This park, covering an area of 13 hectares on a high terrace by the sea, is locals’ and tourists’ favourite recreation spot. The man behind the park’s name, Moritz Becker, started the firm Stantien and Becker in 1858 in partnership with Wilhelm Stantien. Becker is credited with developing the quarry a.m.er mining method. With this new technology the firm was able to net an annual income of 8 million Gold Mark. A successful industrial entrepreneur, Moritz Becker was no stranger to philanthropy. He spent his personal funds on developing and improving Palmnicken, investing in the construction of a local railway offshoot, water tower, and a new church. On 21 May 1881 he had ground broken for a park to replace the old garden on his estate. He had red-leaved beeches, lindens, oaks, sycamores, white poplars, chestnuts, elms and ash trees planted there. Becker’s son brought back some exotic plants from his travels in Japan and the Americas: katsura trees, silver spruces, Weymouth pines, and the unique North American tulip tree which is now the park’s symbol. The park’s other landmark is a European beech which is over 300 years old.
Moritz Becker Park was granted a local cultural heritage status in 2007. Work is currently in progress to re-plant some the trees and shrubs lost over the years.
- Ulitsa Sovietskaya 40, Yantarny