Stadiums and sports complexes

Stanislav Krasilnikov/TASS

The motor racing track in Sochi has become one of the most popular and valued sports facilities in the city. It was built in the Imeretinskaya lowland. The main purpose of the motor racing track is to host the annual Russian Formula 1 Grand Prix. However, during the rest of the time it is also used for other events. Many Russian and international competitions and races are held there.

One of the best racing tracks in the world hosts such evens as the Russian cup of circle racing Mitjet 2L, as well we the TCR International Series championship. Athletes are also extensively using the track. The first ones to run there were the participants in the first Sochi half marathon. The motor racing track also hosts the Russian triathlon championship IRONSTAR 226 SOCHI and the international racing competitions Rezept Wheelchair racing.

Artur Lebedev/ТАSS

The white-blue Iceberg stadium is the most colorful venue in the Olympic park. It attracts tourists attention right away and seems that it has come from the sea depth with its specific design. It was built especially for the 2014 Olympic games for the performances of figure skating sportsmen and short track competitions, which could be seen by up to 12 thousand viewers. One of the specific features of the stadium is that it has two microclimates: the one on the ice stage and the second for the stands, which allows the viewers to watch the show wearing light summer clothing.

The ice cover of the Iceberg stadium is unique, as it may change depending on the type of the competition held there – for figure skating or for short tack. Moreover, summer types of sports competitions may be also held there thanks to the special surface coating terracover, which is applied directly to the ice.

After the Olympic games in 2014 international and Russian figure skating, short track, dancing sports, fencing, sports walking competitions were held in Iceberg stadium. The ice shows of the famous figure skating sportsmen and producer Ilya Overbukh are regularly held there.

In the Sochi Khostinskiy rayon, near the yacht club, is located the main sports venue of Maluy Sochi – the Central stadium, which was named after the great Soviet football player Slava Metreveli, who came from this region. The Stadium was built in 1964 and today is part of the complex of the Southern sports unit, which has become a base for Russian Olympic and Paralympic players.

Within the frames of the Olympic renovation on the stadium with places for 12 thousand viewers strong lighting equipment was installed, which allowed the organizers to hold competitions even during night time. Locals are also proud of the stadium’s football field with a special natural grass lawn. On the stadium regular training sessions of different teams take place and, of course, football tournaments of international and national level. The spectacular matches there are held also by rugby players. The stadium hosted the play-offs between the teams of Russia, Georgia and Germany during the European championship.

Ruslan Shamukov/ТАSS

The most modest sports arena in the Olympic park is the Ice cube arena, which has become the most visited and interesting sports venue in Sochi. The relatively small in comparison to other venues gray-blue building of almost cubic form is located between the Bolshoi stadium and the Adler arena.

According to the project, Ice cube can be demolished at any moment and relocated in a different place. During the Olympic games in 2014 curling tournaments took place there.

Today the ice stadium, which can receive nearly 3 thousand viewers, has become also a concert hall. The famous TV show Comedy club was filmed there, famous singers performed there, besides, the well-known 3D musical Pola Negri – the Hollywood star was played on the stadium. However, the ice stadium still hosts curling championships.

Artur Lebedev/ТАSS

The famous ice stadium designed as a giant water drop in the Olympic park became one of the most popular sports venues in Sochi after the Games in 2014, during which the stadium hosted the main hockey play-offs in the Hockey tournament. On the Bolshoi arena the junior hockey championship in 2013, the First channel cup and other events were held there. Besides, the Bolshoi became a beloved place for various artists, who perform shows right on the stadium.

In 2014 the hosts of the stadium were hockey players, while the local club Sochi, participating in the Continental league, made this stadium a home venue. During the play-offs on the stands, designed for 12 thousand people, there were almost no places left.

Bolshoi is considered to be the most modern and well-equipped ice arena in the country. Take at least its giant media cube, which is hanging from the roof. It broadcasts the best moments of hockey battles.

Стадионы и дворцы спорта

Станислав Красильников/ТАСС

Одним из самых популярных и востребованных спортивных объектов в Сочи стал автодром, построенный в Имеретинской низменности. Главное назначение автодрома – проведение ежегодного Гран-при России "Формула-1". Однако и в остальное время трасса не пустует. Здесь проходят различные российские и международные соревнования и гонки. 

На одной из лучших трасс мира регулярно устраиваются этапы Кубка России по кольцевым гонкам Mitjet 2L, а также проводилось первенство TCR International Series. Освоили трассу и легкоатлеты, первыми стали участники первого сочинского полумарафона. Принимает автодром и чемпионат России по триатлону IRONSTAR 226 SOCHI, и международные соревнования по гонкам на спортивных колясках Rezept-Sport Wheelchair racing.

Артур Лебедев/ТАСС

Самый яркий ледовый дворец в Олимпийском парке, моментально привлекающий внимание всех туристов, словно вынырнувший из пучины морской бело-сине-голубой "Айсберг". Он был построен к Олимпийским играм 2014 года для выступлений фигуристов и соревнований по шорт-треку, следить за которыми могли до 12 тысяч зрителей. Одна из особенностей дворца – два микроклимата: отдельно для трибун и для ледового покрытия, что позволяет зрителям наслаждаться ледовым шоу, будучи в легкой летней одежде. 

Ледовое покрытие "Айсбрега" тоже уникально и может меняться  в зависимости от вида соревнований – для фигурного катания или шорт-трека. Более того, во дворце можно устраивать соревнования по летним видам спорта благодаря специальному покрытию terracover, которое накладывается прямо на лед. 

После Олимпийских игр-2014 в "Айсберге" проходили международные и российские соревнования по фигурному катанию и шорт-треку, танцевальному спорту, фехтованию, спортивной ходьбе. Постоянную прописку во дворце получили ледовые шоу известного фигуриста и продюсера Ильи Авербуха.

wikipedia.org/Yurgins

В Хостинском районе Сочи, рядом с яхт-клубом, находится главный спортивный объект Малого Сочи – Центральный стадион, названный именем великого советского футболиста Славы Метревели, местного уроженца. Стадион был построен в 1964 году и сегодня входит в комплекс Южного федерального центра спортивной подготовки, ставшего базой для российских олимпийцев и паралимпийцев. 

В рамках "олимпийского" обновления на стадионе, вмещающем более десяти тысяч зрителей, было установлено мощное освещение, позволяющее комфортно проводить матчи в ночное время. Гордятся здесь и футбольным полем с натуральным газоном. На стадионе регулярно проходят тренировки различных сборных команд и, конечно, футбольные турниры международного и российского уровня. Зрелищные матчи тут устраивают и регбисты. Здесь проходили встречи сборных России, Грузии и Германии в рамках чемпионата Европы.

Руслан Шамуков/ТАСС

Самая скромная в Олимпийском парке спортивная арена – "Ледяной куб" – стала одним из самых посещаемых и интересных спортивных сооружений. Небольшое по сравнению с другими аренами сине-серое здание почти квадратной формы расположено между дворцом спорта "Большой" и "Адлер-Ареной". 

По проекту, "Ледяной куб" может быть в любой момент демонтирован и перевезен на новое место. Во время Олимпийских игр в 2014 году в нем проходили состязания по керлингу. 

Сегодня ледовый дворец, вмещающий около трех тысяч зрителей, стал и концертным залом. Здесь проходили съемки популярного телешоу Comedy Club, выступали звезды отечественной эстрады и даже проходили представления 3D-мюзикла "Пола Негри – звезда Голливуда". Однако "Ледяной куб" по-прежнему принимает чемпионаты мира по керлингу.

Артур Лебедев/ТАСС

Знаменитый ледовый дворец в виде огромной капли в Олимпийском парке стал одним из самых популярных спортивных объектов в Сочи после Игр-2014, во время которых он принимал главные матчи хоккейного турнира. На арене "Большого" проходили чемпионат мира по хоккею среди юниорских команд 2013 года, Кубок Первого канала и другие мероприятия, причем не только спортивные – полюбился "Большой" и артистам, которые устраивают здесь масштабные шоу.

В 2014 году хозяевами дворца спорта стали хоккеисты, а местный клуб "Сочи", выступающий в Континентальной хокейной лиге, сделал его домашним. В дни хоккейных матчей на трибунах, рассчитанных на 12 тысяч зрителей, почти нет свободных мест. 

"Большой" считается самой современной и хорошо оборудованной ледовой ареной в стране. Чего стоит только огромный медиа-куб, подвешенный к крыше, на котором транслируются лучшие моменты хоккейных сражений.