Events

Egor Aleev/TASS

Every year at the beginning of June, Aksha Kelu is held in Mordovia. The name translates as "white birch". Aksha Kelu is a kind farewell party for spring. During this holiday, the houses are decorated with birch branches, from early morning women dressed in national costumes sing songs praising nature. During Aksha Kelu national belt wrestling competitions are held - not only boys but also girls can participate. This holiday is held in the Zubovo-Polyansky district of Mordovia annually.

Egor Aleev/TASS

In the second month of summer, the Mordva celebrates another national holiday - Rasken Ozks, which means "tribal prayer" in Erzya language. Traditionally, collective prayers were performed on the edge of the forest, since the Mordva believed in the cult of tree. Since Erzya and Moksha traditionally engaged in farming, they prayed for good harvest. Today, Rasken Ozks has no religious connotation: it is a holiday that unites representatives of the Finno-Ugric peoples who come to the Mordovian region. For tourists and fans of ethnography, Rasken Ozks is a good opportunity to take part in colorful rituals. The holiday takes place on the mound near the village of Chukaly, Bolsheignatovsky district.

Mitya Aleshkovsky/TASS

In October, Saransk becomes the jazz capital of Russia. People’s Artist Igor Butman promotes the  Finno-Ugoric Youth Jazz Festival entitled  Young Veyse-Jazz. It is gradually transitioned into Vesye-Jazz proper, where renowned musicians come from all over the world. In 2016 the festival was held for the fifteenth time.

Egor Aleev/TASS

In 2016 in Saransk the Shumbrat, Mordovia! festival was held for the twentieth time. For two months artists and masters of arts and crafts demonstrate their skills. Last year, the festival broke the record for the number of participants: 95,000 people came to this event. The festival, which unites representatives of all Finno-Ugric peoples, will interest those who enjoy ethnography.

События

 Егор Алеев/ТАСС
Каждый год в начале июня в Мордовии проводится праздник Акша Келу, что переводится как "белая береза". Акша Келу – своего рода проводы весны. Во время этого праздника дома украшаются ветками березы, с раннего утра женщины в национальных одеждах собираются на песнопения, восхваляющие природу. Во время Акша Келу проводится национальная борьба на поясах — силами меряются не только юноши, но и девушки. Ежегодно этот праздник устраивается в Зубово-Полянском районе Мордовии.
Егор Алеев/ТАСС
Во второй летний месяц мордва отмечает еще один национальный праздник — Раськень Озкс, что в переводе с эрзянского означает "родовая молитва". По традиции общие моления совершались на опушке леса, поскольку у мордвы существовал культ дерева. Так как эрзя и мокша традиционно занимались земледелием, молились об урожае. В наши дни у Раськень Озкс нет религиозного подтекста: это праздник, который объединяет представителей финно-угорских народов, приезжающих в мордовские края. Для туристов и любителей этнографии Раськень Озкс – хорошая возможность принять участие в красочных обрядах. Праздник проходит на кургане близ села Чукалы Большеигнатовского района.
Митя Алешковский/ТАСС
В октябре Саранск превращается в джазовую столицу России. Народный артист Игорь Бутман патронирует финно-угорский джазовый детско-юношеский фестиваль "Юный Вейсэ-джаз". Это мероприятие плавно перетекает в международный фестиваль "Вейсэ-джаз", куда приезжают известные музыканты со всего мира. В 2016 году фестиваль прошел в 15-й раз.
Егор Алеев/ТАСС
В 2016 году в Саранске в 20-й раз проходил фестиваль "Шумбрат, Мордовия!". В течение двух месяцев артисты и мастера декоративно-прикладного искусства показывают свое мастерство. В прошлом году фестиваль побил рекорд по количеству участников: их было 95 тысяч. Фестиваль, объединяющий представителей всех финно-угорских народов, заинтересует тех, кому нравится этнография.