Russia choses best stadiums and ice palaces

Award ceremony "Sports Facilities 2015" was held in Moscow
22 December 2015

Moscow is hosting the second national award ceremony "Sports facilities. The results of the year 2015", founded by the magazine SportsFacilities. The event was organized by SportB2B publishing house with the assistance of the organizing committee of the 2018 FIFA World Cup in Russia, the Russian Ministry of Sports and the State Duma.

Luzhniki stadium won in the category “The best reconstruction project of the football stadium for the 2018 FIFA World Cup". "Of course, we could not but highlight Luzhniki, because of its extremely complicated reconstruction with preservation of the historic façade. We also give credit to the construction workers – for being ahead of the schedule and quality work,” SportB2B General Director Svetlana Danilina told

In total 50 awards will be presented in 20 categories. In particular, preparation for the 2018 FIFA World Cup was allocated into a separate category.

2014 award

The first award ceremony “Sports facilities. The results of the year 2015" in 2014 included 15 nominations.

Four arenas were awarded in the category "Stadium", two of which will host matches of the 2018 World Cup and the 2017 Confederations Cup – Otkritie Arena in Moscow and Kazan Arena. Two other winners were Anzhi Arena in Kaspiysk and Football Arena Yenisei  in Krasnoyarsk.

Five stadiums were awarded among “Ice palaces” category last year, the first of which was Bolshoy in Sochi, which hosted the Olympic Games. The rest of the facilities are not as famous, but have a great regional importance - Lada-Arena (Togliatti), ice arena Vympel" (Trubchevsk, Bryansk region), ice arena Temp (Michurinsk, Tambov region), Kristall (Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk).

Among the best large-scale sporting projects in the past year stadiums under construction won prizes in various categories: stadium Zenit-Arena (St. Petersburg), Rostov-Arena (Rostov-on-Don), Luzhniki stadium (Moscow), and Krasnodar stadium and VTB Arena Park (Moscow).

The jury recognized Chairman of the Organizing Committee "Russia-2018", Russian Sports Minister Vitaly Mutko as the Man of the Year in 2014. 


Welcome 2018

Log in