Caucasian cuisine restaurants

Mikhail Mordasov/ТАSS
Reserve Russia 2018 LOC is not liable for any reservation services provided by third parties.

This is a medium-sized inner city café, which serves mostly khinkali: traditional, with mutton or veal, boiled or fried. Its Caucasian culinary identity notwithstanding, Khinkalnaya upholds the European custom of serving breakfast in the morning: two kinds of eggs (Caucasus style or with pastrami), hot cereals and pancakes. There is outdoor seating on the porch out front.

Mikhail Mordasov/ТАSS
Reserve Russia 2018 LOC is not liable for any reservation services provided by third parties.

Saj of meat and vegetables, mutton, qutab, shashlyk, liver, and much more… Kavkazsky Dvorik (Caucasus Backyard) is a veritable showcase of Azerbaijani cuisine. But they don’t overlook the Georgian specialties no seaside restaurant can afford to ignore: khinkali and khachapuri. The alcohol menu is dominated by Azerbaijani wines, but wines from Armenia, Georgia and southern Russia are also listed.

Kavkazsky Dvorik serves breakfast from 10:00 in the morning till noon. The interior design is very modest, almost “like home”: some old photographs on the walls (views of the Caucasus Mountains, portraits of national epic heroes), some musical instruments hung around the fireplace, felt carpets on the floor, earthen pots, and a grapevine on the wall.

Mikhail Mordasov/ТАSS

Che? Kharcho! is a café launched by the Moscow restaurant group White Rabbit Family, whose restaurant White Rabbit is ranked 18 on The World’s 50 Best Restaurants 2016.

In two cafes Che? Kharcho! offers Black Sea food in the broadest possible sense, with an emphasis on grilled selections. Their concept of “Black Sea food” evidently includes everything we’ve been accustomed, since childhood, to eating when on seaside holiday in the South: khinkali, shish kebab, satsivi, chicken rissoles, kharcho, lulah kebab and local fish, both freshwater and saltwater. The owners of Che? Kharcho! claim and continually reiterate that all their food is prepared from local produce. The menu lists some complicated lemonades, berry drinks and compotes. The bar menu is not so diverse, but Georgian and Crimean wines are on.

Mikhail Mordasov/ТАSS
Reserve Russia 2018 LOC is not liable for any reservation services provided by third parties.

One of the most popular restaurants in Adler, La Luna is sited conveniently close to the beach. The menu is a mixed affair, but similarly to the majority of restaurants in Sochi, Caucasian specialties predominate. Those holiday-makers who have been tipped off come to La Luna and no other place for their khachapuri Imereti style, ajapsandali and shish kebab. Fish and seafood take up a large dedicated section on the menu. The wine list features an extensive selection of Georgian and Abkhazian wines. You can enjoy your wine on La Luna’s sprawling, nicely decorated porch.

La Luna is one of those places where it is appropriate to wear a suit and/or cocktail dress to dinner. The place is posh enough for that. Tourists appreciate a chance to wear something nice for their night out at La Luna, while executive travellers feel comfortable scheduling their business meetings here. There is live music in the evenings.

Mikhail Mordasov/ТАSS

On the outside, this is a regular diner surviving from the 1990s, but inside, Beliye Nochi is one of the top khinkali places in Sochi. People will travel from across the city to eat here, and bring families. Khinkali is the headliner here, available boiled or fried. Lulah kebab and shish kebab are also served (the most pricy shish kebab, with sturgeon, is 390 rubles per 100g). The desserts, particularly shortbread cupcakes and all kinds of jam, are delicious at Beliye Nochi.

The servings are very generous. It should be noted that this place only appears cheap because of its inexpensive and vastly popular khinkali (which is generally affordable everywhere) and its no-frills interior. But when you order char-broiled specialties, which are priced per 100 grams, the damage feels more like a mid-range restaurant, not a diner.

Mikhail Mordasov/ТАSS

Although this Georgian restaurant also has Italian specialties and things like borsch, Caesar salad and the Russian classic – Olivier salad on the menu, most patrons come to Khmeli & Suneli for its Georgian food. This restaurant is hard to miss. It’s right in the centre of Sochi, it has a large, comfortable porch, and the enticing smells of char-broiled meat emanating from it will guide you right to it. Their scrumptious veal shawarma is legendary. Very few restaurants get Tarkhun tarragon lemonade right, as in ‘not too sticky-sweet’. Khmeli & Suneli pulls it off: their Tarkhun has a fresh and subtle taste.

The restaurant runs a deli outlet: you can take your favourite food home with you. They serve breakfast in the morning, which is worth getting up early for. Make sure you order the Adzharian khachapuri scaled down to toy size for your child. After dinner, you can send your kid off to cooking master-class, which the restaurant offers on a regular basis.

Mikhail Mordasov/ТАSS

This unassuming Caucasian café specializes in khachapuri, offering several kinds of it. All khachapuri breads are huge and very good, but the Adzharian kind, with a generous helping of freshly made cheese, is the best-seller. There are a few salads on the menu, but they are more like sides for the baked masterpieces.

In terms of décor, this café is modest to say the least. Indeed, it is no place for a relaxed family dining experience or a long conversation. People come here to grab a quick yet delicious and affordable meal or to take khachapuri out. Khachapurnaya is rumoured to have the best khachapuri in town. They will deliver – very promptly! – to any part of Sochi with maximum freshness guaranteed.

Mikhail Mordasov/ТАSS

Claimed by locals to be one of the best Georgian restaurants in Sochi, Suluguni Bar feels like home: tables with tablecloths, matted light through a round lampshade, carpeted floors, the general atmosphere of simplicity, and a strictly Georgian menu: kharcho, pkhali, khinkali, khachapuri, ojakhuri, pelamushi and, last but not least – matsoni, which draws last night’s partiers with splitting headache like a magnet.

Suluguni is the place to be with your family on a weekend: the leisurely family dining experience is guaranteed. If you wish, you can play a game of backgammon after dinner. They welcome kids here. Even if the children don’t feel like drawing or playing, they will surely find something to amuse themselves with, like the hat with a bob that covers the teapot while the tea brews, or this dessert that looks like an overturned flowerpot. The prices are average.

Mikhail Mordasov/ТАSS

You take the cableway to Khmeli Ice Suneli. Inside, you find yourself in this austere ambience with a Georgian feel, Georgian food (reduced to minimalism, in a good way), and perfect service. You get this “lush life” vibe from the place, and you are apt to forget which country you’re in. The food tastes familiar - it’s southern Caucasus food alright. But somehow it tastes different when accompanied by this chilly decorum, the elegant European-class service and the sounds of foreign speech all around you. Khmeli Ice Suneli is highly regarded by foreign visitors from every part of the world.

Confidently order the familiar Georgian specialties: any of the numerous char-broiled offerings, khachapuri, eggplant rolls and home-baked bread. The menu does list some European and Russian selections, such as borsch and onion soup. There is a separate section for vegetarians. Leave some room for Khmeli Ice Suneli’s excellent jams, made from mandarins, feijoa and guilder rose – but not only. Half of the entrees are served in clay pots. The restaurant has a roomy porch. It’s nice to sit out there, sipping local wine and eyeing the other holiday-makers.

В ресторане работает огромная веранда, на которой приятно распивать местные вина и рассматривать отдыхающих. 

Reserve Russia 2018 LOC is not liable for any reservation services provided by third parties.

Amshensky Dvor serves Caucasian food, mostly Armenian with some infusions of Georgian, Greek and even Russian, amid fancy interiors evoking the harsh life of peasants in the mountains. The restaurant is part of a veritable outdoor museum of ethnography with carts, farming tools, earthenware and other historical household objects from the Caucasus. Some people visit the museum, but not the restaurant. Maybe they should think twice. The food is really good and the servings plentiful at Amshensky Dvor: their pork shish kebab is grilled to perfection, the lobio has the gentlest texture, the lavash bread is evanescently thin yet won’t break. A tip from the regulars: order one dish for two, this way you get to try more of the menu.

Рестораны кавказской кухни

Михаил Мордасов/ТАСС
Забронировать АНО «Оргкомитет «Россия-2018» не несет ответственность за оказание услуг третьими лицами по бронированию мест в пунктах питания.

Средних масштабов городское кафе, в котором к хинкали относятся как к главному блюду. Хинкали традиционные, хинкали с бараниной или телятиной, хинкали жареные. Правда, несмотря на очевидную национальную ориентацию заведения, в "Хинкальной" на европейский манер готовят завтраки, куда входят два вида яичницы (по-кавказски и с бастурмой), каша и блинчики. При входе в кафе есть веранда. 

Михаил Мордасов/ТАСС
Забронировать АНО «Оргкомитет «Россия-2018» не несет ответственность за оказание услуг третьими лицами по бронированию мест в пунктах питания.

Садж из мяса и овощей, баранина, кутабы, шашлык, ливер и много чего еще – в "Кавказском дворике" представлена азербайджанская кухня в мельчайших подробностях. Не забывают тут и о популярных на курорте грузинских хинкали и хачапури. Из алкоголя преобладает азербайджанское вино, но есть и вина Армении, Грузии и Кубани. 

По утрам в ресторане готовят завтраки, предложение действительно с 10 до 12 утра. Интерьеры спокойные, почти домашние: старинные фотографии на стенах (виды Кавказа, национальные герои), музыкальные инструменты, развешанные вокруг камина, войлочные коврики, глиняные крынки и лоза на стене. 

Михаил Мордасов/ТАСС

Кафе, открытое московским ресторанным холдингом White Rabbit Family, чей ресторан White Rabbit занимает 18-е место в международном рейтинге The World’s 50 Best Restaurants 2016. 

В двух ресторанах "Че? Харчо!" кормят черноморской едой в самом широком ее понимании, отдавая предпочтение блюдам на гриле. Черноморской едой тут называют все то, что мы привыкли с детства видеть на южных курортах, – хинкали, шашлык, сациви, куриные котлетки, харчо, люля-кебаб и местную рыбу – речную и морскую. Владельцы ресторана постоянно подчеркивают, что готовят из местных продуктов. В меню прописаны сложносочиненные лимонады и морсы и компоты. Барная карта не так разнообразна, но зато в ней встречаются грузинские и крымские вина. 

Михаил Мордасов/ТАСС
Забронировать АНО «Оргкомитет «Россия-2018» не несет ответственность за оказание услуг третьими лицами по бронированию мест в пунктах питания.

Один из самых популярных ресторанов Адлера, удобно расположенный недалеко от пляжа. Меню смешанное, но, как и в большинстве сочинских ресторанов, тут преобладает кавказская кухня: за местными имеретинскими хачапури, аджапсандали и шашлыком сюда специально приходят отдыхающие. Также популярна рыба и морепродукты, которые тут вписаны в меню отдельной большой графой. В винной карте большой выбор грузинских и абхазских вин, распивать которые лучше на большой нарядной веранде. 

La luna – один из тех ресторанов, куда можно прийти на ужин, нарядившись в коктейльное платье или костюм, респектабельности заведению не занимать, а туристам и командировочным есть, где выгуливать наряды и вести переговоры. Вечерами играют приглашенные музыканты. 

Михаил Мордасов/ТАСС

С виду обычная столовая, доставшаяся городу в наследство из 1990-х годов, это одна из лучших хинкальных в городе, куда не ленятся приезжать всей семьей с другого конца Сочи. Хинкали тут подают вареными и жареными, и это хит программы. Популярны также люля-кебаб и шашлык, а также десерты: песочные корзиночки и варенье всех мастей. 

Порции в "Белых ночах" щедрые. Стоит заметить, что дешевым это заведение кажется за счет популярных хинкали, которые везде стоят недорого, и из-за скромного интерьера. А на деле, заказав блюда с мангала, стоимость которых измеряется в граммах, сразу чувствуешь себя посетителем средней руки ресторана, но никак не столовой. 

Михаил Мордасов/ТАСС

Заведение грузинской кухни, в меню которого есть и итальянские блюда, и борщ с салатом "Цезарь", и оливье. Но приходят в "Хмели & сунели" именно за грузинскими блюдами. Да и обойти этот ресторан стороной при всем желании трудно – он находится прямо в центре Сочи, большая уютная веранда и запахи жареного на мангале мяса не дают свернуть в сторону. Местный хит – телячья шаурма, о которой складывают легенды, и напиток тархун – мало кому удается сделать его не приторным, а таким тонким и свежим, как здесь. 

При ресторане работает кулинарная лавка, все самое вкусное можно забрать с собой. По утрам тут готовят завтраки, ради которых не лень встать пораньше. Детям обязательно заказывайте уменьшенные до игрушечных размеров хачапури по-аджарски. После обеда детей можно отправить на кулинарный мастер-класс, которые тут регулярно проводятся. 

Михаил Мордасов/ТАСС

Скромное заведение кавказской кухни, сосредоточенное на изготовлении хачапури: они здесь огромные, их несколько видов, в том числе и самые популярные – по-аджарски, с щедрыми порциями свежего сыра. В меню есть несколько видов салата, но он, скорее, является приложением к выпечке. 

Кафе оформлено более чем скромно, сюда приходят не за спокойными семейными обедами или долгими разговорами, а для того, чтобы быстро и вкусно пообедать и за небольшие деньги получить самые вкусные хачапури в городе. В кафе есть доставка, оно работает быстро, заказ доставляют в любую точку Сочи в наисвежайшем виде. 

Михаил Мордасов/ТАСС

Ресторан, считающийся у местных жителей одним из лучших грузинских ресторанов города. Домашний интерьер – стол со скатертью, круглый абажур с мягким светом и ковры на полу, простая атмосфера, сугубо национальные блюда – харчо, пхали, хинкали, хачапури, оджахури, пеламуши и мацони, ради которого сюда приходят по утрам с гудящей головой. 

В "Сулугуни" хорошо приходить всей семьей по выходным – ощущение домашнего неторопливого обеда гарантировано. После обеда можно поиграть в нарды. Детям тут рады, даже если ребенку не захочется рисовать или играть, ему все равно что-то понравится – от шапки с помпоном, водруженной на заварочный чайник, до десерта в виде опрокинутого цветочного горшка.

Михаил Мордасов/ТАСС

Поднявшись на фуникулере, оказываешься в строгом заведении с грузинской кухней, сведенной до минимализма, с вышколенными официантами и ощущением заграничной жизни, правда, в какой именно стране ты находишься, понять не получается. Привычный вкус южной кухни оттеняется холодом интерьеров, изысканной европейской подачей блюд и иностранной речью со всех сторон – "Хмели Ice Сунели" числится на хорошем счету у гостей со всего света. 

Заказывать тут надо привычные грузинские специалитеты – многочисленные блюда на мангале, хачапури, рулетики из баклажанов и домашний хлеб. В меню есть европейские и русские позиции вроде борща и лукового супа, и даже отдельная графа для вегетарианцев. А еще тут кормят замечательным вареньем, например, из мандарина, фейхоа и калины. Половина горячих блюд подается в чугунных горшочках. 

В ресторане работает огромная веранда, на которой приятно распивать местные вина и рассматривать отдыхающих. 

Забронировать АНО «Оргкомитет «Россия-2018» не несет ответственность за оказание услуг третьими лицами по бронированию мест в пунктах питания.

Кавказская кухня в затейливых интерьерах, напоминающих о суровой жизни горных крестьян. В меню преобладает армянская кухня, но есть и греческая, и грузинская, и даже русская. Сам ресторан является частью большого этнографического комплекса, с телегами, орудиями труда, глиняными крынками и другими предметами быта народов Кавказа. Заведение настолько серьезное, что в комплекс этот приходят, как в полноценный музей, иногда минуя ресторан. А зря. В "Амшенском дворе" кормят обильно и вкусно: шашлык из свинины прожарен до идеального состояния, лобио превращается в нежнейшую субстанцию, лаваш тончайший и не рвется. Бывалые посетители предупреждают, что лучше заказывать одно блюдо на двоих, чтобы побольше всего попробовать.