Theatres and concert halls

The Stalingrad Musical Comedy Theatre had its first premiere in the former building of Tsaritsin’s Concordia Theatre, on the bank of the Tsaritsa River, in 1932. It was the operetta The Bondwoman by Nikolai Strelnikov. The company rolled out 13 premieres its first year, touring Moscow, Kiev and Kharkov. The subsequent seasons were just as successfUlitsa The company staged the works of such operetta classics as Carl Zeller, Robert Planquette, Franz Lehar, Imre Kalman, and Johann Strauss, as well as the operettas of modern composers: Sorochintsi Fair by Aleksey Ryabov, Wedding at Malinovka by Boris Aleksandrov, Golden Valley by Isaac Dunayevsky, and others. Then came the war. Everything the company had – props, costumes, even the building – was destroyed in the Battle of Stalingrad. Evacuating to Kazan and Omsk, the Stalingrad Musical Company Theatre continued to rehearse and perform. When Stalingrad was liberated, the company returned to the city intact. The Tractor Factory gave the company its recently renovated club building. The place was not very comfortable to work in. There was no heating, but the house was always packed for the company’s performances. The Stalingrad Musical Company Theatre was allotted a beautiful historical building on the embankment in 1952. The company’s repertoire continued to expand. The staged the operas The Bartered Bride by Bedrich Smetana and Sorochintsi Fair by Modest Mussorgsky, the ballets The Red Poppy by Reinhold Gliere and Esmeralda by Cesare Pugni, and many other works. Several great composers collaborated with the Stalingrad Musical Company Theatre in the 1960s and 1970s: Vasily Solovyov-Sedoi, Vladimir Semyonov, Nikolai Minh, and Konstantin Listov. The company won a USSR National Award for its production of the operetta The Snow Mountaintops Tune by Georgy Tsabadze in 1972, and won the same award again a few years later for the play Girl Hero Wanted by Veniambin Basner. The company’s musicians manned Volgograd’s first symphony orchestra.  

The company’s building was closed for renovation in the early 1990s, which took five years. The Volgograd Musical Theatre had to perform on other people’s stages in the meantime, but its creative process continued nonstop. The company staged new productions and played concerts. The company officially became a “musical” theatre in 1995. In 2003, it won a Volgograd City Award for its musical The Great Heroism of Stalingrad, timed to celebrate the 60th anniversary of the Victory in the Battle of Stalingrad.

The Volgograd Musical Theatre has hosted the Interregional Christmas Festival of Young Musicians since the early 2000s. In 2001, it hosted the premiere of the Autumnal Volga opera festival, featuring opera soloists from Russia and the newly independent states. The first operetta festival named in honour of the People’s Artist of Russia Tamara Papina, an Honorary Citizen of the Hero City Volgograd, also took place at the Volgograd Musical Theatre in 2004. The Volgograd Musical Theatre has staged more than 400 shows in its lifetime, raising several generations of talented actors and musicians. The Volgograd Musical Theatre is currently led by head director Alexander Kutyavin, Merited Artist of Russia, and head conductor Vadim Venediktov, also a Merited Artist of Russia, who faithfully uphold the company’s high artistic standards.  

Sergey Grigorenko/Welcome2018.com

The first Cossack theatre in the region was the travelling theatre company from the Cossack village of Uriupinskaya, formed in 1909. It was the second officially recognized Cossack theatre company to be established in Russia. In 1970 it was merged with the Ka.m.yshin Drama Theatre, and the new company was named Donskoy Cossack Theatre. In 1992 it was transformed into the National Donskoy Cossack Theatre in what was hailed as the first ever theatre project exemplifying the traditions of the Cossacks from the region of the River Don. The mission of the Cossack theatre is to narrate the unique history and culture of the Cossack land in the language of theatre. The company’s first premiere was the play I Came to Give You Freedom, based on the eponymous novel of Vasily Shukshin. Their productions combine professional acting with folk drama, the use of historical musical instruments, and Cossack chorus. The repertoire consist of classical and modern plays, such as From Love to Hatred by Nikolai Staritsky, Vanka-Cain by Boris Khmelnitsky, Podkhaliuzin and Company by Alexander Ostrovsky, and The Sands by Alexander Serafimovich, to name a few.

The theatre was founded by Honoured Artist of Russia Vladimir Lyapichev, who became the company’s first art director. The company won the Grand Prix of the Kompliment Festival in Novocherkassk in 2005 with their production of Villagers, a play by Alexander Kopkov. In 2006 and 2007 the company won two consecutive awards of the international festival Homo Ludens in Nikolayev, Ukraine. The new head director, Vladimir Tikhonravov, who took over in 2010, substantially rejuvenated the repertoire. In 2011 the company was renamed Volgograd Musical Drama Theatre of the Cossacks. The Cossack theatre has toured extensively in Russia and abroad. The company performed its Cossack Tall Tales at the opening of the 3rd international theatre festival At Trinity in Sergiev Posad near Moscow in 2016. The company is domiciled in a historical building, the architectural style of which has been described as “eclecticism in brick.” The building was 150 years old in 2012. 

Sergey Grigorenko/Welcome2018.com

The Volgograd Youth Theatre opened with the premiere of The Feast for My Eyes, based on an Aleksey Arbuzov play, at the former Volga cinema in September 2006. Until then the youth theatre had existed as an independent project, Youth Theatre at Knyagininskaya, under the directorship of Aleksey Serov. Vladimir Bondarenko took over the directing in 2012. The Youth Theatre’s repertoire lists 26 plays, representing the full ga.m.ut of theatre genres, including plays for children. The company appears frequently at theatre festivals. In 2008 the Youth Theatre won a Volgograd Region state prize in the Theatre Arts category for its play The Face of War is not a Woman’s Face, based on the book by Svetlana Aleksievich. The company performed this play in 13 cities across Russia and Belarus as part of the Volgograd’s Memory Mission initiative in 2010. The Youth Theatre won another Volgograd Region state prize in 2014, this time for its play Before the Rooster Crows. The Volgograd Youth Theatre house is small, seating only 82. There is no proper stage, and hence no divide between the actors and the audience. 

Nikolay Galkin/TASS

The Philharmonic has featured very prominently in the life of Stalingrad and then Volgograd since the day it opened in 1936. The creative mainspring of the Philharmonic in its early years was the Stalingrad Radio Committee Symphony Orchestra, and its first stage was the city park of culture and recreation.

The Volgograd Region Philharmonic, which marked its 80th anniversary in 2016, hosts over 400 concerts by Russian and international artists every year. Affiliated with the Philharmonic are the Volgograd Academic Symphony Orchestra, Nikolai Kalinin Russian Folk Orchestra of the Volga, Volgograd Choral Capella, Lazorevyi Tsvetok Cossack song ensemble, Tsaritsa song ensemble, Vishnyovyi Sad vocal and instrumental ensemble, Grigory Ponomarenko folk and pop song ensemble, and many individual vocalists and instrumentalists. The Philharmonic music collectives perform in many musical genres: symphony, folk, organ, cha.m.er, a cappella, instrumental, classical, Russian, world music, and so on. They play for adult and young audiences.

The cha.m.er organ in the Philharmonic’s Central Concert Space is a real treasure. Crafted by Rieger Kloss of Czechoslovakia in 1982, the organ was a gift to Volgograd as a token of friendship between the people of Czechoslovakia and the Soviet Union. The art deco organ is exceptionally advanced technologically. The first organ concerts were played in the autumn of 1989. In 1996 and 2000, the CCS hosted international festivals of organ music featuring such celebrated organists as Daniel Roth (France), Hans van Nieuwkoop (Netherlands) and Peter Planjawski (Austria). The organ season begins in September and continues until next June in Volgograd. The evening concert series Baroque to Modern: A Collection of Masterpieces, Musical Legends, and Organ Plus are especially popular with the local audiences.

The Volgograd Region Philharmonic has hosted the Nikolai Kalinin festival of professional folk orchestras more than once. The festival premiered in the spring of 2005, and its geography has since expanded with every passing year. The third festival, staged in 2009, was awarded international status.

CON BRIO, the international Christmas Season’s arts festival under the auspices of the Volgograd Region Philharmonic premiered in the winter of 2008. The festival has since been graced, in different years, by the participation of such great artists as the organists Evgeniya Lisitsina (Latvia) and Anastasia Sidelnikova (Moscow), vocalist Tatyana Teslya (Czech Republic), organist Sergei Parshin (Moscow), and others. The Volgograd Region Philharmonic sponsors the creative progra.m.me for children, Flowers of Music. The winners of the Flowers of Music competition enjoy the privilege of performing with the Volgograd Academic Symphony Orchestra. 

Sergey Grigorenko/Welcome2018.com

Tsaritsin’s first opera company was formed in 1908 thanks to the owner of Concordia Theatre, Vladimir Miller. Soloists for the new opera company were recruited from the Imperial Theatres in St. Petersburg and from Saratov Opera. This was not, however, a full-bodied opera house, and the city never saw one until 1993, when Volgograd Opera became a private theatrical enterprise. The new private opera company had its first premiere – the opera Cio-Cio-San by Giacomo Puccini – on the stage of the Central Concert Space. Tsaritsin Opera, the successor of the private opera company, is a government-sponsored opera house. It opened in 2004, moving into the building of the former culture palace of the Red October Steel Works. The concert space in the culture palace, built in 1956 in the Stalin Empire style to the design of Yakov Kornfeld, is distinguished by quality acoustics. Tsaritsin Opera’s first premiere was The Snow Maiden by Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov, staged by Bolshoi Theatre director Mikhail Panjavidze. 

The theatre’s 2004 opening was celebrated with the 1st international Tsaritsin Opera Traditions festival, featuring opera soloists from Moscow, Nizhny Novgorod, Samara, Saratov, Perm, Odessa and Kharkov. Tsaritsin Opera has collaborated with Moscow’s Bolshoi Theatre since 2006. Opera soloists from Moscow work on Volgograd opera productions alongside their colleagues from Kazan, Ufa and Saratov. In its first few years, Tsaritsin Opera staged the operas The Impresario by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, Cio-Cio-San by Giacomo Puccini, Aida by Giuseppe Verdi, The Snow Maiden by Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov, and The Mermaid by Alexander Dargomyzhsky, and the ballets The Lady and the Hooligan by Dmitri Shostakovich, Walpurgis Night by Charles Gounod, Apollo Musagetes by Igor Stravinsky and Giselle by Adolf Adan. The Volgograd Region Ministry of Culture decided to make Tsaritsin Opera into a repertoire theatre in 2011. Tsaritsin Opera hosts the Operatic Alliance international arts festival every May. 

The one actor of Volgograd’s Solo Actor Theatre is Zinaida Gurova, a Merited Artist of Russia, who is the producer, director and artistic decision-maker on this project. Gurova writes her own scripts, designs the stage art, directs and plays all the parts herself. The first premiere of the theatre, which was established in 1989, was The Holy Truth, based on the poems and letters of Anna Akhmatova. The Solo Actor Theatre has produced 25 original plays in the nearly three decades that it has been around. As an actor, some of Zinaida Gurova’s fortés are her beautiful voice and excellent elocution. Her superb mastery of the spoken word is a leading factor in the success of her one-woman shows.   

Zinaida Gurova hosts the international theatre festival, One and All, which is on the European calendar of monodrama festivals under UNESCO auspices, held in Volgograd every by-year. Gurova tours far and wide, taking her theatre to Moscow, St. Petersburg, Sevastopol, Baku, Perm, Krasnodar and even across the national frontier – to Bulgaria, Czech Republic and Poland.

Театры и концертные залы

Николай Галкин/ТАСС
На площади Павших Борцов находятся еще два здания. Первое здание занимает Новый экспериментальный театр под руководством народного артиста России Отара Джангишерашвили, прославившегося нетрадиционным подходом к классике.

Здание театра было построено в 1915 году как Дом науки и искусства на средства купца Александра Репникова. Реконструкция, завершившаяся в 1952 году, превратила этот объект в один из первых "городских дворцов". За колоннадой со скульптурами можно разглядеть отреставрированный довоенный фасад. До 1989 года здесь находился Волгоградский драматический театр имени Максима Горького.
В 1932 году в здании царицынского театра "Конкордия", располагавшегося на берегу реки Царицы, состоялась первая премьера Сталинградского театра музыкальной комедии – постановка оперетты Николая Стрельникова "Холопка". В первый же год своего существования Сталинградская музкомедия представила зрителям 13 премьерных спектаклей и посетила с гастролями Москву, Киев и Харьков. Следующие сезоны были не менее удачными. В театре шли постановки по произведениям таких классиков оперетты, как Карл Целлер, Робер Планкетт, Франц Легар, Имре Кальман, Иоганн Штраус, а также современные оперетты: Алексея Рябова "Сорочинская ярмарка", Бориса Александрова "Свадьба в Малиновке", Исаака Дунаевского "Золотая долина". Плодотворную работу прервала война. В огне Сталинградской битвы погибло все: костюмы, декорации и даже здание. Во время эвакуации в Казани и Омске творческая работа театра не останавливалась, а после труппа в полном составе вернулась в освобожденный Сталинград. Тракторный завод передал театру отремонтированное здание клуба. Условий не было, отопления не было, но постановки собирали аншлаги. В 1952 году Сталинградская музкомедия получила прекрасное историческое здание на набережной. Репертуар театра продолжал расширяться. Были поставлены оперы "Проданная невеста" Бедржиха Сметаны, "Сорочинская ярмарка" Модеста Мусоргского, балеты "Красный мак" Рейнгольда Глиэра, "Эсмеральда" Цезаря Пуни и многие другие. В 1960-1970-е годы с коллективом театра работали такие известные композиторы, как Василий Соловьев-Седой, Владимир Семенов, Николай Минх, Константин Листов. За постановку оперетты "Мелодия снежных гор" Георгия Цабадзе в 1972 году театр был удостоен Государственной премии СССР. Через несколько лет премию получил спектакль "Требуется героиня" по произведению Вениамина Баснера. На основе музыкального коллектива театра был создан первый в городе симфонический оркестр.

В начале 1990-х годов здание театра на пять лет было закрыто на ремонт. Коллективу пришлось работать на чужих площадках, но творческий процесс не останавливался, появлялись новые постановки, концертные программы. В 1995 году театр получил статус музыкального. В 2003 году стал лауреатом премии города Волгограда за музыкальную постановку "Великий подвиг Сталинграда", приуроченную к празднованию 60-летия Победы в Сталинградской битве.

С начала 2000-х годов театр проводит межрегиональный рождественский фестиваль юных музыкантов. В 2001 году состоялся первый оперный фестиваль "Осенняя Волга" с участием солистов оперных театров России и ближнего зарубежья. В 2004 году прошел первый фестиваль оперетты имени народной артистки России Тамары Папиной, почетного гражданина города-героя Волгограда. За всю историю театр создал более 400 постановок, на его сцене выросло несколько поколений талантливых актеров и музыкантов. Сегодня традиции продолжают главный режиссер, заслуженный артист России Александр Кутявин и главный дирижер, заслуженный артист России Вадим Венедиктов.
Сергей Григоренко/Welcome2018.com
Первый казачий театр в регионе был создан в 1909 году в станице Урюпинской – Урюпинский областной передвижной театр, который стал вторым государственным казачьим театром России. В 1970 году его реорганизовали, объединив с Камышинским драматическим театром, новый коллектив получил название "Донской казачий театр". В 1992 году на его базе был создан Государственный Донской казачий театр, один из первых театральных проектов, которому удалось воплотить традиции донского казачества. Основная задача казачьего театра – рассказывать об уникальной истории и культуре родного края. Первой премьерой стал спектакль "Я пришел дать вам волю" по одноименному произведению Василия Шукшина. В постановках сочетаются профессионализм драматических актеров, народная драматургия, старинные музыкальные инструменты и казачье народное многоголосье. Репертуар представлен такими спектаклями, как "От любви до ненависти" Николая Старицкого, "Ванька-Каин" Бориса Хмельницкого, "Подхалюзин и компания" Александра Островского, "Пески" Александра Серафимовича и многими другими. В афише как классические, так и современные постановки.

Основателем театра и его первым художественным руководителем стал заслуженный артист России Владимир Ляпичев. В 2005 году его актеры завоевали первое место на фестивале "Комплимент" (г. Новочеркасск) за постановку "Хуторяне" по пьесе Александра Копкова. В 2006 и 2007 годах театр получил диплом международного фестиваля Homo ludens (г. Николаев, Украина). В 2010 году главным режиссером театра стал Владимир Тихонравов, который значительно обновил репертуар, а в 2011 году театр был переименован в Волгоградский музыкально-драматический казачий театр. Казачий театр побывал с гастролями во многих городах России и ближнего зарубежья. В 2016 году он открывал III Международный театральный фестиваль "У Троицы" (г. Сергиев Посад) спектаклем "Казачьи сказы". Особенный интерес представляет здание театра в стиле кирпичной эклектики, являющееся памятником архитектуры, которому в 2012 году исполнилось 150 лет.
Сергей Григоренко/Welcome2018.com
В сентябре 2006 года премьерой спектакля "Мое загляденье" по пьесе Алексея Арбузова в помещении бывшего кинотеатра "Волга" открылся Волгоградский молодежный театр. До этого он существовал как независимый проект "Молодежный театр на Княгининской" под руководством режиссера Алексея Серова. В 2012 году театр возглавил режиссер Владимир Бондаренко. Репертуар насчитывает 26 спектаклей, представляющих весь спектр театральных жанров, в том числе постановки для детей. Труппа театра принимает активное участие в различных фестивалях. В 2008 году за спектакль "У войны не женское лицо" по произведению Светланы Алексиевич молодежный театр был награжден государственной премией Волгоградской области в номинации "Театральное искусство". В 2010 году творческий коллектив показал этот спектакль в 13 городах России и Белоруссии в рамках акции "Волгоград – миссия памяти". В 2014 году театр также удостоился государственной премии Волгоградской области за постановку "Прежде чем пропоет петух". В уютном зрительном зале, рассчитанном на 82 места, отсутствует сцена, нет границы между актерами и зрителями.
Николай Галкин/ТАСС
Филармония принимала активное участие в жизни города с самого открытия в 1936 году. Основой творческого объединения стал симфонический оркестр радиокомитета Сталинграда, а первой площадкой – городской парк культуры и отдыха.

В 2016 году Волгоградская областная филармония отметила 80-летний юбилей. Каждый год на ее площадке проходит более 400 концертов российских и зарубежных мастеров. В структуру филармонии входят Волгоградский академический симфонический оркестр, Волжский русский народный оркестр имени Николая Калинина, Волгоградская хоровая капелла, ансамбль казачьей песни "Лазоревый цветок", ансамбль песни "Царица", ансамбль песни, романса и инструментальной музыки "Вишневый сад", ансамбль народной и эстрадной песни имени Григория Пономаренко, а также солисты-инструменталисты и вокалисты. Коллективы филармонии исполняют симфоническую, народную, органную, камерную, вокальную, инструментальную, классическую, современную, отечественную, зарубежную музыку, произведения как для детей, так и для взрослых.

Жемчужиной филармонии является концертный орган в Центральном концертном зале. Он был сделан в 1982 году в Чехословакии фирмой "Ригер-Клосс" и подарен городу-герою Волгограду в знак дружбы чешского и русского народов. Выполненный в стиле модерн, инструмент обладает незаурядными техническими возможностями. Первые органные концерты состоялись осенью 1989 года. В 1996 и 2000 годах на площадке ЦКЗ проходили международные фестивали органной музыки с участием таких прославленных органистов, как Даниэль Рот (Франция), Ханс ван Ньюкоп (Голландия), Петер Планявски (Австрия). Сезоны органной музыки проходят в городе с сентября по июнь. Особенной популярностью пользуются вечерние концерты из серии "Коллекция шедевров от барокко до модерна", "Музыкальные легенды", "Орган плюс".

Волгоградская областная филармония не раз становилась площадкой для фестиваля профессиональных народных оркестров имени Николая Калинина. Первый прошел весной 2005 года, и с каждым годом его география расширяется. Третий фестиваль, в 2009 году, получил статус международного.

Зимой 2008 года под эгидой областной филармонии впервые прошел международный новогодний фестиваль искусств CON BRIO. Гостями фестиваля в разные годы были органисты Евгения Лисицына (Латвия), Анастасия Сидельникова (Москва), певица Татьяна Тесля (Чехия), органист Алексей Паршин (Москва) и многие другие. Также Волгоградская областная филармония поддерживает детскую творческую программу "Цветы музыки". Лауреаты этой программы получают право выступить в сопровождении Волгоградского академического симфонического оркестра.
Сергей Григоренко/Welcome2018.com
Первая в Царицыне оперная труппа была создана в 1908 году стараниями владельца театра "Конкордия" Владимира Миллера. Солистов пригласили из столичных императорских театров и Саратовской оперы. Полноценный оперный театр, представленный Волгоградской оперной антрепризой, появился в городе только в 1993 году. На сцене Центрального концертного зала коллектив антрепризы выступил со своим первым спектаклем – оперой Дж. Пуччини "Чио-Чио-сан". В 2004 году открылся преемник антрепризы государственный театр "Царицынская опера", которому отдали в распоряжение здание дворца культуры металлургического завода "Красный Октябрь". Концертный зал дворца культуры, построенного в 1956 году по проекту архитектора Якова Корнфельда в стиле сталинского ампира, обладает уникальными акустическими характеристиками. Первой премьерой стала опера "Снегурочка" Николая Римского-Корсакова в постановке режиссера Большого театра Михаила Панджавидзе. К открытию театра в 2004 году было приурочено проведение I Международного фестиваля "Царицынские оперные традиции", в котором приняли участие солисты оперных театров Москвы, Нижнего Новгорода, Самары, Саратова, Перми, Одессы и Харькова. С 2006 года театр сотрудничает с коллективом Большого театра России. В волгоградских оперных постановках принимают участие солисты оперных театров столицы, а также Казани, Уфы, Саратова. За несколько лет на сцене "Царицынской оперы" были поставлены спектакли "Директор театра" Вольфганга Моцарта, "Чио-Чио-сан" Джакомо Пуччини, "Аида" Джузеппе Верди, "Снегурочка" Николая Римского-Корсакова, "Русалка" Александра Даргомыжского, балеты "Барышня и хулиган" Дмитрия Шостаковича, "Вальпургиева ночь" Шарля Гуно, "Аполлон Мусагет" Игоря Стравинского, "Жизель" Адольфа Адана. В 2011 году министерство культуры Волгоградской области решило сделать театр репертуарным. Ежегодно в мае театр становится площадкой международного фестиваля искусств "Оперный альянс".
Волгоградский театр одного актера связан с именем заслуженной артистки России Зинаиды Гуровой – продюсера, режиссера и художественного руководителя этого проекта. Гурова пишет сценарии, осуществляет постановку, подбирает оформление и играет все роли. Театр создан в 1989 году, первой постановкой стала "Святая правда" по стихам и письмам Анны Ахматовой. За почти 30-летнюю историю театра было создано 25 оригинальных спектаклей. Одни из главных достоинств Зинаиды Гуровой как актрисы – прекрасный голос и великолепная дикция. Выразительность и виртуозное владение речью – неизменные слагаемые успеха ее моноспектаклей.

Зинаида Гурова проводит международный фестиваль театров одного актера "Один и все", который включен в европейский календарь фестивалей одного актера под эгидой ЮНЕСКО и проводится в Волгограде раз в два года. География гастролей Гуровой достаточно широка. Спектакли ее театра идут в Москве, Санкт-Петербурге, Севастополе, Баку, Перми, Краснодаре, а также в разных городах ближнего зарубежья, в Болгарии, Чехии, Польше.