Здесь для всех желающих организуют спортивно-развлекательные мероприятия. Почетные гости фестиваля – игроки местного клуба "Крылья Советов".
Международный фестиваль уличного искусства "Пластилиновый дождь" проходит в Самаре в Струковском парке в последние дни лета с 2011 года. На нескольких площадках жители и гости города могут увидеть различные спектакли и перформансы, а также выступления клоунов, музыкантов, цирковых артистов и художников из России и зарубежья. Также на празднике работают выставка изделий ручной работы, фуд-зона и детская площадка. В 2015 году "Пластилиновый дождь" получил Гран-при Russian Event Awards в номинации "Лучшее молодежной событие".