FIFA: a brief summary

Responsible for football

FIFA: a brief summary

  • The principal football organization of the world was founded on May 21, 1904 in Paris representatives of Belgium, Denmark, France, the Netherlands, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

  • Today FIFA includes 211 national football associations where 185 associations represent the state members of the United Nations,  four – the historical territories of the UK of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, and 22 – the territories with various territorial status.

  • FIFA actively collaborates with six continental football confederations (UEFA – Europe, CONfederacion sudaMEricana de FutBOL (CONMEBOL) – South America; CONCACAF, СОnfederation of North, Central American and Caribbean Association Football, CAF Champions League, Asian Football Confederation, AFC – Asia, OFC – Oceania). In contrast to national associations, confederations are not the members of the FIFA.

  • All world class football tournaments are organized under the auspices of FIFA, including the FIFA World Cup.

  • The inaugural football World Cup was held in Montevideo (Uruguay) on July 13, 1930. The host country of the tournament won the game.

  • In 1994 the FIFA adopted an anthem composed by the German composer Franz Lambert.

  • Frenchman Robert Guerin was the first president of FIFA. Today the president of the Federation is Gianni Infantino.