Moscow Museum of Modern Art

Pavel Smertin/TASS

The Moscow Museum of Modern Art is split between four buildings in the city centre. The building at Petrovka is considered the museum's headquarters. It was here that the Russian sculptor Zurab Tsereteli deployed his amazing private collection in 1999, featuring such greats as Salvador Dali and Pablo Picasso alongside the exponents of Moscow's avant-garde. The core of the collection, which was nearly two decades in the making, is formed by Russian art: Kazimir Malevich, Aristarkh Lentulov, Natalia Goncharova, Mikhail Larionov, Marc Chagall, Wassily Kandinsky, Ilya Kabakov, Anatoly Zverev, Oscar Rabin, Vitaly Komar, and Alexander Melamid. Foreign art is also present, most notably, Juan Miro, Fernand Leger and Henri Rousseau.