This is a small estate in north-western Moscow, located near the junction of Skhodnya and Bratovka rivers, in a picturesque area full of ravines. The mansion was built in the early 19th century by Ivan Rimsky-Korsakov, a royal minion of Catherine the Great. After the owner's death, the house passed on from one descendant to another until the revolution of 1917. After that, the beautiful estate hidden in the English landscape garden was given to a day-nursery, but just two years later, in 1919, a museum of gentry life was opened here, and in the 1920s, the estate was turned into a sanatorium.

In the 1930s, the estate-and-park ensemble was reconstructed in accordance with new needs. Throughout the Soviet era, it was occupied by various in-house sanatoriums – first of the Revolutionary Military Council, then of the Chief Directorate of the Northern Sea Route, and later still it became the sanatorium for theatre stage workers. Today the only original buildings on the estate grounds are the two-storey Neoclassical house, a rotunda with columns, and a guest annex.