Faces and Helmets

Faces and Helmets

The people behind Luzhniki Stadium’s renovation
In mid-50s the Luzhniki project (which was then known as the Central Lenin Stadium), was given three months on the design and just 15 months to be built. In 2013, the famous ‘Luzha’ as Muscovites are used to calling it, began major renovations ahead of the 2018 World Cup. Some 3,000 people are working on it right now. Welcome2018.com met some of them and found out what it means to be the ones to bring the new Luzhniki to life.
Sergei Korochkin
Finisher
"We don’t actually have breaks; we start in the morning and work throughout the whole day with just one break to have lunch. While working we always wear gloves, it’s necessary according to safety regulations because we work with iron, there are plenty of sharp edges. Gloves are given out once a week. You see letters SK? It means Sergei Korochkin. Actually, it means "Stroykontinent", but it also happens to be my initials."
Karina Kosheleva
Senior construction control engineer
"For me Luzhniki and this construction is the symbol of our country in the eyes of the world. We aren’t very lucky with our national football team, but our stadium will be the best. I remember how I handed over my first shift at the Luzhniki Stadium which was being demolished and there were seats right on the old field. They were put there after being taken off the stands. I went out onto the field and stood in the very centre – it was an incredible feeling! And though with time this feeling got dimmer, those first days I went to work with a feeling of reverence."
Ramil Sungatulin
Construction worker
"We worked in Kazan and Sochi, we built the Olympic complex. We are used to building, we do what we’re told. If something needs remodeling, we remodel. Luzhniki is a World Cup building. Later on, I’ll be watching TV and thinking that I worked here."
Vladimir Arkatov
Senior construction control engineer
"My main activity, my child – it’s the roof and increasing its area. It was very difficult. It was very stressful; I’ve had a lot of sleepless nights. It’s easier to build a new stadium than redo an old one especially when you also need to keep the historical façade and roof intact. Engineers and project developers had to rack their brains to manage it. Everyone had a lot on their plate."
Marina Bondar
Head of the occupation health and safety department
"My area of responsibility is everything that concerns people’s safety and construction safety regulations. I am responsible for people, for their safety. During the Olympics in 1980 I was eight years old and I still remember Mishka the mascot. That’s why being here and experiencing this as a part of Russian history is, of course, is priceless."
Sergei Stavrov
Construction control engineer
"I’m here since the first cubic meter of concrete so to say. And it is a very significant place for me, I will never forget it. I hope to God my descendants will be proud of the fact that I took an active part in all of this. When my eldest son – he’s three right now – watches TV and sees the stadium, he points at the screen and says "Daddy is there, daddy is there!" I came here to watch football matches, back when CSKA played Spartak. Then came here when the construction works began, went out into the middle of the pitch, where my favorite team played and I heard the roar, the chants. It’s an incredible feeling, there’s nothing like it."
Ruslan Garipov
Finishing works carpenter
"Luzhniki for me is a job. And also a chance to make my small contribution in constructing such a large venue. The Olympic Mishka flew away just when I was born. He went away and I came and now I’m here."
Damir Khairullin
Construction worker
"We are building a stadium here. I chose my profession and I’m very happy with it. And I really like our stadium. This is not my first construction site, it’s difficult but for a man who constantly works it’s not that hard to overcome difficulties. I know my job."
Anastasia Ipatova
Press secretary
"I have been organizing visits to the arena for journalists, delegations, foreign embassies, Moscow residents. Oleg Gazmanov came here once. And recently Basta was shooting his music video on our roof. We were also visited by Lev Leshchenko and Roman Shirokov who then was still our national team’s captain. Almost all big TV channels and international agencies were here and recently we had visitors from Peru. We have a lot of guests here."
Ilgiz Khairutdinov
Deputy general director, head of production management
"Of course, we have felt that with this construction we are changing history. But I’m not afraid of that. Some people are scared to stand on a cliff, but gradually you get used to it. That’s why now there’s not fear. Just responsibility."
Ramis Kamaliev
Interior finisher
"Before I came to Luzhniki, I worked at construction sites for the Universiade in Kazan and for the Sochi Olympics. I like my job – such a scale of work shows straight away how much we contribute. While in Moscow, I already visited the Kremlin and now my brigade and I want to go to the zoo, we haven’t been there yet."
Dinar Khisamov
Construction worker
"I’ve never been to such a big stadium before, even though I love watching football. Now, I’m not such a good player and there’s not much time anyways."
Aleksandr Avilov
Chief specialists of the construction management team
"When we dismantled part of the stairs, we found patriotic inscriptions which are relevant even today: "Worker, don’t squander building materials," "Improve the quality of work", and of course "Peace to the world!" So it will be untrue if I told you that we haven’t touched upon historical events of that generation."
Igor Petrenko
Construction supervision engineer
"This is a colossal project, our homeland’s central stadium. It is a great honor to take part in building an engineering miracle like this. I hope that the time comes when my daughter will understand and appreciate it."
Elvir Gamilullin
Leading engineer in the general construction works sector
"The main part of this reconstruction is the football pitch with all of its drainage, irrigation, heating and watering systems. Luzhniki inspires awe, it’s an important reconstruction, an important construction, it needs to be done using modern technologies and at the same time preserving history."
Roman Smirnov
Leading specialist
"I am the first person to come to this construction site. We completely dismantled the old stadium; we took off the seats, dismantled the field and the frame, then we put in everything new and now I’m waiting for the moment when it will be completely restored. From the very first day, when it all just started, we put a fence around the stadium and began working. There years here, without any breaks or pauses. I hope to bring my children here when we’re done and show them a match, so that they’d understand what exactly I was part of."
Yevgeniy Olkhovik
Chief power engineer
"I’ve been working on this project since January 2014, which means almost from the very beginning. It was a terrible winter, very cold, and we were working on dismantling the building. We needed to turn the electricity off, so that nobody would get electrocuted during the works, when the while building is collapsing, the walls are collapsing. I had to take responsibility for shutting down electrical substations and to give out the order to turn everything off; before that moment nobody had the right to touch the walls."
Milosh Miloshevich
Fine finishing team supervisor
"I love football, in my native Serbia I played for ten years, was a striker. I didn’t continue on playing after that, I couldn’t, but I would have loved to play here at Luzhniki. I’m a fan of Spartak."
Murat Akhmadiev
Head of the construction control department
"I’m working here since December 2013, so I’ve seen what this place was like before the reconstruction and after. I’m happy about this construction, we’ve put our soul into this work."

In 2017 Luzhniki will host its first match
after the reconstruction

Photocredits: Anna Shmitko/Welcome2018.com, Valeriy Sharifulin/ТАSS

Welcome2018.com expresses its gratitude to "Olympic Complex "Luzhniki" OJSC and personally to Anastasia Ipatova and Yeva Grumet for the assistance in this project.

FIFA.com

Люди, которые строят

Кто и как меняет стадион "Лужники"
В середине 1950-х годов на проектирование "Лужников", тогда еще Центрального стадиона, было отведено три месяца и всего 15 – на строительство. В 2013 году на знаменитой "Луже", как называют ее москвичи, началась масштабная реконструкция – в преддверии Чемпионата мира по футболу. Сейчас в этих работах задействованы три тысячи человек. Welcome2018.com встретился с некоторыми и узнал, что для них значит создавать новые "Лужники".
Сергей Корочкин
Отделочник
"У нас перерывов как таковых нет, – как с утра начали, так и работаем, на обед только прерываемся. Работаем обязательно в перчатках, это необходимо по технике безопасности, так как работа связана с железом, есть острые края. Перчатки выдают раз в неделю. Видите буквы СК? Это значит Сергей Корочкин. На самом деле, конечно, "Стройконтинент", но у меня это мои инициалы".
Карина Кошелева
Инженер по надзору за строительством первой категории
"Для меня "Лужники" и эта стройка – это лицо нашей страны на мировой арене. Нам не очень повезло с командой по футболу, но стадион у нас будет отличный. Помню, что я сделала в первый свой рабочий день в "Лужниках", стадион сносили, и на тогда еще старом поле стояли кресла, которые демонтировали с трибун. Я вышла на поле и встала в его середину, – и это было неописуемое ощущение! Со временем эти эмоции не такие сильные, но первое время я ходила на работу с трепетом".
Рамиль Сунгатулин
Строитель
"Мы работали и в Казани, ездили и в Сочи, олимпийские объекты строили. Мы привыкли строить: что скажут, то мы и делаем. Надо переделать – переделаем. "Лужники" – это же объект Чемпионата мира. Потом по телевизору буду смотреть и думать, что я где-то здесь работал".
Владимир Аркатов
Инженер строительного контроля первой категории
"Главная моя деятельность, мое детище – это кровля, увеличение ее площади. И это было очень сложно. Нервов было потрачено тут куча, бессонных ночей тоже было много. Новый стадион построить не вопрос, а вот старый изменить, еще и оставить исторический фасад и кровлю, тут, конечно, голову поломали и инженеры, и проектировщики. Всем досталось".
Марина Бондарь
Начальник отдела по охране труда
"Моя зона ответственности – это все, что происходит с людьми, все, что касается безопасности строительства. Я за работников, за их безопасность.

Когда была Олимпиада-80, мне уже было восемь лет, и Мишка до сих пор в моей памяти. Поэтому быть здесь и ощущать все это как часть истории России, конечно, многого стоит".
Сергей Ставров
Инженер строительного контроля
"Я здесь с первого куба бетона, что называется. И это по-любому значимый объект в моей жизни, не забуду его никогда. Дай бог, чтобы потомки гордились тем, что я принимал активное участие здесь. Когда старший сын – ему три года – смотрит заставку по телевизору, показывает пальцем на экран и говорит: "Папа там, там папа!". Я ходил сюда на футбол, когда еще ЦСКА со "Спартаком" играли, а потом пришел на объект, вышел в первый раз на середину поля, на котором играла любимая команда, а в ушах вот этот гул кричалок звучит. Это непередаваемое и мало с чем сравнимое ощущение".
Руслан Гарипов
Плотник по отделочным работам
"Лужники" для меня – это работа. А еще шанс внести свою маленькую лепту в строительство такого крупного объекта. Вот Мишка олимпиадный улетал, когда я как раз только родился. Так что он улетел, а я прилетел, и вот сейчас я здесь".
Дамир Хайруллин
Строитель
"Мы тут строим стадион. Профессию свою я выбрал и доволен, она мне нравится. И стадион наш очень нравится. Это уже не первый мой объект, он трудный, но для человека, который постоянно работает, не трудно преодолевать сложности. А я свою работу знаю".
Анастасия Ипатова
Пресс-секретарь
"Я занимаюсь организацией визитов на арену журналистов, делегаций, иностранных посольств, простых жителей Москвы. К нам сюда приходил Олег Газманов. А недавно был Баста, мы на крыше снимали клип. Еще были Лев Лещенко и Роман Широков, он тогда был капитаном футбольной сборной. Приходили почти все крупные телеканалы и мировые агентства, недавно приезжали из Перу, в общем, много к нам гостей ходит".
Ильгиз Хайрутдинов
Заместитель генерального директора, начальник производственного управления
"Конечно, мы прочувствовали, что с этой реконструкцией меняем историю. Но я этого не боюсь. Некоторым людям страшно стоять на обрыве, но постепенно к этому привыкаешь. Поэтому страха сейчас нет. Только ответственность".
Рамис Камалиев
Отделка внутренних помещений
"До "Лужников" я работал на объектах Универсиады в Казани и Олимпиады в Сочи. Работа мне нравится, – такой масштаб, сразу видим, какой вклад делаем. В Москве успел Кремль посмотреть, теперь со своей бригадой хотим в зоопарк съездить, пока там еще не были".
Динар Хисамов
Строитель
"Я на таких больших стадионах никогда не был до этого, хотя любил футбол смотреть. А сейчас и играют не очень, и времени нет".
Александр Авилов
Главный специалист группы управления строительством
"Когда мы демонтировали часть лестниц, обнаружили патриотические надписи, актуальные, кстати, и сейчас: "Строитель, экономь строительные материалы!", "Повышай качество работ", ну и "Миру – мир!" Так что будет неправдой, если я скажу, что мы не прикасаемся к историческим событиям того поколения".
Игорь Петренко
Инженер по надзору за строительством
"Это грандиознейший объект, центральный стадион нашей родины. Очень большая честь для нас поучаствовать в строительстве такого инженерного чуда. Я надеюсь, что придет время, когда моя дочь поймет и оценит".
Эльвир Галимуллин
Ведущий инженер сектора общестроительных работ
"Самое основное в этой реконструкции – это футбольное поле со всеми дренажными системами, системами орошения, отопления, полива. Есть какой-то трепет перед "Лужниками", это важная реконструкция, важное строительство, его нужно выполнить по современным технологиям и при этом сохранить историю".
Роман Смирнов
Главный специалист
"Я самый первый человек, который появился на этой площадке. Мы демонтировали полностью старый стадион: снимали кресла, демонтировали поле и каркас, потом заново заливали, и вот сейчас я жду того момента, когда он весь будет восстановлен. С самого первого дня, когда это все только начинали, мы поставили забор вокруг стадиона, и все поехало. Три года только здесь, не отрываясь. Я надеюсь, когда мы закончим, привести сюда своих детей и показать им матч, чтобы они поняли, в чем я участвовал".
Евгений Ольховик
Главный энергетик
"На проекте с января 2014 года, то есть почти с самого начала. Была жуткая зима, ужасно холодно, а мы проводили демонтаж. И нужно было отключить напряжение, чтобы под него никто не попал во время демонтажных работ, когда рушится все здание, рушатся стены. Мне пришлось брать на себя ответственность по отключению подстанций и давать команду к отключению: до этого момента никто не имел права тронуть стены".
Милош Милошевич
Прораб бригады чистовой отделки
"Я обожаю футбол, в родной Сербии занимался им десять лет, был нападающим. Играть дальше не стал, не получилось, но с удовольствием сыграл бы здесь, в "Лужниках". А болею я за "Спартак".
Мурат Ахмадиев
Начальник отдела строительного контроля
"Я работаю здесь с декабря 2013 года, так что видел, что здесь было еще до реконструкции. Я радуюсь этой стройке, в нее вложена не то чтобы вся жизнь, но душа – точно".

Уже в 2017 году "Лужники" примут
первый после реконструкции матч

Photocredits: Анна Шмитько/Welcome2018.com, Валерий Шарифулин/ТАСС

Welcome2018.com выражает благодарность за помощь в подготовке проекта ОАО "Олимпийский комплекс "Лужники" и лично Анастасии Ипатовой и Еве Грумет