A walk around Old town

The early 20th century saw explosive economic growth at Tsaritsyn. But then came the revolution of 1917 and the Civil war, which was followed by the new construction, this time of pre-war Stalingrad. Take a walk through the old streets to get a feel of this provincial town’s life in the first years of the last century and before World War II.

Aleksandr Zelikov/TASS

Volgodonskaya Ulitsa (Volgodonskaya Street), a little island of Volgograd's Old town, begins with building No. 3, which is a part of the Central Post Office complex. This street dates back to the late 18th century, to the construction of Tsaritsyn's Preobrazhensky Forstad (which was the name given to city suburbs back then), and its original name was Anastasiyskaya Ulitsa (Anastasiyskaya Street). All of the streets in this suburb were given beautiful female names. The building lines of Preobrazhensky Forstad were done in 45° angles to the old Tsaritsyn Fortress. Before the revolution of 1917, Anastasiyskaya Ulitsa was home to small hotels and guesthouses, and there was lots of trading. In the 1920s, the street was given its contemporary name, Volgodonskaya. Legend says that the name embodies the great Russian dream of joining together two great Russian rivers, Volga and Don, which was later brought to life with the help of the Volga-Don Channel.

Today, the ensemble of Volgodonskaya Ulitsa buildings is considered a cultural heritage site. The buildings have a common feature in form of eclectic fancy brickwork with Art Nouveau elements.

Aleksandr Zelikov/TASS

Proletkultskaya Ulitsa (Proletkultskaya Street) is the city's shortest, with only two houses – No. 3 and No. 5. House No. 5 is a former merchant mansion, but, unfortunately, no information about its owners and construction has been preserved. The street was given its contemporary name after the revolution of 1917, and before that it was called Yekaterininskaya Ulitsa (Yekaterininskaya Street), and was one of this suburb's principal thoroughfares. Back then, the street had many more buildings, but today they are attributed to other streets – Komsomolskaya Ulitsa (Komsomolskaya Street) and Ulitsa Mira (Mira Street), and Prospekt Lenina (Lenina Avenue).

Aleksandr Zelikov/TASS

There is a dramatic story told about the a la Russe Repnikova Mansion, which was built in 1903. Historians believe that the house was a dowry gift from Tsaritsyn's wealthiest merchant Konstantin Voronin to his daughter Augusta. Another local merchant scion, Grigory Serebryakov, sought to marry Augusta, but she refused him in favour of a well-known local patron of the arts Alexander Repnikov. In retaliation, the rejected suitor had built a nailery right next to the mansion, and the noise from the plant had turned the mansion residents' lives into living hell. Quite possibly, this forced Augusta to get rid of the mansion by gifting it to her mother-in-law Yulia Repnikova. The mansion often hosted the prominent contemporaries of the era, including Prime Minister Pyotr Stolypin.

In the course of the Battle for Stalingrad, the mansion suffered significant damage, but it was quickly restored after the war, and once again became a site for the museum, which today is known as the Memorial and Historical Museum.

Aleksandr Zelikov/TASS

Memorial Sign to the Residents of Tsaritsyn, Veterans of World War I, 1914-1918, designed by the prominent Volgograd sculptor Sergey Shcherbakov was erected in the courtyard of the Memorial and Historical Museum to mark the centennial anniversary of the beginning of the First World War. The bronze sculpture recalls the spirit of that time and is actually an Order of Saint George's Cross, the most common award given to the Russian soldiers. The cross is covered with a laurel wreath, a soldier's coat, and a rifle. On top of the cross sits the double-headed eagle, the symbol of Russian Empire.

Aleksandr Zelikov/ТАSS

Next to the building of the Memorial and Historical Museum stands another monument, to Konstantin Nedorubov, a Cossack from Berezovskaya Cossack village of the Don Cossack Host, who fought both in the First and the Second World Wars. He was a full cavalier of the Saint George's Cross Order, and a Hero of the Soviet Union, one of seven such people in the history of USSR to own two sets of awards simultaneously. The monument was designed by sculptor Sergey Shcherbankov. The bronze sculpture of Konstantin Nedorubov completes the ensemble with the Memorial Sign to the Residents of Tsaritsyn, Veterans of World War I, 1914-1918.

Aleksandr Zelikov/TASS

In the very center of the pocket park located at Privokzalnaya Ploschad (Privokzalnaya Square), is a fountain called "Barmaley," and designed by sculptor Alexander Burganov. On the raised platform stands a granite bowl, and in the center of the bowl are the figures of children, dancing around a crocodile – three girls and three boys. Across from them are eight frogs that feed the water.

This installation is modeled after the legendary fountain that stood on this square before World War II. Back then, it did not have an official name, which is why the city residents would come up with their own, calling it alternatively the "Crocodile," "Children's Khorovod" (Children's Circle Dance), and even "Barmaley" ("Boogeyman"). The original fountain was installed at Stalingrad in 1930, and its statuary was designed by Romuald Iodko. The fountain became widely known thanks to the wartime photo shots made after Luftwaffe air raid on August 23, 1942. At the photograph's forefront is the statuary with children, and in the background is the burning building of the Stalingrad Railway Station. The fountain was restored right after the military operations moved away from the city.

In the 1950s, the fountain was dismantled, when authorities began construction of the new railway station building, but it continued to serve as one of the symbols of the unbroken city. A copy of the pre-war sculpture, called "Children's Khorovod," was installed at the Privokzalnaya Ploschad, not far from the historical location, in August of 2013.

Aleksandr Zelikov/TASS

The fire tower at Komsomolsky Garden was erected in 1897 to replace the previous wooden, delapidated and low building that was located in place of contemporary Volgograd State Medical University. The new, 45-metre-high (148-foot-tall) stone fire tower of Tsaritsyn gave an excellent view of the whole city. In the 1930s, the look-out tower was dismantled, but the building itself was preserved. In the 1990s, after a big fire, the building was restored, and the fire tower was built from scratch, using the old blueprints and pre-revolutionary photographs.

Aleksandr Zelikov/TASS

This bunker was built in 1941-42 by the workers of the subway construction company Metrostroy – at that time, near-front zones of City Defence Committees were created in 60 Soviet cities. Originally, the bunker housed the local headquarters of air defence and the central signal office. After the German army invaded the city, the bunker was turned over to the Stalingrad city authorities and became their command point. On September 14, 1942, the Germany military approached the Komsomolsky Garden, where the bunker is located, and the City Defence Committee was relocated to another city district. Today, the bunker's above-ground part is represented by two structures, the entrance and the ventilation shaft. The building's top level was restored, using the wartime blueprints. Restoration continues on the lower level of the building. In 2009, a memorial plaque was hung on the bunker, depicting Alexander Chuyanov, the head of the local Communist Party Committee, and the member of Stalingrad City Defence Committee.

Aleksandr Zelikov/TASS

The monument to Nikolai Gogol is the city's very first, and it is located at the Komsomolsky Garden, behind the building of the New Experimental Theatre. Gogol's portrait sculpture was unveiled at Tsaritsyn in 1910, in honour of the great writer's centennial anniversary. Originally it stood in place of the city's contemporary pylon with the Eternal flame. This portrait sculpture is one of city's four monuments that survived the Battle of Stalingrad. On its far side, one can see the damage from bullets and shell splinters. Other monuments that survived are the monument to KGB founder Felix Dzerzhinsky, which stands on the Felix Dzerzhinsky Square, the monument to pilot Viktor Kholzunov next to the Riverside Station, and the monument at the mass grave of Yakov Yerman and other Civil war heroes at the Komsomolsky Garden.

Aleksandr Zelikov/TASS

The monument at the mass grave of the prominent revolutionary Yakov Yerman and other soldiers of the Civil War was unveiled in 1925, on the eighth anniversary of October Revolution. The monument's designer, Stalingrad artist Nikolay Lyubimov, made the gravestone out of cobblestones cemented together to signify proletariat's cohesion in times of the class wars.

Aleksandr Zelikov/TASS

The monument was unveiled in 2013, in honour of the city tram's centennial anniversary. This is an actual tram car, manufactured in 1932, an exact copy of the trams that used to transport the residents of Stalingrad in the 1930s. It was purchased in Saint Petersburg, where it was actually operated all through these years. Before it was sent to Volgograd, the tram car's interior was restored in accordance with old photographs. Before the revolution of 1917, Tsaritsyn had three tram routes that connected the city, spread out along the Volga River. The monument is located at Komsomolsky Garden, next to the former Pobeda movie theater. During municipal celebrations, the tram is opened to the public, and visitors can get in, sit on the original benches, and see how trams were driven before the war.

Aleksandr Zelikov/TASS

The contemporary building of Volgograd-Glavny Railway Station was constructed after World War II. The first railway station at Tsaritsyn was built in 1868. The old stone building stood out against the backdrop of other, mostly wooden structures. It was beautiful and very massive for that age. On the station's gable hung the giant letters, the acronym for Gryaze-Tsaritsyn Railroad. Later, the railway station was given the name of Stalingrad-Glavny, and along with different annexes it performed its functions all the way to the Battle of Stalingrad.

The building's facades are clad in granite and Inkerman limestone, and decorated with statuaries and monumental base reliefs produced by Moisey and Nadezhda Pavlovsky and Vasily Bezrukov. Inside, the building's walls are clad in marble. The ceilings are decorated with stucco cornices, caissons, and rosaces, as well as some paintings.

Прогулка по старому городу

Начало XX века для Царицына ознаменовалось бурным экономическим ростом. Но затем случилась революция и Гражданская война, после которой началось новое строительство – теперь уже довоенного Сталинграда. Стоит пройти по старинным улочкам, чтобы почувствовать, чем жил уездный город в первые годы прошлого века и до начала Второй мировой войны.

Александр Зеликов/ТАСС

Улица Волгодонская, маленький островок старого города, начинается с дома № 3 – строения из комплекса зданий Главпочтамта. Улица появилась во времена строительства Преображенского форштадта (так тогда называли городские предместья) Царицына в конце XVIII века и получила название Анастасийская. Все улицы в этом форштадте были созвучны красивым женским именам. Линии застройки Преображенского форштадта проходили под углом 45 градусов относительно старой Царицынской крепости. До революции на Анастасийской располагались небольшие гостиницы, постоялые дворы, шла бойкая торговля. В 1920-х годах улица поменяла свое название на современное – Волгодонская. Есть легенда, что в нем воплотилась давняя, но на тот момент еще неосуществленная мечта о соединении двух великих русских рек – Волги и Дона.

Сегодня весь ансамбль застройки Волгодонской улицы является объектом культурного наследия. Зданиям, расположенным здесь, свойственна эклектическая кирпичная фигурная кладка с элементами модерна. Всего их пять: четыре по нечетной и одно по четной стороне. Дореволюционные постройки датируются концом XIX – началом XX веков. Это дом купца Донцова (ул. Волгодонская, 7), дом купца Алексеева (ул. Волгодонская, 5), а также дома, принадлежавшие члену Городской думы купцу Мишнину: на Волгодонской, 11, где сейчас располагается филиал Российского экономического университета имени Плеханова, и на Волгодонской, 13, – здесь теперь вечерняя школа. Дома хорошо сохранились снаружи, внутри же частично перестроены.

Александр Зеликов/ТАСС

Улица Пролеткультская – самая короткая улица города. Здесь расположены всего два дома – № 3 и № 5. Дом № 5 – это бывший купеческий особняк, об истории которого, к сожалению, практически ничего не известно. Современное название улица получила после революции, а до этого была Екатерининской, одной из главных во всем Преображенском форштадте Царицына. Зданий, в прежние времена стоявших по Пролеткультской, сохранилось значительно больше. Однако теперь они имеют другие адреса, согласно разметке современных улиц: на Комсомольской, на улице Мира, на проспекте Ленина.

Александр Зеликов/ТАСС

С особняком Репниковой, построенным в 1903 году в русском стиле, связана драматическая история. По мнению историков, самый богатый царицынский купец Константин Воронин подарил дом своей дочери Августе в качестве приданого. К Августе Ворониной сватался выходец из еще одной купеческой семьи Григорий Серебряков, однако получил отказ. Девушка отдала предпочтение известному царицынскому меценату Александру Репникову. Отвергнутый жених, якобы в отместку, построил в непосредственной близости от дома гвоздильный завод, шум от которого превратил жизнь обитателей особняка в сущий ад. Возможно, именно поэтому Августа решила избавиться от особняка, подарив его своей свекрови Юлии Репниковой, которая и была последней владелицей дома. В особняке нередко гостили знаменитые люди того времени, в том числе Петр Столыпин.

Во время Гражданской войны, в 1918 году, здесь располагался штаб обороны Царицынского Совета рабочих, солдатских, крестьянских и казачьих депутатов, а также губернский военный комиссариат. Впоследствии тут размещался Музей обороны Царицына имени Иосифа Сталина с полностью воссозданной обстановкой его рабочего кабинета. В период Сталинградской битвы особняк пострадал, однако был быстро восстановлен. После войны в нем вновь расположился музей, который сегодня называется Мемориально-историческим.

Александр Зеликов/ТАСС

Памятный знак "Жителям Царицына – участникам Первой мировой войны 1914-1918" работы известного волгоградского скульптора Сергея Щербакова установлен во дворе Мемориально-исторического музея в день столетия начала Первой мировой войны. Бронзовая скульптура выполнена в духе того времени и представляет собой Георгиевский солдатский крест. На кресте лавровый венок, шинель и винтовка. Композицию венчает двуглавый орел – символ Российской Империи.

Александр Зеликов/ТАСС

У здания Мемориально-исторического музея находится еще один памятник – казаку станицы Березовской Усть-Медведицкого казачьего округа войска Донского Константину Недорубову, участнику Первой мировой и Великой Отечественной войн, полному Георгиевскому кавалеру, Герою Советского Союза (один из семи человек в истории СССР, имевших эти награды одновременно). Автор памятника – скульптор Сергей Щербаков. Бронзовая скульптура Константина Недорубова композиционно дополняет памятный знак "Жителям Царицына – участникам Первой мировой войны 1914-1918".

Александр Зеликов/ТАСС

В самом центре сквера на Привокзальной площади расположен фонтан "Детский хоровод", выполненный скульптором Александром Бургановым. На возвышении, в центре круглой гранитной чаши, фигуры танцующих вокруг крокодила детей – троих девочек и троих мальчиков. Напротив них восемь лягушек, через которых подается вода.

Прототипом сооружения стал легендарный фонтан, располагавшийся на этой площади до Второй мировой войны. Тогда у него не было официального названия, поэтому горожане придумывали свои варианты: "Крокодил", "Танцующие дети" и даже "Бармалей". Датой создания сталинградского фонтана, автором скульптурной группы которого является Ромуальд Иодко, считается 1930 год. Широкую известность фонтан получил благодаря кадрам военной хроники, сделанным после авианалета Люфтваффе 23 августа 1942 года. На переднем плане фотографии, облетевшей весь мир, – скульптурная композиция с детьми, на заднем плане – горящий Сталинградский вокзал. Фонтан восстановили сразу же после окончания военных действий.

В 1950-х годах фонтан демонтировали в ходе строительства современного здания вокзала, но он продолжал оставаться одним из символов непокоренного города. Копия довоенной скульптуры под названием "Детский хоровод" была открыта в августе 2013 года недалеко от исторического места на Привокзальной площади.


Александр Зеликов/ТАСС

Каланча в Комсомольском саду построена в 1897 году взамен прежнего деревянного, обветшавшего и слишком низкого здания, располагавшегося на месте нынешнего Волгоградского государственного медицинского университета. С новой 45-метровой каменной каланчи Первой пожарной части Царицына отлично просматривалась практически вся территория города. В 1930-х годах вышку демонтировали, а само здание сохранили. В 1990-е годы после сильного пожара здание восстановили, а каланчу построили заново по старым чертежам и дореволюционным фотографиям.

Александр Зеликов/ТАСС

Сталинградский бункер был построен в 1941-1942 годах коллективом метростроя – тогда сразу в 60 городах страны создавались прифронтовые зоны городских комитетов обороны. Первоначально в бункере размещался местный штаб противовоздушной обороны с центральным пунктом связи. После вторжения немецких войск на территорию города сюда переместился командный пункт руководства Сталинграда. 14 сентября 1942 года немецкие войска подошли вплотную к Комсомольскому саду – месту расположения бункера. Городской комитет обороны был передислоцирован в Кировский район. Сейчас надземная часть бункера представлена двумя постройками – входом и вентиляционной шахтой. Верхний ярус строения воссоздан по чертежам военного времени. В нижнем ярусе ведутся восстановительные работы. В 2009 году на бункере была установлена мемориальная доска с портретом Александра Чуянова, первого секретаря обкома и горкома ВКП, входившего в состав Сталинградского городского комитета обороны.

Александр Зеликов/ТАСС

Памятник Николаю Гоголю – самый первый памятник в городе, расположен в Комсомольском саду за зданием Нового экспериментального театра. Этот бюст появился в Царицыне в 1910 году в честь столетия великого писателя. Первоначально он был установлен на месте современной стелы с Вечным огнем. Этот бюст – один из четырех городских памятников, переживших Сталинградскую битву. На обратной стороне бюста видны повреждения от пуль и осколков. Другие уцелевшие памятники – первому чекисту Феликсу Дзержинскому на одноименной площади Тракторозаводского района города, памятник летчику Виктору Хользунову на Центральной набережной в районе Речного вокзала, памятник на братской могиле Якова Ермана и других участников Гражданской войны в Комсомольском саду.

Александр Зеликов/ТАСС

Памятник на братской могиле известного революционера Якова Ермана и других участников Гражданской войны был установлен в 1925 году в честь восьмой годовщины Октябрьской революции. Автор – сталинградский художник Николай Любимов – выполнил могильную плиту в форме булыжников, сцементированных между собой, – образ сплоченности пролетариата в классовой борьбе.

Александр Зеликов/ТАСС

Открытие памятника состоялось в 2013 году в честь столетнего юбилея городского трамвая. Это настоящий вагон 1932 года выпуска, точная копия тех, что возили пассажиров в Сталинграде в 1930-х годах. Он был приобретен в Санкт-Петербурге, где все это время находился в эксплуатации. Перед отправкой в Волгоград интерьер трамвая воссоздали по историческим фотографиям. До революции в Царицыне было три трамвайных маршрута, которые связывали уже довольно сильно растянутый вдоль Волги город. Памятник расположен в Комсомольском саду, рядом с бывшим кинотеатром "Победа". В дни городских праздников можно попасть внутрь вагона, посидеть на скамейках и посмотреть, как было устроено управление трамваями в довоенное время.

Александр Зеликов/ТАСС

Современное здание вокзала "Волгоград-1" – послевоенная постройка. Первый вокзал в Царицыне начали строить в 1868 году. Старинное каменное здание выделялось на фоне других построек. Это было красивое строение, очень масштабное для города той эпохи. На фронтоне вокзала красовалась аббревиатура ГЦЖД – Грязе-Царицынская железная дорога. Впоследствии вокзал получил имя Сталинград-1 и с различными перестройками функционировал до самой Сталинградской битвы.

В 1942 году вокзал попал под мощный бомбовый удар, сильно разрушивший здание. Сразу после капитуляции фашистских войск в феврале 1943 года началось восстановление вокзала. Работы велись ударными темпами, и уже 14 марта 1943 года в город прибыл первый поезд – из Москвы. Руины были частично разобраны, а в 1954 году на старом фундаменте построено современное здание по проекту архитекторов Александра Куровского и Самуила Брискина со шпилем и большими башенными часами.

Фасады здания облицованы гранитом, инкерманским камнем, а также украшены скульптурными группами и монументальными барельефами работы Моисея и Надежды Павловских и Василия Безрукова. Внутри вокзала стены облицованы мрамором. Потолки отделаны лепными карнизами, кессонами, розетками, имеется художественная роспись.

× Прогулка по старому городу
Открыть карту