At the intersection of Naberezhnaya Shestdesyat Vtoroy Armii (Shestdesyat Vtoroy Armii Embankment) and Ulitsa Krasnozamenskaya (Krasnozamenskaya Street) stands a picturesque building. It is the Mayak restaurant, a monument of Soviet architecture from Stalingrad's postwar recovery period. The building was constructed in 1955 by the city's building trust and designed by architect Yefim Levitan.
In the 1980s the restaurant was renovated with the help of Uzbek restorers and was given a new name – Tashkent. After some time the name Mayak was brought back.
The monumental building with elements of classical style fits well with the architectural concept of Volgograd's embankment and serves as its artistic base. The Mayak building has a centric form and its stories are comprised of three drums with the diametres of 35, 18 and 13 metres (115, 59 and 43 feet). The construction is crowned with a pointed metal spire topped with a weather vane shaped like a sail boat, giving the structure a romantic edge. On the first story there is an outdoor terrace with tables. Vertical windows are decorated with stained glass. The column caps, trimmed with three horizontal stripes, are decorated with stucco.