Museums

Donat Sorokin/ТАSS
Ural Vision Gallery is a modern exhibition venue located in the heart of Ekaterinburg. It was opened in December 2012 by collectors Alla and Viktor Loshchenko. The gallery displays around two or three exhibitions in a year, working with such sculptors like Britain's Tony Cragg or Russians Olga Tobreluts and Gregory Maiofis, the Russian Blue Nouses art group. Ural's modern artists also use this gallery to display their works with some pieces set for sale.

Ekaterinburg's Mayor Yevgeny Roizman collects old icons and naïve art. Nevyansk icons take up the bulk of his collection. This is a special type of icons, which appeared in the beginning of XVIII century. These icons are distinguished in the excellent quality of woodwork, used for icon-paining, and the amount of details in the icon itself.

Roizman created a museum around his collection in 1999 and called it the Nevyansk Icon. He wanted to preserve the heritage of icon-painters and to gather every bit of information about their work.

More than 300 icons will be on display for visitors of the first private museum of icons in Russia. All of these masterpieces were found in Ekaterinburg, Nevyansk, Nizhny Tagil and other cities. There are all kinds of icons, some size of the palm of your hand others big and decorated with gold, beads and semi-precious stones.

Donat Sorokin/TASS

The modern museum has opened at the Boris Yeltsin Presidential Center in October 2015 and is dedicated to Russia's first president. The project has spearheaded by one of the largest museum design companies in the world, Ralph Appelbaum Associates. Its concept was developed by the famous Russian director Pavel Lungin. Each hall of the museum is dedicated to a notable events of the 1990s, as well as milestones in Boris Yeltsin's career.

It is an interactive museum. You can find a lot of media items here, including family photos and films, such as his New Year's address of 1999, when he said he was stepping down.

Donat Sorokin/TASS

In 1980, several literature museums, devoted to the Ural writers, united to become one museum, which now features ten objects.

In the D. N. Mamin-Sibiryak's Memorial-house, visitors learn about life and works by the well-known novelist and playwright, author of the Privalov's Millions novel, which is based on real facts about development of the industrial Urals.

The P. P. Bazhov's Memorial House was built by the owner. The museum chose not to change the exterior and has kept the unique library, which the prominent fairy tale writer collected.

In the Мuseum of F. M. Reshetnikov visitors see a reconstructed post house of the 19th century. The exposition presents a most complicated and romantic job of the 19th century and attracts attention to the tragic life of a forgotten critical-realism writer Fyodor Reshetnkov, who was born in the family of a postman.

The United Museum continues big scientific and research work, organizes modern exhibitions, book presentations and literature evenings. Almost all of the buildings are situated within the Literary block.

The Sverdlovsk Film Studio began its work on February 9, 1943, in the height of the Great Patriotic War. Since then, more than 200 movies and 600 documentaries were filmed, as well as hundreds of popular science films and around 100 of animation films.

The studio offers five types of group tours ranging from 12 to 35 people. One of such tours is called The Costume and Props Show, where employees showcase items used in various films and visitors are introduced to the costume director who lets them in on some trade secrets and even allows to try on some of the clothes items. The studio also offers to try out professional make up and even create a new image. All tours must be agreed upon in advance.

Donat Sorokin/ТАSS

Sverdlovsk Regional Studies Museum of History and Nature consists of eight exhibition venues in Ekaterinburg and nine branches located in various cities of Sverdlovsk region. The museum was founded by members of the Ural Society of Naturalists in 1870. The main exhibition displays unique items which paint a bright picture of the region's history, nature, ethnography, art and culture.

The Museum of History and Archeology of the Urals displays the Shigir idol. It is one of the world's most ancient wooden sculptures. The Museum of Ural Nature demonstrates the skeletons of a mammoth and a bear as well as stuffed animals and birds, which inhabit Sverdlovsk region.

The Ernst Neizvestny Museum of Fine Arts has a collection of the famous sculptor's works. The Popov Museum of Radio will tell you all about the life of the man who invented one of the world's first radios and trace the industry's development, examine the technologies used in the beginning of the previous century.

The old Agafurovs' House Museum Club hosts master classes, theatrical events, quests, games and other fun events.

The Poklevsky-Kozell House Museum and Exhibition Centre displays a permanent exhibition dedicated to the life and passions of Ekaterinburg in the 19th century. It also exhibits the works of various famous artists.

Donat Sorokin/TASS

A branch of the Moscow National Centre for Contemporary Arts opened in Ekaterinburg in 1999. Curator exhibitions are organized here year round. The exhibits are pictures, installations, sculptures, photographs by artists from all over the world. At different times, the exhibition space was given to works by local arts groups Where Dogs Run, or The Evil, to unusual objects by Rostan Tavasiyev from Moscow, projects by Dutch photographer Hendrik Kerstens and Thomas Klimovsky from France, and to many others. Information on all exhibitions is available on the National Centre for Contemporary Arts' website.

The centre organises the Ural Industrial Biennial of Contemporary Art, supports regional artists, offers educational programs, invites to arts festivals, films and parties.

Donat Sorokin/ТАSS

The Mart Centre of Photography was opened in Ekaterinburg in autumn of 2015 by a renown photographer Denis Tarasov, the head of the Sverdlovsk branch of the Russian Union of Art Photographers.

The venue opened with the Realnonerealno (real-not-real) exhibition, which showcased the works of Russian photographers Alexander Gronsky, Danila Tkachenko and Nikita Shokhov – winners of the World Press Photo award. An exhibition of best wildlife photographs from around the world become the centre's second project.

Mart also hosts film screenings, has its own children's photo school, a photo club, a library and a small café.

Donat Sorokin/TASS

The Museum of the History of Ekaterinburg is in the central location, in a house build in the 1820. From 1940 and to the big restoration, which was completed in 1995, the house was home of the museum of the Soviet political and state figure Yakov Sverdlov.

Now the museum has a new title and concept. The modern exposition gives images of Ekaterinburg's old streets, tells history of its house. The audience can view a film about the city's development. The film presents images from the space and tells stories about outstanding people who lived in the city.

The exposition includes portraits of local people in the early 19th century, clothes and footwear, made in the Urals last century. Visitors are invited to lectures, meetings, book presentations, dance performances, concerts, and reconstructed folk holidays. The museum publishes information on upcoming events on its website and on social networks.

As you see the historic exposition, go to a building nearby, where you can see Metenkov's House – a museum of photography. The collection consists of old photographs, made by Veniamin Metenkov, and modern photographs from all over the world.

The Museum of Stone-Cutting and Jewelry Art History is located in the building of a former drugstore of the mining authority, built in 1821. The museum's collection presents stone-cutting works of different times. The oldest objects are dated the 18th century – among them is the only in the Urals 1.5-metre (5-foot) high vase cut of Kalkan jasper.

The museum also presents a unique collection of stone seals by the prominent local artist Nikolay Taturov, the Faberge jewelry, eleven artistic panels based on Pavel Bazhov's tales, the Zvezdar and the New Year emerald lumps, a unique grain of green garnet known as the Alexandrov Demantoid.

The museum organizes exhibitions, master classes, and holidays for children and adults.

Donat Sorokin/TASS

The Ekaterinburg Museum of Fine Arts was established in 1936. Nowadays, it has two branches. One is located in the reconstructed building of the local railway factory's hospital, and the other – in the former house of merchant Bardygin – undergoes reconstruction now.

The museum has collections of the West European Arts of the XIV-XIX centuries, the Russian Arts of the XVII – early XX centuries, Russian avant-garde; the modern naïve art is next to the well-known Urals casting art and jewelry by local artists.

The key masterpiece is the Kasli cast-iron pavilion, which was made for the International Exhibition in Paris in 1900, and which is on the UNESCO list of history and culture monuments. The collection also has works by Russian avant-garde artists Kazimir Malevich, Natalia Nesterova and Mikhail Larionov, Wassily Kandinsky and others.

The museum invites visitors to exhibitions, master classes, musical evenings, concerts, lectures, author tours and artistic meetings.

Evgeny Kurskov/ТАSS

Ekaterinburg's Museum of Vladimir Visotsky opened on January 25, 2013, commemorating the poet's and musician's 75th birthday. The museum is located in a business centre with the same name and was founded by Andrey Gavrilovsky, a businessman, developer and collector.

The museum displays Vysotsky's baby pictures, his letters to relatives and friends, posters and props, his favourite records and much more. Some of the items were given to the museum by the musician's son Nikita. The exhibition's central piece is Vysotsky's Mercedes, his full-length wax figure created by Alexander Silnitsky and the Bolshoi Ural Hotel room the musician stayed in twice when visiting Sverdlovsk in 1962. The museum hosts concerts, poetry readings and meetings of Vladmir Vysotsky's fans.

The Museum of Gold is located in the town of Berezovsky, 12 kilometres from Ekaterinburg. The precious metal was found here in 1745 with over a thousand mines opened between then and how. Some of those mines are still working.

The museum describes the story of how gold has turned Russia's economy around in the 18th century and how the Urals dealt with the gold fever. Visitors will be able to see old tools miners used as well as modern ones, which were provided by engineers and workers from Berezovsky mining department.

Evgeniy Kurskov/TASS

Sviter (Sweater) Street Art Gallery is one of most oddball places in Ekaterinburg. This art space opened in 2014 in an estate built in the first half of the 19th century. The authors wished for the gallery to house street artists and give them a haven to create and showcase. New exhibits open here almost every month. Visitors can see graffiti, photographs, installations, paintings and everything else street-art. The facility is also used for lectures and workshops, and even plays and movie showings. Follow the gallery through social media to keep updated.